We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jack n jill would went up the hill....and found the devonshire hotel.”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

just back from a wonderfull 6 days with daish holidays..... devonshire hotel... we had room 37 no faults at all...chaimbermaid looked after us very well.....food was ok. but if you want more just ask....service was a bit slow at times but hotel was full..hotel was nice....only problem was the hill up to the hotel...but there is a bus service that runs till 5-30 from the hotel..for us it was a 10 min walk to torquay harbour...and 15 back up the hill. there is a bench half way to rest if you need to...imperial hotel half way down the hill you can use there swimimg pool for a fiva a visit...entertainment was good...and the beer was ok too...all in all very nice stay....9/10 we will go back agian...

Room Tip: ask when you call them..... if you book on the internet you get 10 quid off each person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyd1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at this hotel. Just returned from my latest stay. Was made very welcome as usual - lovely to see a lot of the same faces among the staff. Clean and comfortable rooms and good choice of meals including a vegetarian option at each evening meal time. Big thanks to the Manager, Nigel, and his team for their hospitality. I shall return - soon I hope!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

well our room was very big single and double beds tea and coffee making facilities nice room
the only down fall in being in room 73 was the walk from reception corridors more corridors stairs and more stairs not suitable for the elderly
only one niggle with the room the water ran very slowly
weekend was brilliant the entertainment was fantastic the food was ok but could have a lot more veg breakfast could be improved but over all was ok
the postion of the hotel is on a hill but the bus stops right out side so all you free bus passes were happy the staff on reception could have been more cheerful enjoyed the weekend

Room Tip: have a room in main hotel not the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the "Devonshire hotel", we had a great break, entertainment was the BEST I have ever seen in any hotel, It was a "Comedy weekend", we have never laughed so much, the guests were all up for a good time which made it even better, although one moaner tried to spoil it and failed badly. IF you want a good friendly hotel with great staff then this is for you. Ken.

Room Tip: I love the Annex at rear of hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our 3rd visit to this hotel and we have enjoyed it more each time. The staff are the hotels best asset, they were all helpful, friendly and hardworking.
Evening entertainment was just great 'comedy weekend' everyone had a brilliant time.
Rooms very clean and food was lovely. We shall certainly be going again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

i stayed at this hotel for 5 days 30/09/13 if you want a new contemporary hotel dont stay here,if you want a great character hotel excellent food good service coach travel included at a fantastic price this company is tops.
most of there guests have been with this company many times some taking four plus holidays a year(this was my second holiday)i find it hard to fault although you will always get some people expecting a royal suite for a pittance,good work daishs hope to see you again.
c hendy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest, thanks for your fair and true review of our hotel, when you read a review like this you know that the person writing it is a person that is happy with life and a holiday is a moment for people to go away and enjoy their time away from home, and in the most part that what most of our guest do well, go away have some fun, meet likeminded people and go home happy. Thank you sir you are very welcome to return anytime.

With all our love at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned from the Devonshire Hotel, really disappointed, we are not fussy people, however our room was located in the annex, which they call the Lodge, dirty, damp, very creaky floorboards, rotten windows, furniture very old, beds very uncomfortable, and my pet hate, a sink in the bedroom, and not the bathroom. Read reports saying "stay in the lodge", DONT. You have to go outside, and when its pouring with rain, its not funny. The resident chap that calls Bingo is awful, he just wont get on with it, keeps waffling between numbers. Acts Ok, seen better. I prefer the Daishes Hotel on the Isle of Wight, Newquay and Bournemouth. Far superior.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main Hotel and not the Lodge, these rooms need to be re-furbished badly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmajane770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

I am sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations, but i would like to point out one or two facts which the guest has not mentioned in their review. The holiday was originally priced at £189.00 which included coach to and from the West Midlands and 4 night’s dinner bed and breakfast. The guest picked up on a mail shot that was sent out a week before arrival which was selling some cancelled rooms at £149.00 the guest rang the booking office and was complaining about the price drop.
In the end the sales office decided against company policy to refund the difference but on the understanding the guest lost their booking requests and was to take one of the cancelled rooms.
The guests were given room 55 in our lodge as this was a cancellation, on arrival the guest make it clear she didn't like being in the lodge, by the next morning the guest had found a hand full of things she was not happy with including towels and window needed cleaning, all their issues were done there and then which the guest was thankful for. she then went on to other things which didn't meet her approval, this included Simon our entertainment host who does a quiz and the bingo which 99% of our guest love, i am sorry if he was not your cup of tea, but many find him very funny and that’s why they ask for Simon when he is not here. The rooms in the lodge are as clean as the other rooms in the hotel, some of the rooms may not have been updated yet but plans are afoot to start there next year, many guest like the lodge as it’s away from the entertainment.
in review of this review it should be noted that if you want the last minute prices then you should be a little flexible, in the words of the reviewer above, don't expect a royal suite for a pittance, if you do your expectations will not be matched, we offer very good value holidays for those that understand value for money including the dreaded VAT which we should remember is 20% of the cost of the holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing