We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astor House Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked an apartment for 2 nights but left after one night due to poor service and several issues with the apartment. Access to the apartments is via a pin system. Unfortunately we were not aware of this as we never received the email with the access codes etc. As a result of this we were left stranded outside the apartment block and had to make several phone calls before being able to get in. The housekeeper was rude and unhelpful. We booked an apartment with 'a balcony offering uninterrupted sea views'. The balcony is tiny and you can only access it by climbing through the front room window. There is work being carried out so there is scaffolding at the front obstructing your view. Also, a builder had removed part of the balcony railing without any prior warning and without puttting any safety measures in place. The information and photos of the apartment provided on the website did not reflect what we were actually given. The information/photos is misleading and selective to say the least. There was no mention of any work being carried out, the scaffolding, any photos of the actual balcony or the restricted access to it. Credit to the apartment owner who refunded me the money I had paid for the second night without any fuss. I just hope he takes on board the issues I raised especially around the information he provides on the webiste as it is not accurate and customers can be left disappointed and duped.

Room Tip: Information and photos on webisite for '1 apartment with sea view' is not accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poseidon_adventure77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumholidays, Owner at Astor House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We were really upset to hear about the problems experienced by this guest and have made a refund and discount offer to him as he confirms as his experience fell way below what we endeavour to provide.

See the review below this one for a very happy guest who stayed in this flat before!

We do stress the importance of bringing confirmation/check in details with you on arrival but they can on the odd occasion arrive in junk mail. The guest was given entry as soon as he contacted us. We had emergency works to repair the balcony outside this apartment and due to the volume and nature of this repair work one gets no notice of when the 2-3 week project is due to commence! The work is now finished and there is a nice new balcony to enjoy the stunning view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Its just a beautiful apartment with beautiful views we got a fabulous week with great weather!
The housekeeper Diane was very friendly especially when we locked ourselves out (embarrassing eh)
Can't fault the apartment has everything that you'd need down to pegs for the airer they've thought of everything :))

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed in apartment 5 with my 3 children aged 8, 10 and 12. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower worked well. The only negative comments I have are that the plan was to have 2 of my children sharing the sofa bed, but it was a bit small for this, so one of them slept on a blow up bed on the floor. The one on the sofa bed thought the sofa bed was great though. If you do plan to have 2 children sharing the sofa bed, this would probably be fine if they are 5 or younger. Also, the lounge and kitchen are one room which means that anyone sleeping on the sofa bed has to share a room with the boiler which may be a problem if you aren't a deep enough sleeper. I looked at quite a few self-catering apartments and this was the only one I could find that would allow us to stay for less than a full week. A full week anywhere in the area was just too expensive for us so I was really pleased to find Astor House. The location is great for the beach, and the children said the garden was like something in an Agatha Christie book, so they enjoyed looking for clue even though they hadn't managed to discover a murder yet!

Room Tip: I would recommend room 5 if you are a couple, and don't mind not having a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at Astor House 22 June 2013 for one week. Room 8 is situated on the ground floor as you arrive within the spacious hall. It was spotless and everything was of high quality. The bed was extremely comfortable and the views from our private balcony were amazing. The bedroom is situated on the front of the house and unfortunately on level with the curb side. We were disturbed by cars and passers by but to be honest as the week progressed the noise became less apparent. On one hot night we would have liked to have opened the bedroom window but because it was a large sash it would have opened onto the pavement area so was not a safe option. I hope that my review does not put people off -despite this we would still go back as the luxury and comfort outweighed the said problem we encountered. The balcony could have done with a coat of paint (it is an expectation when paying top prices) and "de weeding". In terms of location it is literally 10 minutes away from the town centre. There are lots of good eating places and I would recommend taking the £1 return boat to Brixham for their Seafood. Had a brilliant meal at Hennesseys and if you love fish then Man Fridays is a good choice. Take a boat ride over to Dartmouth and visit Totnes too. The resort is so centrally placed for seeing lots of fabulous places. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shep608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is my second visit to Astor Apartments in the past nine months. My previous review concerned Apartment 4 and I was extremely complimentary. However, on this occasion, I was bitterly disappointed and surprised. I stayed in Apartment 14 for four night and it cost £558.00, so it was not a cheap holiday, when considering that does not include any meals. The apartment is accessed via a large red door on Warren Road. You then proceed through another door before you enter the apartment complex. Apartment 14 is accessed via rather steep steps to the lower ground floor. If you are disabled or elderly, this apartment would not be suitable. The apartment was very clean. It has two bedrooms and two bathrooms and an all in one kitchen and living room. The living room was fairly small, as was the kitchen. There were patio doors with views across Torbay. However, the patio doors and curtains doors could not be opened because the balcony accompanying this apartment can be used by any of the guest as a path to the gardens. The path was used regularly and anyone passing could see directly into the living room and kitchen. There was absolutely no privacy in this apartment and in my opinion, it is dangerous to allow other guests access to Apartment. The patio doors could certainly not be left unattended. The kitchen was clean and functional with the appliances one would normally expect. The seating in the living room was passed its best. The bedroom containing two single beds would be fine for two small children. Adults might feel claustrophobic. The main bathroom is nicely finished with a sink, toilet and a bath with a shower over one end. The shower is fine, if lacking a huge amount of power. Strangely, there is another bathroom with a shower in the main bedroom, which is not more than ten feet away. I say strangely because it seems a bit of a waste. It would have been much better to have used one of the rooms as a utility space. The washing machine is in the kitchen/living room, which means that it is hard work if you want a conversation or watch television with a washing machine whirring away in the background. The main bedroom is large. The bed is comfortable by very low. If you have problems with your joints or are disabled, the bed would not suit. There is a very large, stylish wardrobe and chest of drawers the the bedroom, as well as a sofa and dining chair. The sofa is in a terribly tatty state, but has had a rather ridiculous and out of place thrown placed over it. An apartment like this really shouldn't have such a shockingly awful piece of furniture in it. The main bedroom has patio doors, again with Torbay views, leading to the balcony. The balcony should be the feature of this apartment, given the wonderful views, but it was not. The balcony was tatty, shabby, dirty, unkempt and totally lacking any redeeming features, The floor was a state, paint was peeling, part of the roof was missing. It really was disgusting and disappointing. The balcony also lacked any privacy whatsoever, as guests from any of the apartments could walk past the living room, down some steps to the gardens. I would not stay at this apartment again unless and until the balcony is cleaned, repaired and painted and the privacy issue is sorted out. Also, it should be noted that there is an awful lot of building work taking place in the vicinity of Astor Apartments, There is a crane to the right and front of the :building. Work started every morning at 07:30 and continued until about 17:00. It did not cause me a problem because I am an early bird and was out everyday. However, it was very noisy and if you like to sleep in until later in the morning, take earplugs! There is also building work next door and in the gardens of Astor. The workmen started about 08:30 and used the path directly outside of the living room, so you will need to ensure that you are not in a state of undress! Overall, I was incredibly disappointed with Apartment 14. The balcony was an embarrassment to the proprietors and the lack of privacy is a very serious issue. I would not stay in Apartment 14 again, unless and until the issues I have raised have been fully rectified. This apartment could be wonderful, but at the moment, it is not worth the money that is being charged. You will notice that my review of Apartment 4 was five star, so this left me feeling bitterly disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't book this apartment if you want privacy or a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumholidays, Owner at Astor House Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Unfortunately this guest arrived during the redecoration of this balcony and this was finished shortly after he left.

We had had no complaints about the privacy of this balcony before this guest but we added a small gate to No 14's area of the balcony after these comments. We have addressed the other issuers raised as well.

There is a new hotel being built by the beach to the right of Astor. Most of the external works are being done and it will be mainly internal work from now on.

The balcony is again a great place to enjoy the most stunning uninterrupted sea views again! The apartment is large with a massive ensuite bedroom with french windows both from the master bedroom and lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

stay at apartment 4 astor house in torquay.
on arrival walked in to apartment was so pleased everything was lovely the apartment was really welcoming spotless, views over the bay was amaxing.
would stay again .
everyone was very helpful.

Room Tip: stayed in apartment 4 would always ask for this again .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barbarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed in Apartment 4 for four nights in September 2012. I have stayed in a different apartment complex on Warren Road before so i knew what to expect from the area. It is very quiet and well positioned property. Immediately upon entering the main entrance you will be greeted by post boxes to the left and this part of the building is a bit cold and unwelcoming, but don't let that put you off. As soon as you enter the complex properly you will be met with a beautifully furnished hallway. Apartment 4 is up two flights of stairs, which are quiet steep. So, it wouldn't suit someone with mobility problems or the elderly because there is no lift. immediately upon entering Apartment 4 you can't fail to notice how massive the property is and how long the hallway inside the apartment stretches! The first room to your left is a shower room with a small cubicle, toilet and sink. It is nicely decorated. To your right is the living room and what a treat that is. It is very larger, airy and with three bay windows overlooking Torquay, Paignton and Brixham. The view is stunning. There are two, two seater leather sofas, one of which turns into a sofa bed. There is also a large flat screen television and DVD player. The room really is lovely. Next is a utility which contains a washer dryer, sink and freezer, all of which are very good and came in useful! The next room is the best in the apartment and it is the kitchen and dining room. There is a floor to ceiling glass window, which is fantastic and sliding patio doors, which reveals a large balcony overlooking the coast and sea. There are three seats and ample room on the balcony. It is simply stunning. If you want to eat at the dining table then you are treated to the magnificent views across the bay. The kitchen is nice and contains all the appliances and accouterments one would expect of a classy establishment. The bedrooms are nicely decorated and have ample storage space for clothing, footwear and personal items. The double bed is very comfortable and i slept brilliantly, but it may be too soft for some people, so be warned. The other bedroom has two single beds. The main bedroom has a en suite bathroom with a corner bath and shower to the side. There is also a toilet and sink. Again the bathroom is very nicely decorated. However, i don't quite understand why you would have a shower, but no curtain or glass panel around the bath. Whilst i appreciate that it would spoil the look of the bathroom, if you have a shower water can end up all over the bathroom. The live in housekeeper is really friendly and helpful. I had to get her to close the bedroom window for me because i just could not do it for some reason! In conclusion this Apartment really is worthy of a five star rating. It is expensive, but beautifully decorated, ideally situated to Torquay and has breathtaking views. Apartment 4 is ideal for single people, couples and families, but not for the very elderly or those with mobility problems, due to the number of stairs that need to be climbed.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs with you because the noise from Warren Road may occasion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House Apartments

Address: Warren Road, Torquay TQ2 5TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Price Range: £70 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning uninterrupted views south facing balconies and recently refurbished give an excellent holiday experience. Plumlocations offers Great Locations . Housekeeper . 24/7 Access . Wifi . Family owned ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Astor House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor House Apartments Hotel Torquay
Astor House Apartments Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing