We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly delighted”
Review of Hotel De La Mer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel De La Mer
Ranked #103 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and i have stayed three times now and have always had a wonderful time.Spotlessly clean and everyone very friendly.Nothing is too much bother.Although my husband and i try to go now to different places in Devon overlooking Babbacombe bay for the first time is breathtaking.Would highly recommend the food.It is plentiful and the staff always come round with extra portions.The lemon possett is delicious and if we ever come back to Babbacombe we will definately stay there.They also do a lot for families who through illness would not get a holiday and they do it with a quiet grace not for publicity.A genuine family business

Room Tip: Quite a few stairs so if thats a problem they will do their best to give you a ground floor room.Jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke T, Owner at Hotel De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you so very much for your very kind words - they are very much appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Luke, family & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a superb hotel.There was an excellent choice of menu and the food was served piping hot and we were even offered second helpings.Sincere thanks to the chef who prepared gluten free meals for my partner.The staff were brilliant,nothing was to much trouble.Perhaps the room could have been bigger but it was spotlessly clean.I can not praise this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melvyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke T, Owner at Hotel De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Special dietary needs are never a problem to cater for, we believe strongly that people who have special dietary needs should have an equally large choice of menu as our regular guests - and we also believe that nobody should go home hungry!!
Best wishes & many thanks
Luke & all at the Hotel De La Mer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for our pearl wedding anniversary our son gave us a bottle of champagne as a present when we asked if we could open it to have with our dinner we were told they would charge us £5 corkage.Needless to say we drank it in our room. Sign near door arrive as a guest leave as a friend. Owners never introduced themselves or spoke during our visit. The room was very cramped as was the shower. Staff very polite Cleanliness OK as was Food.

Room Tip: Request a decent size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with being charged a corkage fee for your bottle of wine. Unfortunately we have to have such measures in place and enforce them, otherwise all customers would buy their own beverages from outside - thus rendering our bar useless. I honestly believe you would have been charged a corkage fee in any other licensed restaurant in the country.
All coach parties are welcomed by either myself, my wife or my mother - by giving a welcome/orientation speech and we obviously introduce ourselves before we commence with our speech.
When a private booking guest/group arrives, if we are not available to personally welcome them a member of our more than capable staff will give a warm welcome to customers. I can only apologise that you did not receive a personal welcome in to our establishment, there are some weeks that run by where it is sadly not possible to personally meet all of our guests, however as previously mentioned - we have every faith in our staff to cater for our guests needs and give them a very warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hotel De La Mer is a family-run friendly hotel. The staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble, no wonder visitors return again and again! What is outstanding is the food...restaurant quality and plentiful with a good choice of menu, can't praise the food enough! The Hotel is very well placed, just a stone's throw from beautiful views and the beach. There is so much to do in the area that you are spoilt for choice. Will definitely return :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DancelikeDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate your very kind words. We hope to welcome you back to Babbacombe in the very near future. Best wishes from Luke & family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I would highly recommend after spending the weekend here recently. Quaint rooms with all the amenities you need. Breakfast and dinner are ordered in advance with a good choice of menu. Entertainment every evening too. Situated in an ideal location for touring the area. Lovely beach within 5 mins with a lift down for £1.30 return. A nice walk around the downs too. Highly recommend stating here

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerryk666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Babbacombe in the very near future. Best wishes & many thanks from all the Tillen Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel is pleasant and the staff are friendly and offer a first class service in the dining room but we do have to mention a few negatives. The room we were staying in was classed as a double but we found it cramped and the shower facilities were inadequate also cramped hardly any room to move plus the water was luke warm! But on a positive point the room although basic was clean.
Also must mention although food was varied and plentiful it was not very hot especially the fish.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ron t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our establishment, I am very sorry that you found some aspects of your stay to be negative. If you had raised any of these issues during your stay we would have endeavoured to put them all right for you, I can only apologise and hope that it does not put you off a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

rooms cramped, a problem with shower, unimaginitive menu and meals only at set times.
this is more like a guest house than a hotel but at £99 per person for 4 nights dinner,bed and breakfast we expect no better. ps very enthusiastic and helpful staff

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grahamsbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very sorry that you were not happy with certain elements of you stay with us. If you had raised any of your concerns we would have endeavoured to put them right for you, unfortunately we were not given the chance to put these right for you. Without communication from our customers we cannot resolve any issues they may have.
I do feel your comments regarding our menu's are very unfair - we use fresh local produce and feel that our food and service is the flagship of our business. Every day there is a choice of 3 starters, 3 varied hot main courses, a large selection of salads followed by a choice of a hot or cold pudding, local ice cream selection or local cheese and biscuits. I really think that labelling us a guest is very unfair.
If you were to make a return booking then we will be sure that you leave 100% satisfied with your break.
Best wishes from the Tillen family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
3.7 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#37 of 85 in Torquay
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
561 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#2 of 17 in Paignton
635 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Mer

Address: 16 Babbacombe Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £25 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm family welcome awaits you at the Hotel De La Mer, with customer satisfaction assured. The Tillen family have been established at the Hotel De La Mer since 1976 and feel with over 30 years experience we are more than qualified to give you a premier holiday experience.We offer a wide range of holidays from mini breaks, festive tinsel & turkey breaks to one of our special themed holidays.The Hotel De La Mer are the proud founders of the nationally recognised charity Torbay Holiday Helpers Network a network of businesses who offer free action packed holidays to families who have seriously ill and bereaved children from across the UK.With our warm and friendly family atmosphere we invite you to arrive as customers and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing