We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & Lovely”
Review of The Netley

The Netley
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Netley
Ranked #110 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Welcoming & Lovely”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed at the Netley in an en-suite family room. The room had a single bed and a double bed which were both comfortable. The room was spacious and clean. The B&B is located down a quite street so we experienced no noise issues. Parking was not an issue either. When we arrived there was no available spaces in the B&B's off-street parking, but there was plenty of on-street parking that did not cost anything.

The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was delicious.
My only complaint (besides my dad's snoring) would be the en-suite. It is tiny. When you shower you can't turn around without the shower curtain sticking to you. It did the job though. No complaints over water pressure.

I recommend you ask about WIFI when you are checking in because there is no notes in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awkwardkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We were booked in for just two nights end of August this year to see family and friends. A very warm welcome and a pot of tea in the lounge.
The room was small but extremely comfortable , very clean ,towels changed daily.
Breakfast was everything you could wish for ,and hot. The lounge and dining room were very pleasant and clean as was the entrance very welcoming.
I can highly recommend this B & B either for a short or long stay and pretty central also.

Room Tip: Value for money on all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
291 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Last minute decision to stay with friends in the area, so only booked a few days before. Hosts were very welcoming, made us a lovely tray of tea on arrival, served in the loung area ( a useful facility, not many B&B's have), we had a ground floor room, which was more than adequate, wash basin was in the room with shower & toilet in small ensuite, but this was fine, in fact the shower was probably the most powerful we've had in a B&B, was pleasantly surprised to have clean towels daily too. Excellent choice of breakfast, plenty of cereals, fruit, yoghurts plus plenty of cooked options. Only a short walk away from the seafront, makes it's location ideal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenyazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our second visit to the Netley. Brian and Jane were as welcoming as ever. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of July and had the room on the first floor overlooking the terrace with a lovely bay window. Little homely touches in the room with covers on the tables and cushions on the bed. Good choice of cereals (5/6), fruit and yoghurt as well as the good old 'full english' (or a selection if you can't manage it all!) and a bowl of fresh fruit to finish. All completed with tea and toast. A good base to explore Torquay or surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for Room 7 at the front (only has a shower but the room itself is a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apperley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked this B&B quite late as we needed to be in Exeter the following day.

It is a great place. Parking for guests, nice tidy rooms and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

It seems to be on the quiet end of Torquay so we had a nice walk along the sea front and into the main part which was only 10 minutes walk away.

Owners were very accommodating with breakfast as we had to leave early.

All in all, would highly recommend this place as a great place to stay and explore the English Riviera!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wreckless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location if you're coming in on the train, and within walking distance of the seaside, the shops, and various tourist sites. Clean and comfy, lovely fresh breakfast, and coffee and cookies upon arrival! There's a comfy sitting room on the main floor, as well as tables outside if it's not raining... Good value.

Room Tip: My single room was quite small - more than a small suitcase would have been too much. If you need sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lar289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was a pleasant B&B with very friendly hosts who made us welcome and offered us
hot drinks in the lounge once we were settled in.
The rooms were clean and tidy, really loved the lounge with high ceiling and fancy coving.
Nice comfy bed but limited space either side for bedside tables to put a drink ect on.
Could not fault the food and plenty of it, sure the egg i had with my breakfast was free range .
Location was not too far from the town and well within walking distance for the average person.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back there again.

.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteMallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#107 of 149 in Torquay
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
1.1 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Netley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Netley

Property: The Netley
Address: 52 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Netley 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Netley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Netley Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing