We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend 25/04/14 3 Night Stay at The Templestowe Hotel”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
BRIDGWATER
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend 25/04/14 3 Night Stay at The Templestowe Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A party of four had a very enjoyable 3 Night stay, Rooms were very clean, food very good , excellent service from reception, waiters, & bar staff,we also had three nights with excellent entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank POLLY_PERKS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we pride ourselves on all aspects of our hotel and are pleased that our staff, entertainment and excellent food were appreciated. As always I shall pass your comments on and I look forward to welcoming you back for another short break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    122
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
195
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rooms excellent. Lovely hotel .
Excellent food and entertainment.
Staff very helpful and there was nothing too much for them to do. If the food was not on the menu they always tried their best to see if it was available.
We will definitely go back again for our holidays.

Room Tip: if available, pay for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceydawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments; I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the whole team and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went for the Easter break, excellent hotel, everybody was so polite and helpful.
Great entertainment at night time especially the staff, and with free drinks at the bar even better.
The food was delicious, the waiting on staff did a first class job, would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 308brian766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we pride ourselves on all aspects of our hotel and are pleased that our staff, entertainment and excellent food were appreciated. As always I shall pass your comments on and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went back to this hotel same time as last year.Enjoyed just as much as last year but the weather was better.Hotel was lovely and clean with re-furbished rooms and bathrooms.Food was good last year but even better this year especially the steak and ale pie which was beautiful,the best I have had.The entertainment was excellent as usual plus the free bar 7 till 11 with a good selection of drinks.Will be back next year at the same time.Very good value for money.

Room Tip: A back room on 1st floor gives sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keithfromneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, I am so pleased you had another lovely holiday with us. Our chefs will be delighted with your comments, which I shall pass on to the whole team. I look forward to welcoming you back next year if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our first time at the Templestowe and we really enjoyed it. All staff were very friendly and obliging, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food and entertainment were excellent - could find no fault. The rooms were very clean especially the bathrooms. Would definitely go back again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We pride ourselves on all aspects of our hotel and are pleased that our staff, excellent food and entertainment were appreciated. Thank you for you comments, which I will pass on to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just spent a few days at the Templestowe as part of the Sixties Short Break. It was excellent and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is spotless but very welcoming. The beds are so soft and all the bathrooms have been refurbished, The food is excellent and very well cooked and served. Nothing is too much trouble. All the staff are friendly and welcoming and if you are on your own you needn’t worry as everyone makes friends very easily with the inclusive atmosphere created by the staff.
Our first night’s entertainment was excellent and so funny, performed of course by the entertainment team. The second night we were taken to the theatre by coach and although the show was good, unfortunately Wayne Fontana was ill so it wasn’t as good as the previous year. However this was not the hotel’s fault….
The staff at the Templestowe are so hard working and versatile, working in the bar, reception and then entertaining us, well done you are brilliant.
This is our third break at the Templestowe and as we only live eight miles from the hotel, you can tell we really feel it is good value for money and a fabulous break.
Many thanks, Sheila Yeo

Room Tip: We always upgrade to the sea view and these rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheilaYe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am so pleased you had another great stay with us. We have finished refurbishing all eighty-seven bedrooms and I am delighted our efforts have been appreciated. The 60’s break was new for this year and I am delighted you enjoyed the jammed packed entertainment break, which I am sure will feature again. I shall pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel (in the same room - 31). I wrote a report last time as I was so impressed, and this time was even better. The room was modernised since last time completely overhauling the bathroom with a shower, sink and new toilet. Also all the bedding was new and the pillows (plenty of them) were great.

It was a 60s themed break and we even got tickets included to see the 60s show at the Princess Theatre with all original artists (not tributes). We were self drive and expecting to make our own way, but everyone was allowed to use the free coach transfer.

The food was great (again) and the staff just cannot do enough to make us feel welcome and to ensure that all our needs were met by all the friendly staff. Once again we had a fabulous break and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - and value for money too. Give it a try - you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: No fitness centre or spa - there was no option for this above - it was not terrible - just not appli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzyblue31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am so pleased you had a great stay with us. We have finished refurbishing all eighty-seven bedrooms and I am delighted our efforts have been appreciated. The 60’s break was new for this year and it is important to receive valuable feedback from our guests, so thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,875 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,117 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Property: Templestowe Hotel
Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing