We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute weekend break”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My Husband and I decided on a Thursday to try and book a weekend break from the Friday, I telephoned the Devonshire Hotel and found the Receptionist very helpful and booked us in for the next day.

We have a very comfortable room and the meals were very good. We enjoyed the live entertainment and all of the Staff were very good.

We hope in future to be able to good again to the Devonshire Hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the Hotel as it was a last minute booking and the room was very quiet at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Last minute but never to late to have fun. this is the perfect guest for us, happy joyful and they are know value. thank you and thank you again.

Regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

this is the secound visit and as before found the staff most helpfull
room clean (shower on. the small size) food good and plentifulll
i would use the devonshire again your table is alocated on arrival
so no looking for a table for breakfast/dinner janother advantage is
a bus stops outside the hotel for torquay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 27Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for writing your fair and pleasant review, just a note that if you wanted a room with a bigger shower then we do have rooms with bigger walk in shower just request when you book.

thank you again
see you again

Nigel and all the staff at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was a group organiser to which from the feed back I got was that all enjoyed oue week in May 2014. The concensus from all was as my header. The staff were always very pleasent & friendly & when required very helpful, even changed matressess & provided more pillows & towels when asked by my group, provided mor The breakfast & evening meal was always excellant, good veriety and choice. The hotel was also keep in z very clean & tidy state. A great hotel, only one draw back was the location, if you're like me that likes to take a stroll, early morning & evening then the hill is probably to much for those that have any disabilities, however during the more socialable hours of the day there is a short bus journey to the harbour, the bus picks up & drops of outside the hotel. There are also day trips orgaised around the area for a small additional fee, worth the time if you are staying more then a few days. This is now my second group booking with Daish and going on the previous trip as well, will not be the last. Well done & many thanks to all at the Devonshire, we will be back sonmetime in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front above reception & restaurant or in the lodge area are my groups recommendatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 712Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Group leader and thank you for taking the time to write your review, we do remember your group and we must say one of the finest groups we have had for some time, all seamed happy from the feedback forms which did appear that all had enjoyed themselves. we do hope you will return to us or any other great Daish's hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this was our second holiday at the Devonshire hotel and it wont be the last , nigel the manager and his staff do a wonderfull job at making you feel welcome , the room is cleaned daily ,tea coffee etc topped up daily in your room ,very good meals ,table service very good ,and the entertainment in the evening is also very good ,I must say simon is very good at his job at the Devonshire a very nice and also a very funny man he will have you in stitches laughing ,they also put on some good coach trips to go on ,we went by daish coach picked up on time and very comfortable , allin all we had a great time at the Devonshire ,top marks .thanks will and chris bowen, ip1 postcode

Room Tip: never had a bad room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank master4953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Bill and Chris, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and things your enjoyed during your stay, I have passed on your regards to Simon for which he was very appreciated. Simon sometimes gets close to the knuckle with his jokes but his role is to make the guests laugh which he does well.

hope you return soon

all our love

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Third visit 15th June for 5 days - everything at hotel was excellent - food, service, staff, room, entertainment - and the sun had got its hat on. Torquay ideal, with variety of places to visit, all within easy reach by bus or boat. Want value for money, then try it - don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Leave it to the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LeeCannock_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we are happy your stay at the Devonshire and Torquay was enjoyed by all.

thanks again

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Friendly , friendly, friendly.
Sums up the hotel and staff.
Allocated table on arrival so all meals, breakfast, dinner are guaranteed with no rushing for seats etc a fabulous idea. You arrive and place waiting for you all set.
Meals wonderful. Choice of 3 and quantity very good, with extras if desired.
Day trips suggested which you can take or not at very reasonable cost.
Staff fantastic. We had same waitress the whole time and she was wonderful, Bar staff great.
Bar prices very good for a hotel I was very impressed that we were not overcharged for drinks as other hotels seem to do.
Great value, great service, wish i had known about this place before.
We are coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

thank you for your review, we at the Devonshire are very happy to see you have marked us 5 out of 5, thank you again, hope you will return again soon.

regards

Nigel and the Devonshire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We've just returned from yet another break at the Devonshire and, as always had a super time. we stayed in the lodge ( at our own request ) which Andrea kept very clean and tidy for us and regularly topped up the teabags ( thanks Andrea ). On our arrival we were greeted by Nigel and Simon who recognised us from previous visits.The fact that we were recognised by them both made us feel very comfortable and welcome.On our first visit to the dining room Kelvin our waiter also recognised us and also came to greet us immediately.The fact that we were recognised and greeted so warmly made us feel very comfortable indeed.The food and the service was excellent.
The bar prices are good and the bar staff were also very welcoming and great to chat to.All the staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful and we have absolutely no complaints at all.The reason we use this particular hotel is not only because of the good prices but also the fact that we've met and befriended so many people during our visits.We will most certainly return for another holiday there and would happily recommend the Devonshire to others.Simon,you're a crackpot,we love you,please don't change,Nigel you have a difficult job but you do it wonderfully.My only regret is that I was unable to pass my thanks to the kitchen staff for producing such great meals,another job which is difficult but undertaken most satisfactorily.Nigel,please pass our thanks to them.To anybody reading this revue I would like to say that should you decide to use this hotel you will be made very welcome,all your needs and special needs will be catered for by the very caring staff.

Room Tip: We always stay in the lodge at our own request although it may not suit everbody.It's a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_L447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Sir,
it gives us the greatest pleasure to read your review, we see you have written it from your heart and your word show your holiday was as good as you expected, you know Sir seeing you and guests like you return time and time again says what we are doing here is a good package which good genuine People like yourself enjoy, on my part as hotel manager I will always do my best to ensure that the staff your meet on your holiday will also be here when you return time and time again because this is the corner stone to again good hotel.
Thank you again, love our chats at reception. see you soon

regards

Nigel and all the Staff you know well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#37 of 85 in Torquay
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#53 of 85 in Torquay
1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing