We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great weekend”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Fifth visit to the Templestow twice for carry on Xmas and twice for we'll meet again and last September for our bowls tour. The hotel must have the best entertainment in Torquay and all
our coach party had a great time. The rooms are all spotless, beds very comfortable and the bathrooms with walk in showers are really good. This is the fourth coach trip we have organized
and our friends are looking forward to going again next January. Many thanks to our drivers who have all been brilliant also would like to thank Eiron and Clair who sorted out all the booking arrangements and have been so helpful . Our trip this time was from the 14th February for the we'll meet again weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rita156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted you had another excellent stay with us. The entertainment team work incredibly hard to produce new shows and book the very best acts for your enjoyment. I shall pass on your comments to the whole team and look forward to welcoming you back in January if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    122
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
190
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised how well run the hotel was, and the food and the entertainment was excellent, also included in the price was an excursion to Exeter and a free bar on one of the evenings. I am looking forward in returning again during April 2014 Monday to Friday where there are three excursion and a free bar every night. I must say that Majestic give good value for money and it is well worth a visit to the Templestowe at Torquay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I am so pleased you had an enjoyable “October House Party” break with us and for taking the time to write your complimentary review. The whole team work incredibly hard to ensure all our guests have an excellent experience and I look forward to welcoming you back in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My cousin and I stayed at the Templestowe Hotel Torquay from 6 to 9 February 2014, taking advantage of one of Majestic's themed breaks. The hotel had been doing Turkey and Tinsel breaks since September 2013 and we were on one of the last breaks (until they start again later this year.)

The hotel had many attractive Christmas decorations and there were lots of lovely lights - the hotel was very festive.

We were greeted by friendly staff (and 2 budgies) at reception and given our room key without delay. Although not as opulent as the Durrant House Hotel in Bideford (with marble features, ceiling artwork and carp in the pond at reception), the Templestowe Hotel has many original features including ornate plasterwork.

Our room was spacious and had a seaview, albeit restricted because we were on the ground floor. The beds were very comfy and clean.

Our first night was "Christmas Eve" and to get us in the mood, shortly after arrival, there was a "meet and greet" meeting where bubbly and mince pies were served.

Throughout our stay there was waiter/waitress service in the dining room, and food was cooked to order at breakfast time. There was a good selection of cereals, with proper Weetabix and good quality museli.

Evening meals were pre-ordered at breakfast and there was always a good selection of starters, mains and desserts. Vegetarians are well catered for.

At dinner on "Christmas Day" the turkey was piped in by a chap in full highland dress and Santa also paid us a visit.

"Boxing Day and Hogmanay" were combined with the New Year being seen in in the traditional manner.

Throughout the stay entertainment was laid on. Bingo was available at afternoon and evening sessions.

The comedians were good and it was good to see that jokes could be funny without having to be told in a crude manner.

On our final night the Majestic Dancers put on a great show and the star singer, Ruby Washington, had an amazing voice.

In summary, we had a great break. A number of the other guests we spoke to were on their fourth visit, so clearly Majestic have got their package break spot on.

We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57caff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely comprehensive review of your “Carry on Christmas” break. I am so pleased you had a great stay with us and I shall pass on your comments to the whole team and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The food and entertainment was second to none.if we get a summer this year I will return. This was my second Christmas and will go back in December 2014. The staff (all of them) were brilliant and hope the transition from Christmas to ww2 theme went smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keefamistrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you so much for writing your review, I am thrilled you enjoyed another Carry on Christmas break. All the staff worked extremely hard and transformed the hotel from Christmas to our 1940’s War time theme, We’ll Meet Again which is now in full flow. As with all comments, I shall pass them on to the team and look forward to seeing you again in December if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had a lovely weekend ,this was our second visit for the Turkey and Tinsell and was as good second time round.The hotel lovely and warm,beds very comfortable,food good with a good variety. Staff very helpfull,entertainment was excellent. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
I am so pleased you had another lovely weekend with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful short break at this hotel and will definitely return. The rooms were a lovely size and the cleaner kept it looking lovely. We enjoyed our meals with a choice every evening and a good choice for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and it was good to see a full hotel in January. Well done everyone for giving us a lovely time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mag16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable short break with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our first visit and for a well travelled and discerning couple I have to say that the Templestowe offers outstanding value for money. It's a top of the range Majestic standard establishment. The staff from reception to bar to restaurant to housekeeping were all pleasant and efficient, our room was large and very clean with a practically new bathroom. The meals were better than I expected, good choice, hot, fresh vegetables. The entertainment was varied. This place "does what it says on the can". 90% were coach clients, we were self drive but we all enjoyed ourselves. Ours was a Turkey and Tinsel (last weekend in January) and I'd go again but on a different themed weekend. Well done to the Templestowe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldrunnerExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
I am delighted that you had a lovely first stay with us.
All the Templestowe Team appreciate you taking the time to write your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#20 of 87 in Torquay
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Property: Templestowe Hotel
Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing