We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful !”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel in the first week in august we were only there one night when we noticed money had been taken from my wifes purse from the room, we went out around 5 oclock to the restaurant on the first night and stayed down stairs to watch the entertainment we went back to our rooms at around 11 o' clock where everything seamed to be ok. My wife got her purse from where she had hidden it the next morning and the money that was left in the purse had been taken,we notified the other person in the party that our money had gone, he also checked his money and he also had money taken while we were downstairs. There was no signs of any break-ins but someone had been in our rooms and the money taken, we also found out that another couple had their money taken the same night as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was made aware of the claim that money had been taken from your bedroom.
All of our housekeeping staff have been with us a substantial amount of time. This is true of the majority of the 50 staff that work at the Templestowe Hotel.
We take guest security very seriously, and have happily worked alongside with the local police authority regarding this isolated incident. The hotel has numerous CCTV cameras to ensure guest protection.
We have recorded the incident and have no further complaints of this nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

have just returned from a w/e at the templestowe with 8 friends, no problems with the food, entertainment all high standard. my only moan was the room no201. my 6 other friends rooms were close together all light and airy, mine was quite a distance away, not room to swing a cat. as i had booked the trip i was a bit put out. why couldn't we have been together? we still had a great time, would reccomend the hotel to anyone. be wary of room 201

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cymro043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Unfortunately all of our bedrooms are of a different shape and size. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme in place and have so far refurbished a third of our bedrooms. This programme will continue over the coming years.
We have investigated your booking and regrettably it is not always possible to get your whole party close together. This is because each floor has a varied selection of rooms. Room 201 for instance is next to two single rooms and your party required doubles and twins. We did however manage to allocate the same floor.
We are happy that you enjoyed our entertainment and once again we appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Templestowe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

just retuned from a w/e break at this hotel and found it to be excellent value for money.The staff are very polite and if they can help you they will.The evening entertainment was first class on the three nights we were there.Would certainly reccomend this hotel to other people for value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penyrheol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Templestowe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

stayed here before christmas, had fantastic time, very clean room, food good, staff helpful, most of staff are young and i found to be immature and very nice to guests, but on two occasions i overheard a female member staff moaning about an elderly guest and was quite rude.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrswhite54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you Mrs White. Your comments were duly noted and staff retrained in a customer respect. We believe the hotel now offers an exceptional personal service. Thank you for giving us a 'poke'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Had 3 nights here whilst visiting friends. Very nice hotel and service. All staff very helpful and friendly. Perfect location near to town, shops, beach, restaurants and pubs. Room small but comfortable. Nice new bathroom. Gorgeous sea view.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candyGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thanks for the review. I agree the sea-view rooms are the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Went with a group on 4/1/2010 with Magestic tour from Swansea
Arrived at hotel about 1 pm
All cases were undoaded and taken to your room
The room my wife and I had was quite large 1 double & i single bed room was bright & airy & spotless
Service was exellent and staff were very frendly and most helpful
Food was perfect (only fault it was a bit cold in my opinion) but I did not complain I am sure it would have been recified if I did
The entertainment was as good as you could ask for
A a christmas break the decorations must have taken quite a few days to put up(exceptional)
to sum it up I have been on loads of these short stay breaks but this was the best ever
Would I recommend this hotel absolutely
Fantastic value (in fact I don't kow how they can do it for the price)
Well done Templestow managment and staff
Happy New Year to you all
Derrick & cynthia Hopkins (room 39)
Swansea

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixietosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you for bringing your group and thank you for the glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

excellent entertainment every night,good service from staff.convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vchidzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.2 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £60 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing