We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun in the Sun!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Admitedly, we were lucky with the weather, but we had a fantastic weekend at the Imperial, enjoying the outdoor pool with the most wonderful views over the bay - we could have been in Cannes for all we knew! Breakfast was great with a large selection of food. The staff were great and very helpful at all times. Rooms are in need of a bit of updating, but very comfortable none the less. If you get a chance, ask for a room with a balcony & sea view!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony & sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for your great review, your right on a sunny day lying on the terrace you could be anywhere in the world. (Not that I get anytime to relax out there!). It really does make you appreciate the hidden treasures of this wonderful Country.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    961
    452
    214
    146
See reviews for
492
1,613
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have spent many a happy Christmas and short breaks at the Imperial hotel in Torquay. My last visit was about 8 years ago. I decided to have a short break there this weekend and I was very shocked. Firstly by the £7 daily charge for the car park. The Imperial I knew had very high standards of service, clientele and atmosphere. You were looked after by the hotel staff and made to feel that you were staying in a luxurious 4 star hotel. Beds were turned down at night, breakfast was served and nothing was too much trouble.
I booked in as a single occupant in a premier room. When I arrived no one offered to help with our luggage. My partner then able to stay with me for the first 2 nights. I, but as it turned out we, were put in a room next to the restaurant, overlooked by the guests and surrounded by a dirty and rusting fire escape. Accompanied by the constant noise of the swimming pool air conditioning. The room was drab and tired. I did complain and was moved to a better room the next morning.
However, the standard in the restaurant has fallen. At breakfast you are no longer served, you find a seat, all of which are torn on the back and very tired looking. You get a paper serviette not linen. If you are lucky, you can catch a waiter with a tray that has coffee and tea on and get it delivered to your table. The private dining room is now where the Bain-marie is where the hot dishes are and you serve yourself, after sorting through the plates to find a clean one. The trays of food are the same each morning and then you have to toast your own toast. Finished plates are not taken when finished and left on the table until you leave. This appears to be the main job for the waiters, to clear tables.
The lovely lounge no longer exists. It used to be full of sofas and old wing backed chairs. Now it has round tables with 4 chairs around each. The style has gone. There used to be very good entertainment from different excellent singers that fitted the stylish atmosphere.
There was a smaller Bistro’ restaurant for lighter meals that now does not exist.
The beds are made up turned down, meaning the turn down service has gone. There are no robes, slippers or flannels.
The quality of a once fine hotel, formally owned by Paramount and before that ‘Trust House Forte’, has lost its style and atmosphere. It clearly caters for the coach party who appear totally out of place in the shabby grandeur that is left. The Imperial in Torquay has turned into a hotel like that awful one shown on a recent ‘fly on the wall’ documentary.
I certainly won’t be going back and I am sure the guests that we got to know when we went for several very good Christmas’s won’t be going back, especially if they see it now. The one thing that had not changed is the beautiful view of Torbay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a second or third floor sea facing room. That will help you get over the dissa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
I'm really sorry that you left the hotel with such a poor opinion. Indeed when you last stayed the hotel would have been trading in the five star market. Sadly this market is no longer attracted to Torquay in the numbers to make it viable to operate a 152 bedroom hotel at that level and the rates we would have to charge would exclude a large number of guests who now enjoy our facilities.

I have only been at the Hotel for the last five years so it’s difficult to comment on the past but I believe from some of my colleagues that have long service that we have had a buffet breakfast for many years. I have attempted to increase the selection of the breakfast offering, while improving the overall presentation. I’m truly sorry that this did not meet your expectations.

We are living in very different time to the last time you visited and our intention is to preserve this great hotel for future generations to enjoy.

Thank you for taking the time to write and again please accept my sincere apologies.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just got back from a stay at this hotel . It is now owned by the puma group. The hotel staff are friendly and courteous. The room we had was dated and furniture was cheap- but I had a great nights sleep. Room was clean. Food in restaurant is fabulous. Views over bay make it really special. Unfortunately the health club is tired. The changing rooms need updating , the jacuzzi was broken and you could only go in steam room if you left the door open- as the thermostat was dodgy and it got far too hot! Outdoor pool is ok once you are in it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjhay257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

It's 2 years since we last stayed at the Imperial. The reception staff were much improved and the food at breakfast was much better as well. The waiting on staff were a little hit and miss. Some of them obviously knew what they were doing, but one or two seemed lost! Lovely chambermaids and our room and bedding was very clean. I have to agree that it is time for the hotel rooms to have a bit of a facelift. I really missed seeing the big floral displays that were always such a feature of the hotel. However, as they have only just been rebranded as Puma hotels I hope these small niggles are soon sorted out.

Room Tip: High floors with balcony have the most stunning views both day and night. Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ananddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsussex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed two nights, we were up-graded to a suite, wow we thought!
The suite had excellent views, but it was shabby and needs attention, not just to this room but the whole hotel. The shower you could use but if you were a big person you would not have been able to it was designed so you had to stand as far back as possible, to get some water over yourself, this really needs to be sorted. The sliding doors did not open, and even though it states this is due to maintenance, I think this had been like this for some time.
The breakfast was lovely and hot the first day, with lovely hot plates, the second day it was less hot with dirty cups on the table, tea stains, just needed a good clean.
The hotel chairs in the dinning room and all around needed a general lick of paint and recovering, just a bit of modernising.
These are little picky comments but it all makes a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norahsWsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had recently joned the Puma membership scheme and on arrival were upgraded to a front, sea facing room with a balcony. This was a good start.

The room was large with a 7ft bed. The french windows opened onto a large balcony with sun loungers.The view across the bay was stunning. The day was sunny and everthing was rosy as we relaxed in the sunshine.

The restaurant/dining room has a magnificent view across the bay. It is however difficult to get a table adjcaent to the window as these always seem to be reserved for "special" guests. Still the view from the second or third row of tables is still very good.

This is a nice hotel but if you are expecting evening entertainment go elsewhere. There was nothing. Not even a pianist. totally dead. Very disappointing.

The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good range for all tastes. The evening meal was disappointing with unimaginative food not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

We will stay at this hotel again as the stay is always pleasant. It could easily however be far better if it improves following my above comments

The bathroom was a little dark but the shower was powerful with instant hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room at a level above the reataurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Excellent staff. A wondeful hotel . We had a wonderful view. Prime Location.

Room Tip: Arrived at 5;00pm asked for a sea view, we were upgraded for £30 instead of the usual £50
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing