We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our children enjoyed the WII. entertainment ok. Drinks reasonably priced. Food ok. room ok. staff very good. Other guests very friendly which was good too. Would stay here again. Torquay is hilly so people with difficulty walking would need a car/bus/taxi or could use the excursions which seemed good value

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KingCharlesI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

thank you for your your lovely review, we would love to see you you again soon.

all the best

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
There are newer reviews for Devonshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 5 days here recently, the staff were reasonably friendly & helpful and the rooms were very clean and quite big, we found the food poor and it was served very quickly, probably to get on with the evening bingo and entertainment. The sandwiches in the packed lunches were dreadful. However we did have fun as we went with friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 157LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are sorry if the service at the hotel was alittle quick for you, we only take plates away when you have finished. i would not agree the food is poor, the food is always average rated on questionaires at 4.5 out of 5 which is very good, i am sure with the best chef in Torquay you still wouldn't please everyone. We are happy you enjoyed your holiday anyway and thank you for coming.

regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights week 12th-16th Feb we had a good time enjoyed the food staff were friendly entertainment was good also had a game of bingo for a laugh. Slept Well must have been the sea air and it was quiet in the hotel as I am a very light sleeper.. okay so its basic but what we paid was a very good price and that included the coach to get there. Also had a laugh on the coach with the other passengers, I don't think you can get a better price then you get from Daish's Half Board and Coach to get to the hotels.. We are looking into taking my mother-in-law next time I'm sure she will like it there just as much as we did. Well Done....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellings17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

hello again and thank you for taking the time to write your great review. come back again soon.
love from Nigel and the Team at the Devonshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent 5 days at the Devonshire in May 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. I can't fault anything about the hotel except for the room we had. The food was excellent and plenty of it - my hubby who has an American appetite certainly never complained! The entertainment was good and so was the company. I did have the impression that many guests had been there many times before and knew the ropes so to speak. They all seemed to know the best rooms to book anyway.

As I said only faulted the room. This wasn't because there was anything wrong with it by way of cleanliness, hot water or anything to do with the facilities, no it was simply not big enough for us. I'm disabled and a very poor sleeper so most of the night I'm sitting up reading, watching TV etc. The room was too small to do this without keeping my husband awake too. I've forgotten the number of the room, but it was smaller than the average motel room. The shower wasn't big enough for me to use, never mind for my hubby to help me as my carer.

When I booked this break I'll admit that it was at a reduced cost that I'd picked up from a magazine ad and as the ladies in the booking office discretely didn't say that beggars can't be choosers! Hence we made no fuss about things. Since then we've thought about coming back for another holiday and have almost got as far as booking on a couple of occasions. BUT what I cannot work out is that when I try to book I'm told that things I'm requiring cannot be guaranteed. So if this is the rule...then how do other people manage to book exactly the room they want if things aren't "guaranteed"? We almost booked for last Christmas but again were told that things aren't guaranteed. Well to be honest we don't want to spend the best part of £800 on a 4 day holiday and not be guaranteed that I'm able to get into the shower!

Room Tip: There's no choice of rooms. Officially.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EsmeraIda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and your comments raised, we are able since the begining of this year to take booking direct at the hotel for any tour , we are also able to book christmas and new year and have your room allocated upon booking, we do have a mix of rooms some big some small this is the way the hotel was designed when converted in the 1930s. As you have been with us before we would welcome you to now book direct with Abbie on our reception, she will be able to to go though all the rooms with you to make sure the room you want is the room you get. just call Abbie on 01803 291123 if she is not here at the time you call she will ring you back.
please book again.

Regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A really enjoyable trip spent with a group of friends. The Hotel staff are very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable the food is plentiful and the entertainment is excellent. The entertainments Manager, Simon, does a really good job every evening running a short bingo game, then introducing the entertainer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigga93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi, and thank you for you great review, i just had a lady on the phone reading your review, and on the strength of that she booked up. thank you.
hope you will return next year.

regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Returned homeThursday another great stay at the Devonshire .Everything was super.Food well cooked and presented good choice and sevice.Rooms spotlessly clean thanks to Rita and team.All staff friendly polite and helpful Simon had every one in fits of laughter as usual and the entertainment was first class.Hoping to visit again soon Derek B

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi Dee and Derick,
thank you for your nice review, it was a pleasure having you here again this year, if fact new year isn't the same without you. thank you for your help as well, without Mrs Devonshire being here at new year it just wouldn't be the same.
love to you both forever.

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have just paid my second visit to The Devonshire this year and once again had a fab time. The food and service you cannot knock.....Kelvin our waiter was once again brilliant. Simon is a legend and a comedy genius. Can't understand how anyone could complain about his unique take on calling bingo.....but you can't please all of the people all of the time! Not only can he make bingo entertaining but he can multi task and use a plunger to sort out my flooded bathroom. Looking forward to coming back next year. Many thanks Nigel, Simon and all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

hi and thank you so much for writing your review. we would love to see you again soon.

all the best.

Nigel and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,947 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#13 of 87 in Torquay
880 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing