We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal with wonderful prospect”
Review of Cary Arms

Cary Arms
Ranked #66 of 346 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: US$13 - US$52
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open for lunch and dinner, the Cary Arms is a 5 star inn with luxury accommodation and exceptional panoramic sea-views. Choose from dining outdoors on sunnier days or a cosy table in the inn by the fireside. The Conservatory is perfect for larger parties and can be booked for exclusive use subject to availability. Reservations for dining are always recommended if you are not staying. Lunch is served from 12 noon to 3pm and dinner from 6.30pm to 9pm. If you haven't reserved in advance, we will always try to find you a table but we can't guarantee it. Relaxed and friendly, the lunch menus include a choice of soup and lighter snacks as well as sandwiches. In the evening, dining is more formal and the location very romantic. Menus include classic gastro-inn dishes featuring the best of fresh, seasonal, locally produced ingredients including excellent fish. Great wine list and a choice of local ales. Well-behaved children and dogs welcome. An adjacent car park offers pay-and display parking.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal with wonderful prospect”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a really beautiful place for an evening meal. We ate in the rays of the setting sun overlooking the bay, away from the hustle and bustle. Fresh, straightforward, well-cooked food, good service and peaceful. A real treat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HarrietBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your lovely comments.

We aim to deliver an experience exactly as you wrote it, I think you summed up the Cary Arms perfectly. There is nowhere more idyllic on a beautiful summer night. I'm so pleased to hear your evening was a treat and you enjoyed yourselves with us.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Thanks again.
Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    133
    89
    54
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view, very pleasant staff food ???”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are regular visitors to this part of Devon as we have a holiday home nearby, the location of the Cary Arms is superb for its views and the grounds are very pleasant to sit in for drinks, we decided to visit as it had been quite a while since our previous visit for lunch which i have to say was certainly not of any excellence as the certificate states, my wife had chicken and cheese salad which was certainly not quality food in its appearance it was all stoggy which we duly returned to the kitchen, the chef told the very pleasant waiting staff that he thought that was acceptable in texture and looks which it certainly wasnt and would have been better served as the dog meal than our lunch. The food i have to say used to be fantastic but with the amount that is charged for food and drinks you guys seriously need to address this as we were not the only ones, i had a ploughmans salad that came as a sandwich for over £13 which also went back as did the other persons on an adjacent table and the ploughmans then came back as a ploughmans should be. Come on guys the customer is always right !!!. I had a refund thanks guys but i would rather pay for quality food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments with reference to your recent luncheon visit.
I am sorry to hear that things were not as they should be. We are constantly assessing our dishes for quality and consistency. We have so many positive comments every day from our customers with direct reference to how much they enjoyed our food. All the dishes are prepared freshly every day, using the finest local produce.
By the sounds of things, I think there was a communication issue on the day and I can only apologise that the wrong dish came out to start with.
I hope that this was rectified to your satisfaction. I sincerely hope that you will visit again when you are in the area and I hope you will experience the Cary Arms at its best next time.
We look forward to welcoming you.
Thank you.
Fliss Crosby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely location..that is all”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We visited here last week as two families totalling 9 people..we went outside and sat on the terrace.. there is an area of the terrace that says for residents only..but we asked a member of staff if it was ok to sit there and was informed it was fine...2 members of the party went into the bar to buy drinks whilst we sat at tables full of half eaten and empty plates that hadnt been collected..after 20 minutes at the bar they arrived back with the drinks.(one person serving..3 members of staff just walking up and down behind the bar..no interaction with customers at all.and clearly not helping the one member of staff..that understandably couldnt even manage to smile because he was trying to serve everyone..)tables still hadnt been cleared...the drinks were expensive but the location and and view are perfect so we decided to all have a 2nd drink...whilst waitin again what seemed like forever for a 2nd drink somebody arrived to collect the dirty plates...so by now we had been here approx one hour..sat at tables with the previous occupants leftovers on...the waitress collectin them smiled and took away the plates etc...we were halfway through our second drink when a waitress..although polite..only the messenger... asked us to leave the area because we were not residents...so one and a half hours into our visit and havin spent £56 they expected us to go and stand (because there were no other tables) on a cramped terrace about 1 metre from where we were sitting..i asked if any residents were waiting to sit in the area and was told no but it was their policy...we said we would finish our drinks and then go..but not before..we did make our feelings known to the "messenger" but informed her that we understood it was not her fault..we finished our drinks .and went to leave..but needed to use the toilet beforehand...the toilets are nice.. with nice soft towels...buy didnt appreciate the large smearing of dry blood all over the toilet seat..normally i would not have said anything but after spendin so much money on just 2 rounds of drinks i felt i needed to...the response from the bartender(male) was "we will sort it out" the waitress who had asked us to move came along and said "is there a problem" ...this time not so welcoming as i think ahe thought we were complaining about her..and we were not at all..but i did mention the situation..we left feeling we were not quite "snobby" enough to be seen there..we had intended to have a meal here but with the incident not to mention the extremely overpriced menu ..i actually took a picture of an item on the specials board..tuxedo jacket potato £65!!! we took a stoll back to the beach and bought some very nice chips from the beach cafe..this place is im a lovely location but run by snobs for snobs...of which we are not..would never visit here again..not even to sit on their blood stained dirty toilet if i was desperate..my advice is...take a seat just before the pub..the view is the same...and if u want a drink go elsewhere if money grabbin snobbery isnt your scene

Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments.
I'm sorry you feel that we aren't the establishment for you.
It is summer and we are incredibly busy, whilst we endeavour to clear the terraces as quickly as possible there are challenges juggling this with service of food and beverages. We try to serve guests as quickly as possible. The residents area is reserved for our overnight guests. It is important that staying guests always have a seating area available if they wish to dine or have a drink on their return to the hotel. With three extensive terraces for our other visiting guests there is usually a little corner somewhere to squeeze everyone in.
I have spoken to the member of my team who you refer to as the messenger and in fact it was one of the team supervisors. Charlotte has indicated that she was one of the members of the team behind the bar who were working and serving and not just walking up and down. It is sometimes possible to get the wrong impression, I think the team will all have been busy serving guests in one way or another. She also approached you at the bar to check everything was ok, she was doing her duty as a caring shift supervisor and I have only ever known her to be lovely natured.
I am sorry that our toilets were not immaculate on your visit, however I struggle to see how we are to blame for a customer leaving them in an unpleasant state. We do regularly check them throughout the day but checking every 10 minutes or so in between usage would simply be unfeasible and unrealistic. We do occasionally have to rely on some of our kind guests and customers to discreetly inform us.
We are reasonably priced for our quality offerings of food, service and location and we don't endeavour to compete on price with other establishments in the area. I presume that as you bought a second round of drinks, you didn't feel that the prices were actually too extreme or the setting too unpleasant.
The Tuxedo Spud is a quirky dish, for those who fancy a little indulgence with caviar, it is not representative of our daily menu choices. It is one of many fun ideas that make us as popular as we are. The irony is that it is sat next to our dogs dinner at £5 - a special treat for our four-legged visitors and very popular!
I am a representative of the Cary Arms on behalf of the De Savary family and in no way do we intend to display snobbery. We are a warm, friendly Inn with beautiful boutique bedrooms and fisherman's cottages. We welcome all our many guests and visitors. We do however have standards that we work hard to maintain for the comfort of all.
I can only apologise again that you felt you didn't receive the service you expected.
Thank you.
Fliss Crosby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, service and location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Despite the access down, definitely worth a visit, especially on a pleasant summers night. Lovely location and both the service and food were very good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. I'm delighted you had a pleasant evening.
I hope you visit us again soon!
Fliss Crosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL SCENERY, GOOD FOOD BUT THE VALUE FOR MONEY ASPECT SHOULD BE IMPROVED..”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is also have a restaurant. My husband and I did not stay in the hotel but dined in the restaurant twice.

THE LOCATION AND AMBIANCE: The hotel/restaurant is virtually on the beach. They even have a seal who swims around and apparently visits the restaurant every evening to get the left overs. The restaurant is surrounded by beautiful sea and cliff views. Small tables inside and outside, the thin garden surrounding the restaurant is designed in step- fashion (like a Roman arena) on the cliff. You can also dine on the beach which is sandy. The only point disturbed this scenery was a cliff-top house opposite of the bay. Despite it was far from the restaurant, we could see that the house had been collapsed due to heavy rain and half of the house had tumbled down from the cliff in to the sea.

The décor and the ambiance inside the restaurant is rather pleasant with blue and white nautical themes polished wooden tables and chairs, well-worned wooden floors. It reminds you an elegant version of an old fisherman’s inn.
THE FOOD AND SERVICE: The food quality is good, but the menu is rather limited. The service is much better.

TO GET THERE: The hotel/restaurant is not close to the town centre. You need to get a taxi/bus/ or drive/ It takes 15 minutes drive from the town centre. When you get off the bus you will be on the main road where you need to follow the cliff to get to the restaurant/hotel which is on the beach. If you want to walk from the main road to the restaurant, it follows a very nice but steep path to get there. Alternatively you can go directly to a restaurant by car. There are also buses stops near by the restaurant.

VALUE FOR MONEY? : The service was good. The staff were polite and attentive. The food quality was not bad (although it has a limited menu) but could be better. The restaurant is not cheap.You are in fact paying for the scenery. Otherwise it is possible to get better taste elsewhere.

NICETIES: Not much. No butter/bread pre-dinner, no nuts on the bar, not even a complementary chocolate for your coffee. They should do better.

BOTTOM LINE: Would we go there again? Maybe..

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Many thanks for your detailed review. I have taken on board your points in particular your mention of a limited menu. We do feel we offer a fairly good choice. I wonder if maybe on the day we had been busy and sold out of a couple of dishes. We don't run the menu too extensively because we have our produce delivered freshly every day and our chef team home cook all the choices from our Gastro menu. Too many dishes would compromise the quality of our offering. I hope you will visit us again in the future.
Many thanks again.
Fliss Crosby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cary Arms also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Cary Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing