We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good five day break”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This review is on behalf of my wife who stay here with her Mother: they stayed at this hotel for five days in August, traveled by coach. they had a enjoyable stay, food was a good standard with plenty of choice served by pleasant and helpful staff. The hotel was clean and tidy. Daishs run excursions, they had two full day trips out and they were good too and great value for money. the only small complaint she had is that their accommodation was in the annex, not a problem as such but it looked a little tired although it was clean. overall they thought it was good value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear valued Guests, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here and look forward to meeting you again soon.
love from us all.

Nigel and crew at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
There are newer reviews for Devonshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We go every Christmas to stay there, The Staff are extremely lovely, the hotel is always very clean and tidy, there are lifts to upper floors, a very good on site bar where the drinks are very reasonable. There are buses that stop outside the hotel, where you can use your bus pass if you have one. There is entertainment every night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelacaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear valued Guests, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here and look forward to meeting you again soon.
love from us all.

Nigel and crew at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed one night here as they were fully booked and I can understand why! Lovely refurbished room number 28, a bit on the small side if I'm honest but suited me and my wife fine, obviously I cant comment on other rooms but we had a walk around the hotel for future reference and everywhere looked spotless to me. So disappointed we couldn't stay longer even though Nigel the manager tried his hardest to find us a room. Staff in the hotel, particularly our waiting staff Rita and George were so helpful and work extremely hard, everyone so helpful, efficient and kind. Food good for what we paid and I'm a fussy eater. Entertainment good, young girl singing to start with who was very good for her age followed by a seasoned singer/keyboard player who played well to the audience at the time. Nice bar with very good prices. I would also like to add at the end of my review having read some of the negative comments from some people. As stated we only had 1 night so I thoroughly understand people thinking I cannot comment comprehensively but believe me I'm planning on returning. I guess one can say (especially on the 1 night we stayed) that the entertainment is geared to the older generation but its not a night club its a hotel evidently doing its utmost to accommodate all tastes. Certainly the young girl singer on our night (I believe she was called Abbie) was definitely geared towards the younger crowds. Final thoughts.........I can understand some people complaining if they are big eaters and are used to help yourself carvery meals where they then go on to waste half when they've taken too much. Meal times 8.30am and 6.30pm, not difficult if you've been told that. Children's games room with table tennis, pool, Wi, arcade games etc. We arrived just as a coach party was checking in so we were in the middle of their booking in process, even that procedure was incredibly fast. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear valued Guests, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here and look forward to meeting you again soon.
love from us all.

Nigel and crew at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

From stepping on to the coach in Eastbourne on Sunday to stepping off in Eastbourne on Thursday the whole. Holiday was a great success, drivers, staff in the hotel, particularly our waitress (TINA) everybody was kind, helpful and efficient, because of disablement and health problems certain things were required, everything we requested was done, absolutely 100% customer service from one and all. It would be nice if these holidays could be longer say 7/8 days.

Room Tip: Just request what you need, the staff will meet them as far as possible
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear valued Guests, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here and look forward to meeting you again soon.
love from us all.

Nigel and crew at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

On a bit of a whim I booked one of daishs last minute rooms and coach travel for myself (aged 38) and my daughter (aged 15) after my mom received her usual brochure through the post. Although the room we had in the lodge was a little old fashioned I can't fault it's cleanliness and as we pretty much spent most of the day out and about it didn't really matter about the decor to us. The towels and coffee were replaced every day and beds made. Food was nice enough for what it costs, don't expect Michelin star cuisine, it's cheap and cheerful but was enough to fill us up and perfectly tasty. Our waiter Kelvin was also very efficient, the staff work very hard. The entertainment I have to say was aimed at an older generation, but I was expecting this before I went so was not disappointed about that. All in all a good old fashioned british holiday, would definitely use daishs again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theoldchestnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear valued Guests, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here and look forward to meeting you again soon.
love from us all.

Nigel and crew at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

1st time at the hotel. Staff a1 apart from simon being a sheff utd fan. Food not a la carte. But what do people expect for the price. accomadation fine. Bar prices very good. Met some great people on our stay although they said they couldnt understand us and called us jokingly foreigners. A lot of reviews say this hotel caters for the older generation only. but it seems to cater for old and young as far as i could see. So much so that we are planning on returning next year with our 2 young grand daughters. Overall this holiday could not be beaten in terms of value for money. See you next year.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank trant0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear valued Guests, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here and look forward to meeting you again soon.
love from us all.

Nigel and crew at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have just returned from the Devonshire Hotel, I would just like to recommend this Hotel for it's standard of service .the food was excellent and the waiting staff could not do enough for you,Nigel and Simon were on hand to help plus we had exceptional entertainment in the evenings.There is plenty to do if you want to or just relax by the pool or in the lounge.Our room was most comfortable and the bed great..Best Value for money hotel we have ever stayed in .

Room Tip: Lift to next floor , lodge has large rooms and the room we stayed in comfortable bed and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annec1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear valued Guests, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here and look forward to meeting you again soon.
love from us all.

Nigel and crew at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
880 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing