We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable break in Torquay”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for two nights visiting family and friends in Devon. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every respect - lovely family room with sea view,beautifully furnished and decorated, well lit and airy, good wardrobe and storage facilities, ultra-modern bathroom, super breakfast, heated outdoor swimming pool and adequate car parking - all a nice walk or short taxi-ride from the sea front. The staff were all incredibly friendly and attentive (we are active pensioners), and we were made wonderfully welcome. Great value and a lovely stay - we will definitely return next year on our annual visit to the South West (from Prestatyn in North Wales)

Room Tip: Speak to Reception - always very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I am delighted you had a wonderful two night break with us. I know the whole team truly appreciate you taking the time to write such lovely comments and I have congratulated them all for their continued hard work. I look forward to welcoming you back next year if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Templestowe Hotel in Torquay with Majestic Coach Holidays. Have to say it was all great. From the coach arrangements to the hotel. Food at hotel was ok, totally acceptable but not great. However the entertainment was second to none. Each evening me and hubby would go out for a drink because we do not like bingo, but we made sure we were back for the main shows which were terrific. Well done to entertainment team and individual acts, some great comics there. Rooms were lovely, beds very comfortable and we paid extra for a sea view which was well worth it. Staff were very helpful. Hotel dated but lovely and clean. Hotel about 20min stroll from harbour all downhill going but up hill on way back. This was fine for us, but could be hard if a little less mobile. However a taxi back in the evening was less than £5 well worth it to have an evening drink in one of the lovely harbour bars. Met some lovely, friendly people on the trip. A great time. Many thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I appreciate you sharing your experience. We pride ourselves on all aspects of our hotel and are pleased that our staff, entertainment and refurbished bedrooms were appreciated. I shall pass on your comments to the whole team and hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went back for a second time with Majestic and was not disappointed, spotlessly clean room (thanks Christine) great food and service from Doug with good entertainment and trips.This hotel could do with a face-lift as it's a little tired but for value it takes some beating. Will I be going back........? Of course

Room Tip: Sea view rooms offer the best sleep quality, extra charge, as those overlooking the road and commerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, once again I am pleased you had another great stay with us. We have finished refurbishing all eighty-seven bedrooms and we are now working hard in the other main areas of the hotel. It is always lovely for our staff to get special mentions and as with all the comments we receive, I shall pass them on to the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have never been to this Hotel before, but will certainly go again. The rooms were spacious & spotless. Staff brilliant ,with a special mention to Duggie our waiter, who's definitely a people person. Entertainment exceptional. Food very good ( I ate everything & I'm very fussy). Can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we all appreciate you sharing your experience especially as it was your first stay with us. It is always lovely for our staff to get a special mention; they work tirelessly to ensure that all our guests have a great time whilst on holiday. We hope to see you again very soon and as always I will pass on your comments to the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was my first visit to the hotel and fully intend to return on a regular basis. From the moment we arrived the hotel was run like a well oiled machine. The rooms were well presented, clean and provided everything you needed, comfortable beds. The restaurant had a lovely choice of menu, food was good, and served by most helpful staff, always willing to oblige. The day trips out were well organised and the driver very helpful. To end the day we were provided with first class entertainment by staff and visiting acts. The free bar on this weekend was an extra bonus. I do not think I have ever stayed in a hotel where every member of staff were so
friendly, polite and efficient. Thankyou

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxx099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am so pleased you had a wonderful first stay with us. The whole team truly appreciate you taking the time to write such lovely comments and I have congratulated them all for their continued hard work. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned from our first break of the year , our first time at the hotel but definitely not the last excellent service from the staff all very helpful polite and cheerful , excellent food also a good choice of food, lovely clean and bright room with a fantastic sea view, great entertainment and free evening bar !!!!!!! A very pleasurable stay looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we pride ourselves on all aspects of our hotel and are pleased that our staff, entertainment and excellent food were appreciated. I am delighted on your first visit your expectations were met and I look forward to welcoming you back for another short break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

booked the hotel from 12/05/2014 to 16/05/2014 the value for money was great we had good service all around the food was good and the choice was good,our room was clean and we had a sea view the free bar was great you could have all the named drinks not like abroad you have there local drinks the shows at night were as good or better than you would get on a cruise ship we will be going back thankyou majestic

Room Tip: sea view rooms worth the small chaarge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobthe2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We pride ourselves on all aspects of our hotel and are pleased that our good food and entertainment were appreciated. Thank you for you comments, which I will pass on to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £60 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing