We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Fading splendour'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“'Fading splendour'”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

It's sad to see this Grand old lady looking so tired and need of investment - we stayed for two nights in a good size room with generous bathroom overlooking the bay and marina - no air-con but the windows open. The balcony furniture was cheap and there was too much for the space. Tired the hotel may be but we imaged it in it's heyday being elegant, full of life and the place to stay on the bay.
The dining room was the jewel, elegant with extensive views, friendly and efficient service and great food.

Outside the hotel needs sprucing up and some regular housekeeping would make a big difference - this also applies to Torquay in general - grubby in areas and it really was dificult to find quality dining etc.

Room Tip: Select a top floor bay view with balcony - away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    944
    438
    208
    144
See reviews for
474
1,577
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Sorry didnt think to much to this hotel, we were given a good size room but very dated right above the reception area.
Unfortunately for us there was a wedding reception that evening, cars coming and going all night and of course lots of noise.
we asked if we could change rooms but they said they were fully booked that evening !!
I move the bed side cabinet to plug my phone charger in and found christmas wrapping behind the unit !!!
We booked it on there special offer deals and i think we were given the short straw.
It needs a good re-vamp very old looking we wont be going back.
The breakfast was poor dried out scramble eggs and bacon and very greasy fried eggs not the best.
Sorry guys i really dont have any thing good to say about your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon-sur-Allier, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We got a good deal and enjoyed our stay here. The surroundings were very grand if slightly faded outside. It is a pity about the rest of Torquay which was not so nice. LWe also struggled to find a nice restaurant in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Was a Grand Hotel in its day...but its day is gone. Tired rough at the edges and sad. In MAJOR need of a revamp. Large Grand public rooms empty of furniture with old carpets create a maze to get to your room. Get a sea facing suite and the room size and view are great,but tired dated 60's furniture. English breakfast served in Vast halls to the few guests make you feel like the last to leave the Titanic. Its Sinking Fast......As is Torquay as a destination. We will never go back

Room Tip: Sea Facing Suite only. Great views and lots of space (almost too much)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice hotel clean and the staff were friendly and courteous,our room was large,but sadly because of health and safety we were not allowed to use the balcony to sit out on especially as we had a sea view.Booked this one night stay through Travel zoo.com.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This hotel is what it is.... it's not a Hilton, a Holiday Inn or a boutique hotel ...it's a Victorian hotel full of splendour, if somewhat faded, with wonderful views from the sea view rooms and the dining room.

Our room was very clean, very comfortable bed, small bathroom but adequate, magnificent view over the whole bay, and a lovely balcony with beds and small table.... unfortunately not much sun!

The food was very good, excellent choice at breakfast including smoked salmon, not found in many holiday hotels these days. The dinner menu was rather small but all the food was well cooked, tasty and served promptly I agree that the chairs in the dining room need refurbishing but the starched white table linen more than makes up for this.

Would we visit again? Most certainly. Would we recommend the hotel to friends? Definately.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has great views and afternoon sun in July
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlesuk .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Hilary S, has summed the hotel up in a nutshell. Unfortunately, we did not have the sea view having booked a basic room, so we had a view of the car park!! Well, its inevitable that some rooms will overlook this facility. The areas approaching the car park and the facility itself could do with a regular clean, especially as you pay £7.00 per night to use it. Yes, the decor needs updating as suggested, but even still it was a decent sized room with a good bathroom. both in equipment, and size. The breakfast was good and as this was included meant the room price, on balance, represented good value for money overall. Only a short walk down the hill to the town, bay and eateries. The hotel has great potential if Puma makes the necessary investment in improving the decor, it could easily be Torquay's best hotel. Would return but only if a sea view room was available. Well done Imperial as my partner gives you a 5 rating, however, there is still plenty of room for improvement.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a sea view do so, great views of the sea and bay, avoid those which overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isocamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing