We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here from the 17th of April to the 21st, Had a lovely time, the food was very good and also the entertainment. The hill was a bit steep to walk back up to the hotel, but as we are fairly fit it didnt pose any problems for us, if you couldnt manage to walk it, there are buses to take you back. In the town there are plenty of buses that you can catch outside of Debenhams that take you to several places like Paignton Brixham or Newton Abbot.You can also catch the ferry from Torquay over to Brixham for £2. return or £1.00 one way which is very good value.
Also there is a nice coastal walk you can do if you like walking .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

thank you for this nice review, reading it i see you are peaople that love time away and love to once there just to get out and enjoy it, well done, thanks for coming please return when you are free.

regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for the price. Good food from an a la cart menu with fresh ingredients rather than frozen. Efficient service from friendly dining room and bar staff.
Excellent entertainment every evening by talented artistes.
All the rooms are comfortable and the hotel is well kept and very clean.
I would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Crandoleara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for coming. really hope to see you again very soon.

lots of love

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, good value for money, food and dining service very good. Chaos at reception on our arrival. However, you may not get what you arrange when making a booking.
I wrote to complain about not getting the room as arranged when I made the booking, having explained our needs. I had no response to 2 letters, and I followed up with phone calls which got me nowhere, in fact I had the phone put down on me ( I was not abusive). Obviously it is not Daish's policy to be concerned about guests with a complaint or deal with correspondence once your holiday is over. Absolutely extreme poor guest relations!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renees35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Beware of christmas Past.

To be a manager and not to learn from your lessions would be wrong, last christmas arrivels were a nightmare thanks to nearly all guest requests for lower floors and walkin showers, it clearly stated on their comfirmation that requests are not guaranteed, but this situation of having any guests unable to get to their rooms is not good for them or staff alike, therefore from this year room allocation is being done at the time of booking, so Abbie is calling all booking guests so we can plan better for this year which i am happy to say is nearly full already. i am sorry to the two ladies that came and were not on the ground floor as requested, but they were able to go via the lift which i am sure they did. sorry that the Travel office didn't get back to you, you are welcome to call the hotel and ask for Nigel and i will see what i can do.

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well we have just returned form a four night break at the Devonshire Hotel, Torquay. What can we say? Well let me begin: We arrived at around 2pm and approached reception to a warm welcome and were given our keys and directions to our room, and were asked if we would like our luggage taken up to our room for us, we declined and we said we could manage and were given accurate directions to the rear of the hotel to make the entry easier for us. We were allocated a family room in the devonshire lodge adjacent to the rear of the hotel with a security entrance, always a bonus and on entering our room, we were so pleased, A delightful, large bright and airy room, a double and two twin beds, 2 vanity Sinks and ample storage!!!! Draws and wardrobe space galore! Ample Tea, Coffee Milks provided. Plenty of fresh clean towels, heated towel rail and bath with shower over! We were allocated our dining table at 4.30pm, which we kept for the duration of our stay. Gorgeous Bright Dining room, Excellent service, great selection of meals and our 6 Year old daughter was catered for on every level, as a picky eater they made sure she always had something she would eat,( Thank you Kelvin!) Rooms cleaned to a high standard every day with fresh towels daily. Comfortable cocktail bar, we cant comment too much on the entertainment as we were exhausted after our exploring of the English Riviera during the day, so we retired to our room with a flat screen tv and ample digital channels. Computer access is provided free in a sitting room at the front of the hotel if needed. For the price we paid, totally overwhelmed on all levels by the standard of comfort and service. On arriving home, my daughter asked when can we go there again??? If she's happy, we're happy, so thank you Nigel, Eric, Kelvin, and all staff that made our stay a special one, We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Don M, thank you so much for posting a lovely review, i am sorry i didnt get to speak with you at the time of your holiday, but it is so nice to see you had a lovely time with us, here at Daishs holidays we thank you for coming and when you are ready to come again just call the hotel and ask for Nigel OR Abbie and we will get another great deal for you.

see you soon.

love from Devonshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Devonshire Hotel is owned by the Daish's holiday group and so is frequented by coach parties, although it is open to independent travellers. During our stay there were customers from age 3 to 90 plus. There were several kinds of live entertainment each night - a comedian who acted as a compere throughout dinner, quizzes, cash bingo and live music. Coach excursions were available on most days. Loan travellers were well catered for and the level of camaraderie was a matter of personal choice.

I've marked this hotel so highly for several reasons: - great value for money, lovely food including fresh vegetables, hearty puddings, reasonably priced bar, clean and comfortable rooms, good choice of TV programmes. The friendly staff team seemed to genuinely care for the guests. The manager had also lovingly documented the history of the hotel in a DVD. As I've already hinted it is an elderly aunt of a building, with all of the idiosyncrasies that implies.

Location wise it is high above the Torquay seafront, close to the spectacular Daddyhole plain. There is ample parking and buses run during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and specify if you need to avoid climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lone-opine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello Sir and thank you for your elegant review, it is noted that you are a veteran when it comes to trip advisor and it is of the opinion of many that your review will be a fair one, Here at the Devonshire we always want to make our guest feel special after all its your holiday, your fun and our service to you.
top review thank you.

regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break at the Devonshire Hotel and must say it was very enjoyable.It was the first time we have stayed at this Hotel but we have stayed at many other Daishes Hotels and once again we were not dissapointed.The room was really good and clean , we would certainly request this room again next time we go.food was excellent and staff really pleasant.Entertainment very good
The Hotel is situated at the top of a hill but this did not present to much of a problem as the buses were quite frequent and if you are fit you could always walk.
Given the cost of this holiday complete with transport to and from the Hotel we thought it was excellent and really good value. The Chollo;s

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thechollos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest of the Devonshire Hotel, it was a real pressure having you here at our friendly warm hotel, your presence will always be welcome so we hope to see you again.


regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Last week we spent five days in this hotel after making a very last minute booking for a five day break which included transport. The price charged was in our opinion so reasonable that we set off with low expectations of the hotel but determined to enjoy ourselves whatever. The journey was long owing to the unnecessary delays on the coach but we accepted that mistakes happen and got over it. On our arrival at the hotel we received a warm welcome and were quickly allocated our room. Before settling in though we were asked to go to the restaurant in order that we could choose a dining table which would be ours for the duration of our stay. I was a little disappointed that we were unable to have a table for two owing to our late arrival. Fortunately we shared the week with a very friendly couple. Our room was not very large but was totally adequate with lots of storage space and frankly for the price paid we could not have expected more. It was clean, we had plenty of hot water and there was also plentiful tea and coffee. Oh and most importantly the bed was comfortable too. A minor niggle for us was that room 22 is just at the top of the first flight of stairs and on the evening that we opted for an early night we could hear the entertainment just as loud in our room as we could in the restaurant! Luckily the entertainment does end at a reasonable time so we just accepted that late bookings do not get to choose the best rooms. We found the restaurant extremely good for this type of hotel. There was a good choice of dishes and our meals were served piping hot by a waiter who could not have been more friendly and helpful. I believe his name is Kelvin? We were impressed that breakfast is also served, unlike the morning bunfight at the buffet which is becoming the norm for hotel breakfasts. The entertainment was a bonus as we felt that we were receiving great value for money without entertainment. I hate bingo but realise that many were enjoying a pre caberet game each evening and all credit to Simon for trying to bring some fun into it! For those not wishing to indulge in quizzes and bingo there are plenty of comfortable lounges to relax in whilst waiting for the evening entertainment to begin. On the whole the entertainment was enjoyed although we did find that on one evening it was dire, but each to his own. That is how we came to be hearing it from our room after opting out! We found that five days was not enough in the area of the hotel as there is so much that can be done from Torquay. We used local buses and found them very good. The Gold service to Dartmouth, which can be picked up outside Debenhams, is a lovely way to travel through the Devon countryside. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed last week. Hopefully our first holiday with Daish will not be our last. Perhaps next time we can find a quieter room? Thanks to all concerned for the efforts put into giving a couple of oldies a good time!

Room Tip: Room 22 can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamD971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello and thank you for coming to the Devonshire hotel, we are a family run hotel with the same management since 2004. we pride ourselves on the friendliness and welcoming manner from our staff. we are improving the rooms all the time but as there is 73 it will take time to get round them all. if you would like a noice free room them request room 5 or 7.

thank you for coming

hope you will be back.

regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
897 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing