We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant fun place”

Torquays Dinosaur World
Ranked #13 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Torquay's Dinosaur World is an fun interactive indoor exhibition that brings dinosaurs and their worlds to life! See amazing life-size and scaled dinosaurs, learn about these awesome beasts, uncover incredible fossils, enjoy our family quiz, and even sit on a deadly dinosaur! Whether you are a little dinosaur fan, or even a big one, there's something for everyone to get their teeth in to!
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Went to the free fossil dig on the beach and on to the attraction and had agreat time with my 5 & 7 year olds. Not the highest place but lots of things to do and great for kids to learn and play so don't agree with recent reviews. Very friendly and enthusiastic staff too. Thank for making my little ones feel so special.

Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Karen, many thanks for your nice comments about your visit to the fossil hunt and the exhibition. Great to hear that your little ones had such a good time learning about dinosaurs and playing with our interactive exhibits. Top marks to them for being such good explorers. Thanks again, regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 286 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Was expecting much more being called dinosaur world more like dinosaur shop under average over priced but shop assistant very friendly

1  Thank ShaSha147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear reviewer, sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit. The exhibition may not be the largest space but at 3200 sq feet it is full of amazing dinosaur models and other interactive exhibits so it’s disappointing to hear you call it a ‘shop’. We do have a small shop area at the end of the exhibition, but with over 50 dinosaurs and fossils that visitors can learn about and many different interactive exhibits, including fossil excavation sites and dinosaur to sit on we have many visitors who return again and again. We pride ourselves on creating a fun and exciting environment for our little explorers so it’s great to see that you experienced friendly and attentive service. Apologies again that you didn’t enjoy your visit, regard Toby T-Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

After waiting ten minutes to be served by the one member of staff we were extremely disappointed! Having a dinosaur mad 5 year old with us we've seen a lot of dinosaur attractions over the past few years..... This was basically a shop with some less than exciting dinosaur models in. It took us only 15 minutes to walk around.... There was no imagination or real thought behind any of the displays and the questionnaires they handed out were far to difficult for children ( merely a ploy to make it take longer whilst the parents struggle to find the answers to the questions) we all left feeling disappointed and the adults feeling cheated out of the best part of 20.pounds! Definitely one to avoid!

5  Thank foodmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear reviewer, I’m extremely sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your visit. We put an enormous amount of time and effort into not only the exhibition but also our customer service so that we can give the best possible experience. However, it seems on this occasion that we failed and I apologise again.

Similar to any customer facing environment there can be a surge of business which demands the attention of all members of staff, which is what happened in this instance, so I can imagine how frustrating it would be to have to wait a few minutes to gain entry. Again I apologise. It is also difficult and frustrating for us to see that you didn’t like the exhibition as we have put a lot of time, effort and imagination into the exhibits, something which many visitors appreciate. We have over 40 different high grade made-to-order models such as the 10 foot African Pterosaur, next to an 8 foot long 5 foot high Deinonychus, a 15 foot Triceratops, a 12 foot Dimetrodon, full size fossilised skulls of a T-Rex and Triceratops, and a dozen specially handmade scale models of varying size (1-3 feet). And each scene has detailed information so that visitors can learn about each dinosaur.

The fun ‘family’ dinosaur explorer quiz is a firm favourite with the majority of our visitors who like the challenge of finding some simple facts to answer the questions, and is a good way of combining the learning experience with a bit of fun. The exhibition also has different exciting interactive sections, fossil excavations sites, a craft room and various dinosaurs to sit on to a visit, along with a small shop area at the end of the exhibition.

Visitors have the opportunity to spend as long as they like in the exhibition, but I do appreciate that you didn’t like the exhibition. As such it is a shame that you did not raise these concerns with one of the two members of staff on duty as we would have given you a full refund. Regards Toby T-Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

the guy who ran it was lovely, friendly and was really enthusiastic about dinosaurs especially towards the kids. Well worth the price and was a fun interactive morning with children.

Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Reviewer, many thanks for your lovely feedback. We always love to hear from visitors who have had a good time and it sounds like you took the time to explorer all the different aspects of the exhibition. We also aim to give the little explorers a brilliant experience of the fun and interesting world of dinosaurs and make them feel really special. Thanks again for your review regards Toby T-Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

although they had some stuff to get the kids engaged l thought the place is really small and would like to see more moving things instead of still toys that we have at home, the price is too dear for what they have to offer as well .

1  Thank minnietai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear reviewer, hello and thank you for your feedback and I’m pleased to hear that your children were engaged with the exhibits. We understand that our town centre venue is not the biggest so we focus on the quality of the experience, with high grade made-to-order models with lots of detailed information about dinosaurs, along with the fun family dinosaur explorer quiz, exciting interactive sections, and dinosaurs to sit on. At present in the exhibition, we have 12 full size models of varying size, such as African Pterosaur with a 10 foot wingspan next to an 8 foot long 5 foot high Deinonychus, a 15 foot Triceratops, a 12 foot Dimetrodon, and full size fossilised skulls of a T-Rex and Triceratops. In other scenes we have more than a dozen specially handmade scale models of varying size (1-3 feet) so that we can maximise the space to include as many different dinosaurs and as much information as possible. The only ‘toys’ that we have in the exhibition similar to ones available through retail outlets are in the sand pit, as these are more suitable to the environment and enjoyment. We do not advertise that we have animatronic models, and visitors can spend as much time as they wish touring the exhibition, and we have many visitors who spend 2 hours or more enjoying all the different aspects such as the Explorer Quiz, the fossil excavation sites, the sit on dinosaurs, the sand pit, the craft room, along with the detailed information on all the exhibits. Thanks again, Toby T-Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torquays Dinosaur World also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquays Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing