We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Room was lovely clean warm and well looked after, waiter staff in dining room work very hard, very pleasant and quick service, however food was very poor not enough to eat quite disappointing really I had to buy food from the town to eat instead of the meal I paid for on one occasion, breakfast was cooked for the borrowers, think the eggs were from a quail, one rasher of bacon one quarter of a slice of bread of fried bread, one sausage , and a tablespoon of beans , tea and coffee terrible. Receptionist helped last night with bingo, very uninterested, yawning and on her mobile phone with legs crossed on the chair, no smiles no intersection with guests looked quite bored. All to her staff lovely helpful and friendly, due to the rations and quality of food won't to going again. Torquay beautiful , will be going there again but different hotel

Room Tip: Stay in the devonshire lodge which is at the back of the devonshire hotel and part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joystar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

thank you for your review, sorry you had to get personal about our staff, our head receptionist was helping with the bingo, at the time she was not calling the numbers so was passing the time until she went to collect the wining tickets. the food amounts suit most guests but not the guests that like American size portions or all you can eat. sorry about that. Our Guest can always ask for more its no problem.
thank you for coming anyway.

Devonshire Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Arrived by coach to Tinsel and Turkey first weekend in November. The hotel looks as though it has undergone some refurbishment and upgrading. I go along with majority of the other reviewers that it is good value for money, the staff are very pleasant, the food is wholesome, portions are adequate, dining staff work hard and are obliging (didn't get the waitresses name but she was serving the tables near to the windows) and was always smiling. We had a very nice large twin bed room with a well proportioned bathroom, it was clean and looked in good condition. Having stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, spaced over several years, I can say that it has been improving all the time.

Nigel the General Manager was very welcoming and resolved a minor problem the same day that it was reported, I can remember him when he was a waiter, that's several years ago now!! then he went on to be Restaurant Manager. He has been with Daish for a long while and has heard it all before and that makes him a very good Manager, he also responds well to the TA reviewers.

Simon, the 'entertainments manager?' is like 'Marmite' but that is his job, to entertain, not an easy thing to do night after night, some people are deadly serious about their bingo others just play it as something to do. Some of the jokes are old but then the main entertainment can be repetitive as well.

The hotel being up the hill can be a bit of a problem to the oldies like us but we managed, just take your time, going down is a lot easier than going up but it's easier to get a bus going up, especially if you catch it in the town, your ahead of the queue at Debenhams then. No buses from the hotel on Sunday but the main routes do run a (restricted!) service, so it's walk or Taxi, I believe it is £3 to the Harbour.

Apart from the original Daish Hotel we have been to them all over the years and have generally been happy with them.

We will be back again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Cannot fault the Hotel The room large with good facilities and recently redecorated.. The food was very good and as a vegetarian I was well catered for. Above average entertainment. Hope to return again when possible
Jim Dean, Kingswinford

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

just back from a wonderfull 6 days with daish holidays..... devonshire hotel... we had room 37 no faults at all...chaimbermaid looked after us very well.....food was ok. but if you want more just ask....service was a bit slow at times but hotel was full..hotel was nice....only problem was the hill up to the hotel...but there is a bus service that runs till 5-30 from the hotel..for us it was a 10 min walk to torquay harbour...and 15 back up the hill. there is a bench half way to rest if you need to...imperial hotel half way down the hill you can use there swimimg pool for a fiva a visit...entertainment was good...and the beer was ok too...all in all very nice stay....9/10 we will go back agian...

Room Tip: ask when you call them..... if you book on the internet you get 10 quid off each person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyd1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at this hotel. Just returned from my latest stay. Was made very welcome as usual - lovely to see a lot of the same faces among the staff. Clean and comfortable rooms and good choice of meals including a vegetarian option at each evening meal time. Big thanks to the Manager, Nigel, and his team for their hospitality. I shall return - soon I hope!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

well our room was very big single and double beds tea and coffee making facilities nice room
the only down fall in being in room 73 was the walk from reception corridors more corridors stairs and more stairs not suitable for the elderly
only one niggle with the room the water ran very slowly
weekend was brilliant the entertainment was fantastic the food was ok but could have a lot more veg breakfast could be improved but over all was ok
the postion of the hotel is on a hill but the bus stops right out side so all you free bus passes were happy the staff on reception could have been more cheerful enjoyed the weekend

Room Tip: have a room in main hotel not the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the "Devonshire hotel", we had a great break, entertainment was the BEST I have ever seen in any hotel, It was a "Comedy weekend", we have never laughed so much, the guests were all up for a good time which made it even better, although one moaner tried to spoil it and failed badly. IF you want a good friendly hotel with great staff then this is for you. Ken.

Room Tip: I love the Annex at rear of hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing