We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but cost a little too much”

Torquays Dinosaur World
Ranked #15 of 65 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Torquay's Dinosaur World is an fun interactive indoor exhibition that brings dinosaurs and their worlds to life! See amazing life-size and scaled dinosaurs, learn about these awesome beasts, uncover incredible fossils, enjoy our family quiz, and even sit on a deadly dinosaur! Whether you are a little dinosaur fan, or even a big one, there's something for everyone to get their teeth in to!
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Good attraction and great for kids with friendly staff on hand. The £5.95 per person is a little over price with what's there but ok if you want to spend a hour

1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear reviewer, thanks for your feedback. Great to hear that you thought the attraction was good and that the kids had a great time. We love interacting with all our brave little explorers finding out what their favourite dinosaurs are, marking their quizzes and of course awarding them the Dinosaur Expert Certificates. Customers are able to visit for as long as they like with many spending 2 hours interacting with all the different aspects of the exhibition. We are one of the cheapest attractions in Torbay, and feel that £5.95 per person is good value for money and equitable to other attractions where visitor time is 1-2 hours. Thanks again Regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jurassic park"
in 18 reviews
"t rex"
in 14 reviews
"quiz sheet"
in 12 reviews
"craft room"
in 8 reviews
"model dinosaurs"
in 7 reviews
"fossil hunting"
in 6 reviews
"great quiz"
in 6 reviews
"drawing room"
in 6 reviews
"dinosaur bones"
in 6 reviews
"interactive parts"
in 5 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 8 reviews
"sand pit"
in 9 reviews
"staff were really friendly"
in 8 reviews
"little boy"
in 10 reviews
"older children"
in 8 reviews
"rainy day"
in 20 reviews
"value for money"
in 24 reviews
Filter

272 - 276 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

South Devon is a lovely area but has never seemed to have enough indoor attractions. This one's a welcome addition. Displays are well put together, and the boards very informative. It isn't massive, but the clipboard with quiz encourages children to spend time finding out a bit more rather than just dash round. They are also allowed to sit on some of the models. There aren't any animatronics, which might disappoint some, but at least it means younger kids don't get too scared. Hope it continues to attract the trade it was getting when we visited - earlier opening might help in this respect.

1  Thank NExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Reviewer, great top hear your thoughts after your recent visit. When we opened 4 ½ years ago we set out to create an exhibition that was a little different than existing dinosaur museums and theme parks so we focused on high quality models and displays, detailed but well presented information accessible for different ages and fun interactive exhibits to allow little explorers the chance to see close up, touch and sit on dinosaurs and fossils. And we have purposely not gone down the route of animatronics because the exhibition space is quite confined in parts and scary enough for many of our visitors as it is. Have a moving dinosaur just a few feet away would be fun for some but terrifying for others. Regarding the opening times we have experimented over the past 4 ½ years and found that our present operating hours have been the most successful. Many thanks again regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have a 16 year old son and 11 year old daughter who are both very enthusiastic about anything to do with dinosaurs. We often find somewhere to visit on holliday all over the UK and I came across TDW while looking at various attractions in South Devon..My wife and the aforementioned two were very happy with the quality of the models and how things had been displayed. We took a lot of photographs, we enjoyed the written notes and everything about it. It's not a bad price for admission, if you're expecting something alive then you'll write a poor review later but for Torquay and for an artistic display that is commendable for the work and enthusiasm that has been given to it: it's worth a visit.

Thank 130mondeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your kind words and we are very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your visit. Our exhibition is full of high quality handmade models bought from all over the world to ensure that we have not only one of the largest collections of dinosaur models in the south-west but, along with all the detailed information, an exhibition of museum status. And it is always good to hear from our many slightly older explorers who still have a passion for these amazing creatures. Many thanks again Regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself and my 3 children aged 4-9 were in Torquay for the day when we stumbled across Dinosaur World! With 2 Veloceraptors outside the children couldn't wait to see what else was inside.
At £5.95 per person it was a reasonable price to pay to see life size models that the children could touch and sit on as well as some fossil excavation and colouring. A quiz was a great activity to encourage learning through the exhibitions although unfortunately my 3 quit it halfway through, but they still received a certificate and with future entry during the summer holidays for only £1, I'm sure they will finish it eventually!
The children really enjoyed Dinosaur World, and it was a great change to pay an entry fee without feeling pressured into additional costs. Even the gift shop was affordable with items starting at 99p.
The staff were really friendly and informative. It was great at the end when the children were asked about the things they enjoyed and what they had found out.
Toilet facilities were down some steep stairs but at least they had some and they were clean.
Rain or shine we will definitely be visiting again!

1  Thank ellie269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your kind feedback. We have filled the exhibition with many different aspects so it’s great to hear from visitors who have appreciated the work we have put into making the experience fun, interesting and educational. But the experience wouldn’t be the same for us without the brilliant little explorers who love exploring and who always amaze us with how much they know about dinosaurs, how brave they are to sit on dinosaurs and how excited they are to win their Dinosaur Expert Certificates. Our efforts are rewarded by their efforts so congratulations and thank you to your three children, Regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

All exhibitions were informative without being unnecessarily long-winded. Lots of the models were big and solid enough to bear the weight of the excited children for numerous photos. I especially liked the dig in the sand for dinosaur artefacts boxes!! The staff were lovely with everyone-helpful without being pushy!

Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Reviewer, many thanks for your lovely feedback. It is always great to receive such positive comments from visitors especially if they have been brave enough to sit on the dinosaur. Well done to your little explorers. Thank you regards Toby T Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torquays Dinosaur World also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquays Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing