We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year break”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“new year break”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have just returned from a new year break.We had a really good time.Entertainment was great, atmosphere and staff lovely,Kelvin our waiter was always pleasant and helpful,and Simon was a lot of fun and held everything together. Our only disappointment was the room which was in the Lodge room 55. I take it these buildings are waiting to be knocked down or refurbished. I have never seen curtains so dirty, the pillows were stained with no pillow protectors. I thought these were just a basic standard in a hotel. I won't list everything that was wrong in the room. I think we were just unlucky to be put in the Lodge. It is such a shame that such good staff are let down by these failings. We would love to go back, but we just couldn't face that room again -a room we never wanted to go back to .

Room Tip: stay out of the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandd175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
thank you for the review, i take on board your comments although i do remember when you brought the pillows to our attention they were changed within the hour with brand new ones. the lodge is requested by many of our guests returning. it's not for everyone but rooms 56 and 62 are big rooms. as from 20.1.13 all rooms will have brand new pillows and new pillow protectors.

thank you for your 4 out of 5.

regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    304
    83
    25
    8
See reviews for
127
477
43
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Once again my friend and I stayed at the Devonshire Hotel for Turkey and Tinsel we asked for and were given the same room as last year and yet again it was spotlessly clean the walk in shower is a double size loads of room. the staff were friendly and helpfull especially Kelvin who was our waiter in the dinning room nothing was too much trouble for him, and they even provided me with decaff coffee and tea. We really do enjoy our trip to the Devonshire. the only downside this year was the coach we travelled on took 7hrs to get us from Oldbury in the West Midlands to the hotel we had to pick up in Bristol which added to our journey plus the coach was not very clean dirty tissues on the floor crumbs on some seats and the ash trays were full of tissues and sweet papers this of course is down to the driver ..we did go out on a trip on one of the other coaches and it was clean and nicely decorated with tinsel etc..thus putting you in the christmas mood. but I would certainly return to this hotel again...

Room Tip: we stayed in room 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldfinch95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
thank you for writing your nice review, we really hope you can return soon to the Devonshire.

thanks again

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have just returned from a break with my parents it is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. Really enjoyed our stay again room clean with plenty of space the only critisim I would say is the lighting in the room is quite dim but didn't spoil the overall stay. Food nice service good. Enjoyed the entertainment in the evening especially Katie May , Andy Oakley and Chris ( love you ) Chaplin and a special mention for Simon, devonshires own resident funny man he made the quiz and bingo so much fun a genuinely lovely guy he is a credit to the hotel will def return thank you to all the staff for a lovely time

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladetteSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
thankyou for your great british review of our flagship hotel. hope you will return very soon.

regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My Father, my friend and myself have just returned today from a Turkey and Tinsel break at the Devonshire. It's a lovely hotel with excellent staff who strive to please. Our room (38, where the wallpaper cost £45 a roll, and very nice too) had been refurbished, and the bed was so comfortable. Fresh towels and tea/coffee etc were brought in every day and the beds made beautifully. Tv had a good picture. The only downside with the room was that the shower cubicle was very small, but I realise that space was limited in the bathroom.
Meals were very tasty and there was a good choice on offer. Some people thought that the breakfasts were small but I think that when I have had my cereal plus unlimited toast, it was perfectly adequate. Praise goes to our lovely waitress Monica who was very polite and nothing was too much trouble.
The entertainment was good, especially on the first night, comedian Andy Oakley was hilarious and the three of us bought his dvd. The night always started with Simon doing a fun quiz followed by bingo for cash prizes, which was always a good laugh ( Simon is a diamond )
There is a lovely little lounge area with a view to the stage for those who like more comfy seats in a quieter atmosphere and a nice bar area with a pub feel to it which we enjoyed.
We ordered a packed lunch to go home which was very good value for money.
Our driver Dave was with us for both journeys and was very pleasant. We also went on a trip out to Trago Mills, Buckfast Abbey and The House of Marbles with another driver named Dave who kept us informed about the local area.
To sum it up, the three of us had an excellent stay, thanks to Nigel the Manager, Simon and all of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
hello and thank you for your review, sorry i was late getting my reponce back. it was a pleasure having you here as one of our lovely guests. room 38 is a lovely room. i am so happy you enjoyed yourself.
see you next year i hope.

regards

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at the devonshire for 5 nights.Although the weather was very poor we had a great time at this hotel.The staff were very efficient,especially our waiter,Artur.Also Simon was excellent,very friendly and a good sense of fun.The food was good.All in all we had a good time,and would certainly go back again
Good work Nigel. Hope to see you sometime next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
thank you for coming to see us again, it may have been a first class holiday for you, but you were first class guests to us.

see you soon

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have just returned home from my latest stay at the Devonshire. Great value for money. Not five star luxury - but clean and comfortable - all that you could want from a good hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. Big thanks to Nigel and his staff for everything. I shall return....!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
thanks for coming and your comment that your holiday was great value for money, the good news is we are holding our prices down this year so you are welcome to come again at the same price.

regards

Nigel and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

me and my mom had a wonderful holiday in sept this year at this lovely hotel!! ok, its not 5 star luxury but its clean, the food is varied well cooked and theres plenty of it! the staff are all very helpful and friendly the location is very good, close to torquay centre, yes theres a hill but theres an excellent bus service that runs from the hotel carpark!! the excursions are well organised and offer varied and enjoyable days out. i would particularly like to mention Abbie the receptionist who went above and beyond the call of normal duties when my mother was taken ill and an ambulance was required she was caring, calm and helped me to stay calm, thank you Abbie. i would also like to mention Kelvin, our waiter!! the sunshine with our meals!! an excellent waiter and quite simply a lovely man! thank you all for a lovely stay, we will be back and would recommend this hotel to anyone. go on folks, give it a try!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissyrulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
thanks for your lovely review, simply the best? we just love the hotel and the guest that come to it. see you soon.

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,810 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Property: Devonshire Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing