We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My famliy and I have stayed at this hotel many times! It never fails to delight us every time we visit. The front facing bedrooms over look the bay, you could be anywhere in the world with that sea view! The view from the dining room is also outstanding. Lovely food, nice atmosphere and fabulous views.

Room Tip: Sea view room everytime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,128 - 3,134 of 3,235 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

What a little gem we've found!! We'd definately stay again and would have no hesitation in recommending the Imperial to friends and family. We're already planning our next stay. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the views were amazing! Only one little thing, the balcony could do with painting. Thanks to all the attentive staff, especially Kia in the bar/lounge, what a very helpful young lady, she went the extra mile to make our stay a memorable one. Well done and we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrtibbsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We booked a room here for our 36th wedding anniversary, we booked a sea view room which is well worth the extra cost – the views across the bay are unbeatable. Our room was very clean and of a good size, another reason to upgrade, with plenty of storage.

The breakfast had plenty of choice and was well cooked. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening, however the choice looked reasonable.

We did not use the spa facilities, but from looking in the indoor pool looked to be a reasonable size and well kept.

We would definitely stay here if we return to Torquay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room - it is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

we booked through an online company this time for ease as we usually book direct with the hotel,we have been staying at this hotel for many years when it was originally a 5 star hotel and iot was fab,we have seen a slow but definite decline this stay.on book in we were greeted by a rather stressed and not very helpful receptionist,we were allocated room 18 a garden view room,the view was lovely with a sea view,however the gardens were very over grown.the room was tired with fraying wall paper and the carpet was stained and ruffled and smelt of shake and vac.There were tea facilities but only enough to barely make one cup of tea! this must have been the worst room we were ever given.In the morning on booking out we asked a different receptionist to the one on booking in if a different level of room was allocated to people depending on who they booked through,she said no but stated rooms are allocated on depending on what you pay,so really my inital question the answer was yes.We only booked bed and breakfast and it was a buffet breakfast which was adequate but cold.On arival we went into the lounge and had afternoon tea,we sat for some time,no one came over to ask if they could help,we had to go to the bar and ask,when the tea came the sandwiches were dry as if they were only,the scones flat and two of the cakes were definitely off! not a very enjoyable experience.There also seemed to be a problem with stafing as there appeared to be not very many.All in all the hotel has declined and I don't think we shall be going again,a very poor 4 star hotel in need to a referb and a very good manager to raise it's standard when it has a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Wow, stayed here again 26th-28th July.....(always stay at The Imperial)......Since the last time the old place has changed hands and dropped a star.
The hotel has become dated in decor & the rooms, although large and comfortable, are looking tired.The prices for food and drink in the lounge were very expensive and the girl at the bar had little English.( Guinness £5.60 ?)
We were told on booking that our room would have a fridge ( Bar) . I needed it to keep my insulin in. This room had 2 but both were locked and on asking at reception we were told no rooms had fridges....Still great views from the windows overlooking the bay and the breakfasts 1st class.
On leaving , not asked if every thing was as we expected or if we enjoyed our stay !
I think next time we will choose another 5 star hotel in the bay.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I had a very nice 3 night stay at the Imperial as one of the hotels on our tour of Devon and Cornwall. Although up a hill we found the position ideal for us. Close to the harbour for use of the ferry and a short walk to the shops, bars and restaurants. It was also only a 10 minute walk to the Princess theatre.
Although we would have liked a room with a sea view our room was clean, spacious and quiet.
Breakfast was buffet style, but a good selection and staff were friendly and efficient. I would certainly use it again if we were in the area.
The only negative I can think of is the extra £7 per night for parking.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Good location,staff friendly,hotel does not live up to it's 4star rating,dated decor and rooms,expensive for this level of price,typical feel bit ripped off as was looking to buy some quality accommodation,not asked if every thing was up to scratch on exit,but you can understand why.comments on trip advisor accurate from fellow travellers. Stayed in family room sea view.

Room Tip: Go to America and get good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Midlanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing