We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in need of a good clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A jewel in need of a good clean”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed at the imperial the week of the 9th-14th 2012. I was given a suite with stunning breathtaking views over the beautiful bay of torquay. That was the best part..the view. The suite was tired faded and dirty. The balconies were under (maintenance). Out of use. the locals said it used to be the best in torbay with porters a consierge and an enviable reputation. All in the past. the hotel needs considerable amounts of money to be spent everywhere to reclaim its grandeur. Its positioning is THE BEST IN TORBAY, The staff are wonderful and helpfull. But the overall appearance and lets be honest a hotel of this class should be re-visited, is at best average. The weather was not kind, but torquay is lovely But where are the locals. Everywhere you turn europeans are taking your orders. A jewel that is in need of a good clean !

Room Tip: High floors offer stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    961
    452
    214
    146
See reviews for
492
1,613
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked into our usual room with patio doors onto a balcony. The view is so wow that you forgive the hotel for its tired rooms. Suffice to say the room was spacious and spotlessly clean leading into a large hall and leading onto a lovely bathroom. This hotel has been taken over by Puma hotels and we were pleased to see a refurbished bathroom. Good to see that changes are already being made - quite an undertaking but well worth it. We will be back in September.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We recently spent 2 days in the Imperial Torquay. The room was small but the bed was surprisingly comfortable and the breakfast was good. The view from the breakfast room is fantastic and staff is friendly. As the weather wasn't too nice, we used the indoor pool for a swim and relaxed in the hot tub. My real problem was the water pressure, no power showers to be found and the water that came from the shower was barely enough to get wet, not good when you are trying to wash your hair. Mine is long and I had to enlist my partner's help to get the shampoo out!
The location is ideal as everything in the town centre can be reached within a few minutes walk.
Unfortunately I left a pair of shoes in the room but the hotel promptly sent them back to me.
Thank you for that!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_aslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We visited the hotel a couple of years ago and found the Imperial to be just as good. It's not a cheap place to stay but we decided to round off our visit to Devon with three nights here as a special treat.

We booked three deluxe rooms, one of which was considerably smaller than the others, however the reception staff let us change it to another which turned out to be even bigger than the other two, so very happy with that. The rooms are quite stunning, good sized with amazing views (see photos).

Breakfast was delicious, with a good range of freshly prepared fruit, pastries, nuts, cereals and of course a full English. The only other meals we had in the hotel was room service, which was very quickly served and tasty, though like most things here not cheap.

It's a good base to explore the town and the area, it's a pull up the hill when walking back from town, but the reward is the amazing views. Although the weather during our visit was changeable, we still managed to relax on the balconies to enjoy the views and the sunshine.

The gardens although tended are a little scruffy, with lots of weeds and fallen leaves - I'd like to see the hotel employ some full time gardeners, the gardens should be immaculate for a hotel of this standing. Otherwise the hotel was very comfortable. It's not the nicest looking hotel from the outside but lovely within, the grand Victorian hallways looking better than last time.

A lovely visit - well worth splashing out on.

Room Tip: If you're paying Imperial prices you have to go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryPheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We've stayed at this hotel before so were unsurprised to have another great visit. We booked a premium delux double, which although not the biggest, was clean and comfortable with a good bathroom and an amazing balcony/view.
Food was lovely - especially the breakfast - taking in again that view from the Regata restaurant. Staff were very friendly (particularly Sam on main reception) - we noted they were constantly working hard to help guests.
In fairness some areas of the hotel could do with a little re-decor, but the building itself is clean and grand. £7 parking is pretty standard for most seaside hotels for parking - some hotels in Brighton and Bournemouth charge £15 plus!

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The major issue that I had was the size of the bed, it was small. I am used to hotels having at least a 5 foot bed. The service was OK but staff were not in abundance. We paid a very good price for the room but if we had paid the normal rate I would not have been happy with the value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Should be called a wedding centre rather than hotel. Room was utterly unacceptable, disgusting. Wardrobe smelled, wallpaper ripped, bathroom has mould & blistered paintwork. Terrible.

It was only the fact we were at someone's wedding and didn't want to cause a fuss, that we didn't complain.

And.........£7 to park your car? What's all that about?

Sticky carpets, not enough bar staff, cold conservatory with little atmosphere, shabby chairs, I could go on.... I will.... Broken room window, foul unclean toilets with no toilet roll, grim looking outdoor & indoor pools. Those from abroad must think we are a bunch of rip off merchants.

The owners need to either invest heavily or pull the place down.


Other than that, we had a lovely time.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Compstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing