We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devonshire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$135
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$203
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
488
365
100
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
488
365
100
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillmanager nigelandy oakleybus serviceself driveour waiterthe hotel car parkgreat holidaydining roombar pricesevening entertainmentbus passturkey and tinselshort breakmain buildingcoach holidayvisited this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 992 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was a group organiser to which from the feed back I got was that all enjoyed oue week in May 2014. The concensus from all was as my header. The staff were always very pleasent & friendly & when required very helpful, even changed matressess & provided more pillows & towels when asked by my group, provided mor The breakfast & evening meal was always excellant, good veriety and choice. The hotel was also keep in z very clean & tidy state. A great hotel, only one draw back was the location, if you're like me that likes to take a stroll, early morning & evening then the hill is probably to much for those that have any disabilities, however during the more socialable hours of the day there is a short bus journey to the harbour, the bus picks up & drops of outside the hotel. There are also day trips orgaised around the area for a small additional fee, worth the time if you are staying more then a few days. This is now my second group booking with Daish and going on the previous trip as well, will not be the last. Well done & many thanks to all at the Devonshire, we will be back sonmetime in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front above reception & restaurant or in the lodge area are my groups recommendations.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 712Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Group leader and thank you for taking the time to write your review, we do remember your group and we must say one of the finest groups we have had for some time, all seamed happy from the feedback forms which did appear that all had enjoyed themselves. we do hope you will return to us or any other great Daish's hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this was our second holiday at the Devonshire hotel and it wont be the last , nigel the manager and his staff do a wonderfull job at making you feel welcome , the room is cleaned daily ,tea coffee etc topped up daily in your room ,very good meals ,table service very good ,and the entertainment in the evening is also very good ,I must say simon is very good at his job at the Devonshire a very nice and also a very funny man he will have you in stitches laughing ,they also put on some good coach trips to go on ,we went by daish coach picked up on time and very comfortable , allin all we had a great time at the Devonshire ,top marks .thanks will and chris bowen, ip1 postcode

Room Tip: never had a bad room..
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank master4953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Bill and Chris, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and things your enjoyed during your stay, I have passed on your regards to Simon for which he was very appreciated. Simon sometimes gets close to the knuckle with his jokes but his role is to make the guests laugh which he does well.

hope you return soon

all our love

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Third visit 15th June for 5 days - everything at hotel was excellent - food, service, staff, room, entertainment - and the sun had got its hat on. Torquay ideal, with variety of places to visit, all within easy reach by bus or boat. Want value for money, then try it - don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Leave it to the staff.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LeeCannock_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we are happy your stay at the Devonshire and Torquay was enjoyed by all.

thanks again

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Friendly , friendly, friendly.
Sums up the hotel and staff.
Allocated table on arrival so all meals, breakfast, dinner are guaranteed with no rushing for seats etc a fabulous idea. You arrive and place waiting for you all set.
Meals wonderful. Choice of 3 and quantity very good, with extras if desired.
Day trips suggested which you can take or not at very reasonable cost.
Staff fantastic. We had same waitress the whole time and she was wonderful, Bar staff great.
Bar prices very good for a hotel I was very impressed that we were not overcharged for drinks as other hotels seem to do.
Great value, great service, wish i had known about this place before.
We are coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

thank you for your review, we at the Devonshire are very happy to see you have marked us 5 out of 5, thank you again, hope you will return again soon.

regards

Nigel and the Devonshire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We've just returned from yet another break at the Devonshire and, as always had a super time. we stayed in the lodge ( at our own request ) which Andrea kept very clean and tidy for us and regularly topped up the teabags ( thanks Andrea ). On our arrival we were greeted by Nigel and Simon who recognised us from previous visits.The fact that we were recognised by them both made us feel very comfortable and welcome.On our first visit to the dining room Kelvin our waiter also recognised us and also came to greet us immediately.The fact that we were recognised and greeted so warmly made us feel very comfortable indeed.The food and the service was excellent.
The bar prices are good and the bar staff were also very welcoming and great to chat to.All the staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful and we have absolutely no complaints at all.The reason we use this particular hotel is not only because of the good prices but also the fact that we've met and befriended so many people during our visits.We will most certainly return for another holiday there and would happily recommend the Devonshire to others.Simon,you're a crackpot,we love you,please don't change,Nigel you have a difficult job but you do it wonderfully.My only regret is that I was unable to pass my thanks to the kitchen staff for producing such great meals,another job which is difficult but undertaken most satisfactorily.Nigel,please pass our thanks to them.To anybody reading this revue I would like to say that should you decide to use this hotel you will be made very welcome,all your needs and special needs will be catered for by the very caring staff.

Room Tip: We always stay in the lodge at our own request although it may not suit everbody.It's a separate building which involves a bit of walking to and from.It has steps before crossing outside to the lodge itself.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_L447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Sir,
it gives us the greatest pleasure to read your review, we see you have written it from your heart and your word show your holiday was as good as you expected, you know Sir seeing you and guests like you return time and time again says what we are doing here is a good package which good genuine People like yourself enjoy, on my part as hotel manager I will always do my best to ensure that the staff your meet on your holiday will also be here when you return time and time again because this is the corner stone to again good hotel.
Thank you again, love our chats at reception. see you soon

regards

Nigel and all the Staff you know well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews