We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful short break at this hotel and will definitely return. The rooms were a lovely size and the cleaner kept it looking lovely. We enjoyed our meals with a choice every evening and a good choice for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and it was good to see a full hotel in January. Well done everyone for giving us a lovely time

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mag16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable short break with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our first visit and for a well travelled and discerning couple I have to say that the Templestowe offers outstanding value for money. It's a top of the range Majestic standard establishment. The staff from reception to bar to restaurant to housekeeping were all pleasant and efficient, our room was large and very clean with a practically new bathroom. The meals were better than I expected, good choice, hot, fresh vegetables. The entertainment was varied. This place "does what it says on the can". 90% were coach clients, we were self drive but we all enjoyed ourselves. Ours was a Turkey and Tinsel (last weekend in January) and I'd go again but on a different themed weekend. Well done to the Templestowe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldrunnerExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

I am delighted that you had a lovely first stay with us.
All the Templestowe Team appreciate you taking the time to write your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife & I spent a wonderful 3 day break at this hotel this week-end from 31st Jan - 3rd Feb, the room was very clean with a large bathroom, the restaurant food was excellent and the waiter's were so efficient, the bar facilities were also very good, the drinks and wine were below standard prices. I must say all the staff were very courteous, happy natured and more than willing to please the guests. My wife & I travel all over the UK & abroad and usually enjoy a hotel's entertainment, but the Templestowe Hotel have entertainment every evening and it was by far the best we ever had the pleasure to enjoy, hats-off to them they were true professionals, on our last evening, they provided a variety show with many artists, what a great night. We would recommend a break at this hotel, truly value for money, we will most definitely return soon!

Room Tip: The lower ground floor rooms are quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyD-S11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely complimentary review which which will be passed on to all the staff to read. The whole team really appreciate you taking the time to write your review as they work extremely hard to ensure all our guests have a wonderful visit. We have some excellent entertainment filled breaks coming up so I hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is the forth time that my wife and I have visited the hotel and each time seems a little better. The room we had this time was superbly decorated with all new furnishings,the hotel was well heated .The entertainment was excellent and staff served us well unable to fault the food look foreward to my next visit.

Phil T

Room Tip: room on Southh side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write your review and I look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was the second time we have been for this and we all enjoyed it. The hotel staff were all helpful, especially in the restaurant, where there is a good choice of meals. The rooms are clean and the entertainment was very good. We will probably try it again at a different time of the year. Thank you.
Ann W Cornwall

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Many thanks for writing your kind review of the Templestowe; I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for your third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Well returned to the Templestowe Hotel for the 3rd year running for Tinsel & Turkey, thoroughly enjoyed it. As usual the staff were friendly and helpful, the meals excellent with a good choice on menu. Excellent entertainment, rooms are clean and comfortable. Will return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templestowe_Manager, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

I am delighted you had another enjoyable stay with us. I appreciate all of our guests taking the time to share their experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have once again had a fantastic time at the Carry on Christmas theme at The Templestowe. Our trip has been running for many years at the same time but this time the entertainment was the best ever. Congratulations to all. The food was plentiful and the rooms are beautifully decorated as are all the decorations in the hotel. We look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templestowe_Manager, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

I am so pleased you had another excellent stay with us, my Entertainments Manager, Paul will be so pleased you enjoyed the entertainment as we have some fantastic new acts lined up for this year. I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £60 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing