We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa/ gym areaShabby, in need of total redecoration.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Went to the hotel for a spa day with my daughter, it was so tatty and shabby. The pool is very small, the sauna is very dated and the hot tub felt grubby. The changing rooms were very tatty and seemed unclean. Staff reasonably friendly. Had a fantastic body wrap detox.
We had a unsatisfactory day and were given complimentary back massages to compensate, so we returned to use the gym which is small hot and dated but adequate and have our massages. The staff were indifferent. The massage therapist was running late , didn't apologise and then the massage was only about 20 minutes long not half an hour. The therapist was tired overworked ,as she said , and dissatisfied , which did not make for a relaxing experience. If I had paid I would have asked for a refund. I have stayed in the hotel in the past which is lovely, especially sea view room, but the gym and health facilities truly let this lovely hotel down.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your Spa day. I'm sorry that the facilities did not meet your expectations, more so that we failed on our second attempt. I have asked our leisure club Manager to review your comments with his team as the feed back is generally positive from our guests. The leisure club is complimented by a heated out side pool which does relieve pressure at busy times I'm sorry if this was not your experience.

Thank you for taking the time to review, it’s only through this type of feed back that we can improve.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,963 - 2,969 of 3,017 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have just returned from 5 days at this hotel and wish to report that we found it a very pleasant experience! Having read other reports before we went, I was a little apprehensive, especially when we found our room was below the ground floor reception area! I need not have worried. On opening our room door (No. 43) we were met with a most wonderful seaview and a balcony with loungers. The room was spacious and very clean. Without asking our towels and bedlinen were changed regularly. ALL staff we came into contact with were polite and very friendly. The food deserves special mention - it was beautifully served and very, very good. Well done to everyone at The Imperial. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 43 was very good!! Sea views to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you so much for your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have to accept that every guest arriving at the Imperial has different expectations and demands. Some remember this hotel from its five star days others refer to themselves as regular guests but visit the hotel once every five to ten years. I can fully understand some of their disappointment but in reality the world has changed to such a degree that we simply could not run the hotel in the manner it was run twenty years ago.

We do strive to maintain the elegance of the Victorian era that the hotel was built while trying to provide a level of service that meets the demands of a much faster and in some ways more demanding times. Last year alone over ninety nine thousand guests stayed at this hotel and in the main we believed they enjoyed it.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed recently and we thought the hotel was a really lovely hotel with fantastic views, ideally situated for the town,we had a lovely clean room overlooking the sea, breakfasts were plentiful with lots of variety and replenished regularly. Bar prices were a little excessive but I suppose that applies to all big hotels, would definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10221125MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for you fabulous review, we really appreciate you taking the time to complete it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial in the near future.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Hotel very good, excellent sea veiw room only downside that the doors to the balcony would only open a few inches, notice on the door stated that this was due to maintenance, but they looked as though they had been open for a time. The car parking charge was also a surprise, I have had this at London and major city hotels but did not expect this charge to be applied here.

Room Tip: 4th floor room, with sea view no noise ideal location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marylambr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Imperial, I'm sorry about the balcony but a small number of our balconies have been closed as they require some structural work. We are currently working on resolving this matter, but the safety of our guests will always come first. We do charge car parking and advise our guests on our main web site and also our third party associates.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay at Torquay's Imperial Hotel. From start to finish the quality of service, food, facilities and accommodation was first class. Nothing was too big or too small for the staff and I would recommend a stay here to anyone. The only negative aspect I can think of is the 7 pounds a day car parking charges but this is really knitpicking!

Room Tip: Must select a room with a sea view. It is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puddy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Imperial we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. The team really appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have stayed in this hoel 3 times with our disabled 5 year old. They go the extra mile every time. Some of the furnishings are a little tired, but it only adds to the relaxation when holidaying with children.

Room Tip: The view from sea facing rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay it’s wonderful to read a review from a regular guest. We look forward to being of service in the future.

Thank you

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

my self husband and 3 children enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel, food, staff, facilities were of excellent standard. The was only one issue and this was there was no evening entertainment for the whole week we stayed there. We would return to this hotel in the near future and I hope that there will be evening entertainment.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea with a seaview, breath taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for your great review we really appreciate you taking the time. We did many years ago provide evening entertainment but it did not suit every guest and as a result we stopped doing it. I have set the challenge to our team to come up with some ideas as a result of your comments and we will see what we can come up with for the school holidays.

Again thank you.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 86 in Torquay
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £64 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing