We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Holiday”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We recently returned to the Devonshire Hotel in Torquay and were delighted to find it as friendly and efficient as ever!

The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the staff as helpful as they have always been.
Special thanks must go to Simon, the assistant manager, who's consistent good humour and love of magic tricks helped to keep my daughter entertained

All the staff were excellent, and could not do enough to help us enjoy our stay. I think the Devonshire is a wonderful hotel, really good value and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in Torquay

We can hardly wait until next years holiday, and are already counting the days!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gillian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Gill, thank you again for coming we love having you here at the Devonshire, the door is always open, the kettle is always on and you are more than welcome to return. thank you again.

regards

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    321
    85
    25
    8
See reviews for
137
494
44
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Been here quite a lot with daishs.
Couldn't fault the hotel, big clean rooms, lovley set out dining room, nice pool and also brilliant food! Staff are always so friendly and happy to help you. Entertainments always been good too, would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bethanyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear former Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your review, i see you came last summer, you are more than welcome to come again, give us a ring at the hotel if you book again and we will do our best to look after you during your stay.

thanks again

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

chairs in dining room could be a bit more comfortable more choice for breakfast to much wasted time after dinner and before bingo and evening entertainment the local bus pulls into the car park only takes two minutes into town

Room Tip: ask for room on lift level lot of split level corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sir, thanks for taking the time to write, your views are very welcome, we do have a quiz during the time between dinner and bingo so not completely wasted, good to have you on board sir. come again

Nigel

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from our first holiday with Daish's and for the price we paid we paid we are more than satisfied. We had a good room and slept undisturbed, despite the hot weather. This is mostly because the hotel kindly supplied us with a fan. The breakfast was perfectly adequate and the evening meal had sufficient choice. Restaurant staff are exceptionally good and very hard working. Although we go out at night,the hotel has entertainment every evening. This was very well received and of good quality. Optional trips are very reasonably priced and the one we went on was very enjoyable. Well done for offering a six day break at a price people can afford. Our only complaint was that you have to queue the first afternoon to be allocated a table for meals. As newcomers this wasn't fully explained to us.

Room Tip: Room 47 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests, thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is a real pleasure to read and we are very happy your holiday was a enjoyable one. with the dining room Irik is now seating from 4.15 until 6.15pm so guests can come down between these times.

thanks for coming
hope you will return

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thank you Nigel and every-one at the devonshire for a very happy week .The spotlessly clean rooms ,excellent food and brilliant entertainment made are break very special .The staff are very friendly and so are the guests who return many times during the year knowing how comfortable their stay will be.I hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: the hotel is at the top of a hill but there are several buses from the car park or pavement just out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank derek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Your comments gives us much pride and helps keep you going when some will try to hurt you for your hard work, here readers you have a couples on the same tour as terrible experience reviewer, walking the same areas of the hotel, eating the same food, listening to the same entertainment, yet one couples terrible experience has to be questioned as unfair because a fair person will talk to your face like this Guest, straightforward, honest and indeed fair, so we are glad your experience was less terrible then past reviewer and happy you were happy because if you were not, you would ask, we would give, then we are both happy again..

miss you until next time

Regards to you both

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly and helpful. Entertainment aimed at the older generation but there's a games room, computer and pool for youngsters.
On top of steep hill, but regular bus service. Food great, hotel clean.
Don't expect 5* but its great for the price. Town not far away and there's plenty of shops, a beach and harbour.
Nice for a little getaway

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaCarisseAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, we are very happy to see you have had a great time, and the value has met your expectations, you are very welcome to return again soon, please feel free to call and rebook your great Daish's holiday

from all at the Devonshire hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited the "Devonshire Hotel" in May this year, we have been there many times over the last couple of years, the staff are outstanding, Hotel nice and friendly, bus pulls up outside taking you down to the harbour. Daish's are by far the best company, with Hotels at Weymouth-Bournemouth- Shanklin (I-O-W),- Eastbourne and Torquay. Try a visit to these to get reasonable prices, good value.

Room Tip: We love the Annexe to the rear of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are all pleased you came and enjoyed your holiday. if there is anything more we can do on your next stay, please ask WE ARE HERE TO HELP.

Thank you again.

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,889 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
855 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#18 of 87 in Torquay
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Property: Devonshire Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing