We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devonshire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveller rating
492
365
100
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
492
365
100
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillmanager nigelandy oakleybus serviceself driveour waiterthe hotel car parkgreat holidaydining roombar pricesevening entertainmentbus passturkey and tinselshort breakmain buildingcoach holidayvisited this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
918 - 923 of 996 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We travelled from Leicester to the Devonshire Hotel in Torquay on January 11th for 5days. Could not fault this beautiful hotel, perhaps a little tired, but perfectly clean, our bedroom was spot on comfortable, quiet as asked for, food good quality plentyful and wide variety, even smoked haddock for breakfast if requested, Staff excellent, friendly nothing too much trouble. And the entertainment in the evening certainly kept the guests happy, the entertainment manager was a credit to Daish. All in all we will certainly be booking with this company again.

Room Tip: if you want anything special just ask or request on booking.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

thanks you for your nice review and thank you so much for spending your holiday with us at the Devonshire hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Went to the Devonshire for Tinsel & Turkey with my Mum & sister. We travelled from the Isle of Wight and really enjoyed the whole experience. The coach drivers are lovely. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Great food. Bar prices very reasonable. We went on a coach trip over Dartmoor on a cold, sunny day and the driver was very entertaining. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. Special mention to Nigel and Mark. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Hi Ladies, and thank you so much for your great review, Mark was asking how you and mum are? he liked you alot, i hope your trip was enjoyed by you all. give our love to the IOW.

Please come back soon.

regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were picked up by coach at Dudley at 9-30 am and after a couple of rest stops arrived at the Hotel at 2-30pm. Nigel the Hotel manager came on board and gave us all a warm welcome.We collected our room keys and within 15mins our cases were taken to our room.We were given room 21 which was beautifully decorated and also had partial views of Torbay.The food, service and enterainment was first class.
For the people who cannot walk very far ,the regular bus stops outside the hotel and gets you to the Harbour with in minutes.
On the day of departure if you leave your cases outside your door by 7-15am they will be collected and taken to your coach. Breakfast at 8 o,clock and we boarded our coach, and left spot on at 9 o,clock.After a 45min stop over for lunch we were back in Dudley at 1-15 by our coach driver Mike.
May I thank Nigel and all the staff for a wonderful 5 days for their kindness and enthusiasm.

Room Tip: We were told on arrival if we were not happy they would do their best to sort out any problem and thats what I like to here. In this day and age you cannot please everybody, you can only do your best.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adav43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

well i must say what a lovely review. as promised we are still continuing to refurb rooms as soon as we can, room 21 has some of the best views in the hotel. we are so happy your time here was enjoyed, please recommend a friend and do come back again soon.

all our love at the Devonshire (a friendly warming Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay and at the Devonshire and what a wonderful stay we had. For what you would class as a budget hotel everything was Ist class. The room was spotless, the food very good and well cooked, the service excellent, in fact we could not fault anything. The hotel is situated a little way from the town but there is a regular bus service which stops right outside the hotel which takes you straight into the town centre, on the plus side the hotel is in a very quite area which guarantees you a good nights sleep. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we look forward to our next visit. Thank you to the management and all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

thank you for the great review, we had one of the best tincel and turkeys this year, we were sold out all the way though. please book early if you like to return next year.

all the best.

Nigel and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have just returned from a new year break.We had a really good time.Entertainment was great, atmosphere and staff lovely,Kelvin our waiter was always pleasant and helpful,and Simon was a lot of fun and held everything together. Our only disappointment was the room which was in the Lodge room 55. I take it these buildings are waiting to be knocked down or refurbished. I have never seen curtains so dirty, the pillows were stained with no pillow protectors. I thought these were just a basic standard in a hotel. I won't list everything that was wrong in the room. I think we were just unlucky to be put in the Lodge. It is such a shame that such good staff are let down by these failings. We would love to go back, but we just couldn't face that room again -a room we never wanted to go back to .

Room Tip: stay out of the lodge
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandd175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

thank you for the review, i take on board your comments although i do remember when you brought the pillows to our attention they were changed within the hour with brand new ones. the lodge is requested by many of our guests returning. it's not for everyone but rooms 56 and 62 are big rooms. as from 20.1.13 all rooms will have brand new pillows and new pillow protectors.

thank you for your 4 out of 5.

regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews