We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We shall return"”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our first trip to this hotel, had read reviews before setting off, so were hopeful they were genuine. we were greeted by Simon, and shown to our room, a large very clean, comfortable room,everything we wanted was at hand and the tea & coffee supply was topped up every day.
Food was terrific, with good choices, and loved the themed nights, the staff are all friendly and helpful,and keep the hotel spotlessly clean. The entertainment every evening, was great, as was Simon with his wit keeping us all amused, This hotel is well positioned for visits to various attractions, such as The model village, Bygones, Cockington, along with visits to other coastal resorts. The hotel runs trips out to various places, not that we used these but plenty did. As we said at the beginning, "We shall return".

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i here you are coming back for Peggy's birthday in June, this is ready good news.
regards

SEE YOU SOON

love NIgel and the team and the Devonshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Before you read any further on this review do keep in mind that a 5 day half board holiday including transport is from £99. Our driver was I hour late collecting us as he had got to Arundel before the office informed him he had to go back to Worthing for a pickup which was not on his list! We booked three trips out, two of which were cancelled. One reason for a cancelation was that the coach had broken down. We found out the next day that this was not the case. The reason was driver’s hours. We could not understand why they felt the need to lie to us all. Some of us had to wait a day for our money to be returned for the cancelled trips as they said they had run “out of money”. The broacher states in several places that they serve “GOOD HOME COOKING”. This was not true. On our first night the carrots and new potatoes were tinned! And things did not improve. The hotel stands at the top of a hill, which is quite steep getting back but there is a regular bus service both ways. Our room was very basic. Very tried décor and furnishings. If you wanted a shower you had to run it for at least 10/15 minutes. The staffs were all very friendly and helpful. The manager was a lovely man, very entertaining.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCJSMGBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest, after reading your review we would like to correct a few facts as i feel some of your comments are untrue and frankly unfair.

1. We do not use tinned vegetables in our hotel the potatoes are fresh mids (mid-season) and are rumbled to remove the skins that’s why they look smooth.
The baby carrots in question are frozen as are the pea's most if not all guests are happy with this as part chose of mainly fresh and a little frozen, this is when paying such low prices in off peak months (80 for four nights including transport and meals with entertainment after the VAT is paid.

2. It was with regret we had to cancel one trip because this was due to the coach breaking down and unavailability of a driver, it seemed that this lady was not happy with the reason given so she went to the travel office and spoke to a booking agent who didn’t know the reason the coach had been cancelled, she gave her a probable reason for the cancelation, using this information the guest proceeded to call us liars. (Wrong)

3. When booking at a discounted rate to those who paid full price, it’s natural to assume full price guests will get the better rooms surely anyone should understand this. We are not talking £80 per night here just £25 including breakfast dinner and entertainment. Room 45 (double room free upgrade from single for this guest) the room is basic but it’s very big bright and warm.

We do have updated rooms but these go to full price paying guest. As you can see from our ratings this kind of low review is the exception to the rule.

Thank you for coming anyway.

Devonshire Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Have today returned from my latest short break at The Devonshire. I have lost count of the number of visits there now. A lovely friendly hotel just up the hill from the pretty harbour in Torquay. Great staff make this place - all so friendly and helpful. Good choice of evening meals every day - including veggie for those who prefer. Would certainly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello valued guests and thank you so much for your nice review, it was as it always is a pleasure welcome you and the girls to our hotel, new time you come is a birthday of one of you, so we will ensure a party of a stay for you..

see you soon


ALL THE BEST.

Nigel and the devonshire crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have recently returned from my third visit to The Devonshire and once again loved every minute of it. Nigel and his team go the extra mile to make sure that everyone enjoys their stay.
The food, cleanliness and service is second to none. Rita and Emma were my restaurant servers this time and both were really friendly and very hard working. Simon was as ever very entertaining and funny and kept me very amused. Good luck with the London Marathon Simon.
Really looking forward to my return trip on the 13th April.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

hi and thank you for this great and wonderful review, it all was a plessure looking after you here at the Hotel, please come back so we can do it all again.

regards and thanks


Nigel and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our children enjoyed the WII. entertainment ok. Drinks reasonably priced. Food ok. room ok. staff very good. Other guests very friendly which was good too. Would stay here again. Torquay is hilly so people with difficulty walking would need a car/bus/taxi or could use the excursions which seemed good value

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KingCharlesI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

thank you for your your lovely review, we would love to see you you again soon.

all the best

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 5 days here recently, the staff were reasonably friendly & helpful and the rooms were very clean and quite big, we found the food poor and it was served very quickly, probably to get on with the evening bingo and entertainment. The sandwiches in the packed lunches were dreadful. However we did have fun as we went with friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 157LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are sorry if the service at the hotel was alittle quick for you, we only take plates away when you have finished. i would not agree the food is poor, the food is always average rated on questionaires at 4.5 out of 5 which is very good, i am sure with the best chef in Torquay you still wouldn't please everyone. We are happy you enjoyed your holiday anyway and thank you for coming.

regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights week 12th-16th Feb we had a good time enjoyed the food staff were friendly entertainment was good also had a game of bingo for a laugh. Slept Well must have been the sea air and it was quiet in the hotel as I am a very light sleeper.. okay so its basic but what we paid was a very good price and that included the coach to get there. Also had a laugh on the coach with the other passengers, I don't think you can get a better price then you get from Daish's Half Board and Coach to get to the hotels.. We are looking into taking my mother-in-law next time I'm sure she will like it there just as much as we did. Well Done....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellings17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

hello again and thank you for taking the time to write your great review. come back again soon.
love from Nigel and the Team at the Devonshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing