We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jam-packed with dinosaurs!”

Torquays Dinosaur World
Ranked #14 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Torquay's Dinosaur World is an fun interactive indoor exhibition that brings dinosaurs and their worlds to life! See amazing life-size and scaled dinosaurs, learn about these awesome beasts, uncover incredible fossils, enjoy our family quiz, and even sit on a deadly dinosaur! Whether you are a little dinosaur fan, or even a big one, there's something for everyone to get their teeth in to? Summer Season Saturday 1st April - Sunday 10th September Open every day 11am - last entry 3pm - close 5pm Only £6.95 per visitor (2 and under free)PLUS pick up the Paleo Pass to get FREE unlimited re-entry for 3 months.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jam-packed with dinosaurs!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself and my 3 children aged 4-9 were in Torquay for the day when we stumbled across Dinosaur World! With 2 Veloceraptors outside the children couldn't wait to see what else was inside.
At £5.95 per person it was a reasonable price to pay to see life size models that the children could touch and sit on as well as some fossil excavation and colouring. A quiz was a great activity to encourage learning through the exhibitions although unfortunately my 3 quit it halfway through, but they still received a certificate and with future entry during the summer holidays for only £1, I'm sure they will finish it eventually!
The children really enjoyed Dinosaur World, and it was a great change to pay an entry fee without feeling pressured into additional costs. Even the gift shop was affordable with items starting at 99p.
The staff were really friendly and informative. It was great at the end when the children were asked about the things they enjoyed and what they had found out.
Toilet facilities were down some steep stairs but at least they had some and they were clean.
Rain or shine we will definitely be visiting again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for your kind feedback. We have filled the exhibition with many different aspects so it’s great to hear from visitors who have appreciated the work we have put into making the experience fun, interesting and educational. But the experience wouldn’t be the same for us without the brilliant little explorers who love exploring and who always amaze us with how much they know about dinosaurs, how brave they are to sit on dinosaurs and how excited they are to win their Dinosaur Expert Certificates. Our efforts are rewarded by their efforts so congratulations and thank you to your three children, Regards Toby T Rex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    109
    57
    23
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful couple of hours for any child.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

All exhibitions were informative without being unnecessarily long-winded. Lots of the models were big and solid enough to bear the weight of the excited children for numerous photos. I especially liked the dig in the sand for dinosaur artefacts boxes!! The staff were lovely with everyone-helpful without being pushy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Reviewer, many thanks for your lovely feedback. It is always great to receive such positive comments from visitors especially if they have been brave enough to sit on the dinosaur. Well done to your little explorers. Thank you regards Toby T Rex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Boyfriend obsessed with Dino's!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Mainly aimed at kids, but my boyfriend and I , spent an hour and a half in here! Was fun and full of interesting dino facts and life size models! Bargain entry at £5.95!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dandilionaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. When we set up the exhibition we intentional made it so that visitors of all age could enjoy the experience. For our young explorers there are lots of interactive exhibits like digging for fossils in our excavation sites and sitting on dinosaurs, and for older visitors we have detailed information boards that clearly present in bit size chunks fun and interesting facts about dinosaurs. As such we do have many adult visitors who enjoy reading and learning about these amazing creatures – and most also enjoy sitting on a dinosaur too! Thanks again regards Toby T Rex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Summer holiday”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Loved everything! And my Son thoroughly enjoyed it too. Very interesting and factual but fun at the same time and very hands on. We we're told it was free re-admission the same day too so we we're welcome to come back anytime on that day. Would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Millsbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello, many thanks for your feedback and really happy to hear that you loved the exhibition as we have put a lot of heart and soul into making the experience as fun, interesting and educational for all our brilliant explorers. Many thanks again regards Toby T Rex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good place to take young children”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have 3 children under 7 with us who all enjoyed the experience. It is a small attraction but was filled with exhibits which the children could touch. And also climb on which I thought was really good. There was also the opportunity for them to play in the sand to uncover fossils.
The price was the same for young and old, I therefore felt there should be concession admittance charges.
The staff were very nice and interacted well with the children.

There is no parking but there is a pay and display car park further up the hill. Plenty of places to eat too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for your feedback. We are really happy to hear that you and your children enjoyed the experience, especially the opportunity to touch and sit on dinosaurs and to dig for fossils in the excavation sites. Our pricing structure is a simple flat rate with adults of all ages paying the child entry price of £5.95 not £6.95 as it used to be, so as such we do not offer a further discount. Thanks again regards Toby T Rex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torquays Dinosaur World also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquays Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing