We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Time At The Devonshire Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Brixham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Time At The Devonshire Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I feel I must write to thank you for the recent holiday my wife and I spent at the Devonshire Hotel. We have spent many holidays with another well known group, but this was the first time we had visited your hotel in Torquay. Our first impression as we approached the hotel was one of a good clean well kept building and grounds with plenty of parking space.

At reception we were met with a smile and told we were a little early but if we wished to wait in the lounge and have a cup of tea they would not keep us from our room for to long.

The room was a bit on the small side but had everything we required, plenty of liquid refreshments towels and the room was very clean. On entering the restaurant we were once again met with a smile from a lady called Eva and were asked where we would like to sit, this was a first ever, we chose table number 1 as my wife is a little hard of hearing and thought it would help her when we stayed for the evenings entertainment. This turned out to be a good move as our waitress always met us with what was becoming the normal a smile and sense of humour (Ella). The food could not be faulted; we both put on a couple of pounds in weight.

The entertainment was led by Dee sorry we never knew your surname but that was typical of the hotel, the artists appearing every night were top class and Simon calling the bingo along with his banter had us both in stitches. Monday morning came too soon and we had to leave, but we are planning to return in April.

Thank you all at the Devonshire for giving us such a wonderful four day break.



Steve and Grace Clark

Room Tip: If you want a room near the lift or on the ground floor book early to ensure a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
thank you for your great feedback i am sorry i missed you as i was away on holiday, but it's nice to see you were looked after well in my absence. best regards
look forward to seeing you in April.

Nigel and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    263
    68
    24
    8
See reviews for
114
413
39
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Staffs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from a 6 day break at the Devonshire. Our room was the best part. I think it had only been finished refurb the day before or even that morning. The bedroom also has a telephone, so in an emergency you can contact reception (unlike some other Dash's hotels). Completely redecorated, new fittings and furnishings. Bar prices are a little on the high side, but the service is pretty good. The evening entertainment is nothing to brag about, the usual bingo followed by an act, usually a singer who also trys to tell jokes. Varied from average to poor. Non of the photos of the acts in reception bear any resemblence to their age or looks of today. The seating for the evening is not so good, it is your dining table (unless someone else moves), as the restaraunt is also the cabaret lounge. Oh the restaraunt! Good service, but the food was not so good. My wife is wheat & gluten intolerant. The waiter was informed and he said "no problem. I will arrange something special for you"......Nothing happened (the I.O.W. could not do enough). There was a vegetarian on the next table to us who had arranged special meals. But 3 days she had no main meal. We heard the waiter say the Chef did not have time to do special meals. Do not have the cod, it is cooked about 4 hours earlier and kept warm. Mine was so hard you could hardly get a knife through it. The waiter said there was a lot of complaints about the cod. Like a fool, the next day I tried the plaice. It was swimming in butter and full of bones. Other meals were ok, but nothing to shout about. The location of the hotel is not so good, unless you are a hill walker. Twoo ways to town and back, both are steep hills. Although there is a mini bus (number 62) that picks up at the hotel and returns from outside Debenhams every half hour. But this is often full as the age of the guests are all 60+. The whole experince did not start well. The coach was filthy dirty, so much so that you could hardly see through the windows. It was that old that it had the old hotel name at Newquay on the back. The driver was not so good either, hardly spoke. Two coaches went down but due to illnesses and people returning early, there was only one coach on the return journey. This meant lots of extra drop offs and later getting home. We have now stayed at 3 of the Daish's hotels and so far this is the worst. A long way behind I.O.W. and Bournemouth. Hope Newquay in September is better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
thank you for your feedback, i am sorry you had some issues during your stay. i have looked into your comments and acted upon them, this includes some new gluten free sweets and changes to the fish. but we take onboard your good comments as well. thanks for coming and we do hope to see you again soon.

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

A five day break here by coach included in the price Bed breakfast and evening meal with entertainment each evening. A hilly short walk to the town centre or a loacl bus stops outside the hotel and returns from town half hourly. Menu was basic but tasty . Excellent value for money

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet outside annex away from noise of entertainment should it be needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chalmers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
thanks for coming to the devonshire, we are always trying to make our guest happy which we can see in your review.

Regards
see you again we hope

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

for a budget hotel,the food was mostly inedible,obviously they do not have a qaulified chef,everything seems to be portion controlled and of a not very good qaulity.have stayed in other daishs establishments and have been very happy,as head office is based here it seems apparent that the accountants are running this hotel and not the manager,whom i must say is a very nice chap.on the good side bar staff were good,although the ability to smile was missing on the gentleman at the beginning of our stay,simon the head receptionist was very good and our whole group feel that maybe he is undervalued somewhat.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We would like to respond to the comments left.
This Guest did not make their feelings known regarding the food at the front desk until the departing morning, this sadly was too late for us to try and help resolve any issues they had during their stay. We are very confident that this view was not shared by the other of 145 guests that stayed on this date, this is why. We collected the questionnaire at the end of the tour, the average score on the food for that tour was 4 out of 5 which is a score marking of very good, and furthermore friends of this guest from the same party scored 5 out 5 on the food which is a score of excellent, hardly inedible.
We use the questionnaires to gather a true reflection as a whole of our guest’s feelings. The food costs are budgeted as with any other hotel, all meat, fish, salads and most veg are fresh from local butcher, fish mongers and a local fruit and veg suppliers. Inedible is a term (not edible; not appropriate, worthy, or safe to eat). We feel that this statement saying the food was inedible is grossly unfair, untrue and defamatory because this was not the opinion of the vast majority of guests which we can demonstrate outright. We have forwarded a request to trip advisor to have this review taken down, or remove the defamatory wording following talks with our legal advisor.

Simon is a very valued member of staff and does a great job around the hotel including the quizzes and bingo, he is certainly not undervalued in anyway by the company.
On reflection we know you cannot please people all the time but the least you can ask is for guests to come and talk with us about their issue in the hope it can be resolved, rather than going home unhappy and using trip advisor as a keyboard warrior to air their problems later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Just, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have just returned from a Daish's holiday to The Devonshire we all had a great time we had a family room which was spacious clean and comfortable. The food was good quality and plentiful. The entertainment was fantastic and the bar prices were reasonable.The children had a great time in the games room and playing football in the gardens. An Idea for an excursion would be Paignton zoo if that was availiable we would have definately gone.
The staff were friendly and helpful especially Artur and of course Simon with his quizzes and Bingo.Will definately go again if another trip is organised for The Devonshire. Good luck to Simon when he runs the Marathon and Amelia says she is not a food !!! Thank you all

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thanks so much for coming with your Family to the Devonshire, Familes are very welcome at the our hotel, we hope they liked their welcome packs in the room. we understand that it is not cheap to take the children away on holiday in the school holiday as most companies up their prices during this time which we find unexceptable. we at the Devonshire offer half price childrens places and on the day trips some free places and others at half price. thanks for coming see you again soon.
Nigel, Simon and all the crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just back from a great 'surprise' break away with my friends. Our first time with Daish's and certainly not our last. Had a fantastic time. Our rooms were lovely, spacious & clean. Staff were great especially Artur. Tony our driver very imformative, helpful, polite & kept the 'surprise' destination a secret until almost there. Hotel itself very clean & staff very helpful. The food was very nice & always hot. Entertainment was really good, Quiz's & bingo not normally our 'thing' but really enjoyed it. Only 2 little grumbles....Simon's jokes lol, but then we did miss them on his day off & found the heating too hot, we turned the heating off in our room & didn't need it on again, dining room really hot but opened the windows in the evenings. Going to try Newquay next, then Bournemouth & would return to Torquay.

Room Tip: Twin rooms 63 & 64 very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di5062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
hi and thanks for writing your review, we are really happy your 50th birthday celebration was spent at the Devonshire hotel, sorry if the rooms were a little to warm, we had just come out of a very cold snap, we have now adjusted the stats down to reflect the milder weather. do enjoy your stays at our other hotels. We hope to see you back at the Devonshire in the near future.Best regards from Nigel and all the Great Staff here at the Devonshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I took a group of 65 to the Devonshire Hotel 3rd February to 9th February 2012. I organise trips to fund raise for 4 local charities and also to celebrate two 65 birthdays, one 70th, and two 60ths. I had arranged a surprise birthday drinks reception pre dinner and liaised with hotel manager and staff before we went, and they even helped me organise a cake.

My group found the whole package great. Our trip was based on half board with two trips out, and ALL the staff were so helpful and nothing too much trouble. Some of the rooms may be slightly dated, but the setting, up the hill overlooking Torquay is lovely, with two minibuses coming into the drive just after breakfast for those wanting to go into Torquay plus bus stop right outside hotel. It is also an easy walk downhill via Living Coasts where you can see the penguins being fed, but great place for coffee, with lovely views over the sea.

The entertainment, food, staff, trips available and lots to do, even in the winter. A great way to kick off those winter blues. Manager Nigel and all staff really helpful. One of my group voted it was her best birthday ever. The weather was even kind to us while the rest of the country had snow, we had sun, and it was quite mild, we even went on a river trip in February and saw a seal sunbathing. Thank you Daishs, great value for money

Room Tip: There are some larger family rooms which have a double and single bed in and have side views of sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
One of the friendliest groups we have ever had, from arrival to departures it was non stop fun, i hear your heading to our Barrowfield hotel in Newquay next year i do hope you will have the same fun time there, I am sure Richard and the team will look after you. We at the Devonshire offer the warmest welcome to our groups of any size, this is to make sure they have a time to remember as that is what going on holiday is all about. thank you again for spending 5 nights at the Devonshire hotel shirley tours. please return again soon.
regards
Nigel and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Property: Devonshire Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing