We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts that couldn't do enough to help you”
Review of The Netley

The Netley
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Netley
Ranked #117 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hosts that couldn't do enough to help you”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was a pleasant B&B with very friendly hosts who made us welcome and offered us
hot drinks in the lounge once we were settled in.
The rooms were clean and tidy, really loved the lounge with high ceiling and fancy coving.
Nice comfy bed but limited space either side for bedside tables to put a drink ect on.
Could not fault the food and plenty of it, sure the egg i had with my breakfast was free range .
Location was not too far from the town and well within walking distance for the average person.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back there again.

.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteMallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

To Look at this B&B was nothing breath taking. But the service more than compensated for that.
We stayed in July for two nights with family in a second room.
We were warmly welcomed and taken to our room and given a few minutes to settle in then served tea and biscuitson the front terrace. The hosts took note of our tea preference and left some tea bags on our tea tray in the room. So Personal!
We were staying with our six month old baby and they provided a cot for him. It wasn't the typical porta-cot with a wafer thin mattress like most hotels, so having a proper bed made our son have the best sleep of our holiday in the UK, and our bed was so comfortable that we slept well too.
The bathroom was small but very clean and did everything it needed so I'm not going to complain about it. I liked that the basin was in the room though, I've never been a fan of taking a tea kettle into the bathroom to fill.
Breakfast was fantastic. A wide variety and generous servings. Everything prepared well. We had spent the previous two nights in a Crowne Plaza and their breakfast was terrible in comparison.
If we were to ever visit Tourquay again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked two rooms at this B&B and we received a "homely" and informative welcome from the lovely couple who owned it.
They were very helpful and were willing to make changes to the meals as we've requested.

The food was great, fresh locally sourced and they offered generous portions too.

The room was OK, they are trying to make it better with small amenities, tea making facilities etc.
The bed is arguably the most relaxing bed I've slept in. It was so comfortable.

The B&B is ideally located a few minutes away from the busy town centre so it is very quiet.

Parking for 3-4 vehicles onsite.
On the down side, the toilet/shower cubicle was tiny and we were surprised to find a wash basin in the bed room ! (yes, not in the bathroom) Our TV was working whenever it decided to work (almost 50% of the time).

We would definitely return mainly because of their great hospitality!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the sink in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The owners were so welcoming and friendly, our room was clean and spacious and had everything we could possibly need during our stay. The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance to the beach and the town centre. The breakfast provided a good start to our day with more than enough choice on offer. I think The Netley is really good value for money and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFFS
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in the Netley Hotel for three nights over Easter and were very impressed.
The Hotel is spotlessly clean,the owners very friendly & courteous, the breakfast excellent and the tariff more than fair.
If you are looking for a good quality,clean,friendly place to stay in Torquay definately give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PULIS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Good location, about a 10min walk to seafront and a another 10 to the town centre
Good valve for money with a great breakfast, that sets you up for the day

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus-h_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#104 of 150 in Torquay
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#47 of 150 in Torquay
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Netley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Netley

Property: The Netley
Address: 52 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Netley 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Netley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Netley Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing