We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Internet Connection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Internet Connection”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

At £240 per night you still have to pay £15 car park per night! Views great but tired room, Well positioned. Internet absolutely rubbish. Phone connection can be bad in certain parts too. Had to wait 5 hours for suitcase to come up from reception and we got it ourselves in the end. Ordered room service J20 came with lid on and no bottle opener, soup was cold. Staff friendly - probably it's only saving grace, that and the views

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
.Thank you for taking the time to review The Imperial, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do endeavour to provide a very high standard of guest care and it’s disappointing that you did not fully enjoy your trip to Torbay. I wish you had let us know at the time when I know we would have done our utmost to change your opinion. We do charge for car parking, which is something we are totally upfront about and include on all confirmations, web sites and partner sites.

When we were taken over three months ago by Puma Hotels, the most common negative feed back we as a Company received was charging for internet. This was immediately addressed and free internet services were offered to any guest or visitor to the hotel. The service provider does charge to download large files such as movies but simple internet activities such as e-mail and browsing are completely free. I'm sorry you did not get full benefit from this.

I'm really sorry if you had to wait five hours for your case to be delivered, even in busy times we can normally have a bag delivered in a half an hour. None of the team here are aware of this delay so I wonder if there were other circumstances surrounding such an extraordinary delay.

Thank you for letting us know about the soup and the J2O, I have discussed this with the service team and the retraining has now taken place.

Again thank you and sorry for any disappointment.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    961
    452
    214
    146
See reviews for
492
1,614
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A lovely spacious hotel with a great location and fantastic views over Torbay. Reception staff were excellent and welcoming. The room was spacious with good decor and facilities providing three good nights sleep. We were not charged for parking during our stay which was a bonus with a minimum of £7:00 a day charge. The only down side to the stay was the quality and service within the hotel restaurant. The service was not of the standard you would expect for a four star hotel and the food a little bland. However there are a number of good eateries within walking distance of the Hotel. Altogether a pleasant stay and we would return in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Imperial. We were delighted with your positive comments. We have recently employed a new restaurant Manager who we hope will address some of the comments you made. We have for many years offered a menu with five choices that changed every day. Unfortunately even when you change the menu in this way certain core items do repeat. We therefore have introduces an eight choice menu that we hope will be interesting and suit our guests needs. This week we have started a trial supplementary menu in association with a local Brixham fish market trader. This will give our guests the opportunity to try locally sourced and daily delivered fish. If this is successful then we will do the same with a local farm to produce a fresh meats menu.

Again thank you for your review. It’s really valuable feedback (good or bad) and does give us the opportunity to try and do better.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We spent 3 nights with friends at the Imperial Torquay. 2 lovely garden rooms with patio,beautiful view. Food was reasonably good, not enough is made of the Bar, where we ate on our last night, Food was cold, atmosphere non existant. Car Parking charge of £7 per day is completely unacceptable, there is no security, and notices on the wall saying 'they are not liable if you have any problems with your car' Staff pleasant, but some seemed unable to understand basic English.Overall a nice break, and will probably return to the Hotel, especially if they re-think their Parking policy, something we think they really should deal with. Hotel guests should NOT have to pay to park their car!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Imperial. We are really pleased that in the main you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments about the bar we will work on your suggestion.

Car parking is raised as an issue and maybe it would be easier to include this in the rates that we charge our guests. However this would go against our principals of transparent rates. Why should a guest have to pay for a service they don't want or use. We do advertise parking charges on all websites, partner websites and confirmations so it’s not something we in anyway hide. Our underground car park is locked at night and the open air facility has a barrier system of entry/exit. I'm not aware of any pay facility that accepts liability for damage to your property. I'm truly sorry this has caused you such upset.

Again thank you for taking the time to review.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed at the Imperial as part of the "Girls Night In" spa package, which included 2 mini treatments, dinner, one night stay and breakfast, which set us back (at a discounted price) of £252 for two.
The real selling point of this hotel is the view, the dining room features floor to celling windows and places all it's seating facing the really incredible view of the seaside town and bay. However, this is probably the best thing about the hotel; the exterior of the hotel makes you doubt that you're at a 4* hotel, the lobby then wipes out this doubt but the rooms with it's dated patterned wallpaper, carpets and oddly chosen paintings do make you question why it has as many stars as it does.
The food is nice, though breakfast was a little disappointing, and sometimes hard to find as the staff didn't attempt to tell us that the cooked buffet was in a completely different room! I wouldn't get excited about the facilities either - though the spa staff are very friendly and very good at what they do, the swimming pool is disappointingly small and definitely nothing to get excited about! I was a little annoyed at the placement of the spa treatment rooms as well, as during my "relaxing" time, I could hear the staff chatting away to one another.
However, not all is lost - the beds are, without a doubt, the comfiest beds you will hope to sleep on, the showers are nice and powerful and SIMPLE to work, and the staircase is rather beautiful. Also, Torquay as an area is fantastic, a real holiday atmosphere.
So while I was left less than impressed with this "superior" hotel, I can't really complain with the price I paid! But I would not recommend you pay anything near full price for this hotel! (I checked, and a room for one night including dinner would have cost the same as our entire deal!)
Also, be prepared to pay £7 a night for car parking! There's no option but to accept these charges, which I feel is a bit over the top. And make sure you actually RECEIVE the "exit card" after you've paid - the receptionist seemed to forget that little part!

Room Tip: If you're paying less, expect a less than attractive room over looking the car park - if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Imperial. I'm sorry that the old world charm of this truly Victorian hotel did not meet your expectations but delighted that it did offer you value for money. We are not a modern purpose built property but indeed the exact opposite built in 1866 and displaying a unique scale such as the staircase you described, the wide corridors, the much larger than average rooms and the sprawling building that has been enjoyed by Royalty and celebrities for 146 years. Our rooms are traditional but really would you want them like every other hotel on the planet?

I have shared your review with the team and can assure you where possible the negative points that you raised will be addressed.

Again thank you for taking the time to review.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Good booking process via Superbreaks, price lower than Hotel quotes so weren't expecting much, but were upgraded to a small room with Balcony and Sea view on arrival...reception quick to book in and discounts available mentioned.

Room recently painted, bathroom and balcony just fine, with a great view over the bay and gardens.

Breakfast was a buffet affair with good selection of continental, cereals and full English, all unlimited.

Gym well equipped, both pools just fine with plenty of sunbeds for the outdoor area for the two sunny days we had, again with a great view over the bay.

Service in the bar area was sit and wait on some days, or go to the bar and order on others...depending on the staff, who were too few if more than a couple of tables were taken, and getting a repeat order on the waitress service days was too hard work, so went elsewhere.

Had dinner Sunday Evening in the Hotel, but kicked out at 10PM....not good for quite an expensive menu.

The place has seen better days, the maid service was discreet and efficient, but the bar service was somewhat lacking and they lost sales there.

Torquay restaurants all too expensive and not great (didnt try the famous two)..better value in Babbacombe.

Sea trip and train back to Dartmouth marvellous.

Room Tip: get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I was beginning to think that our rainy summer had turned the world against us. I have noted your comments about the restaurant and can assure you that this won’t be the case again, thank you for bringing it to my attention. I'm sorry that it happened.

Thank you again for your review.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a gorgeous suite overlooking the sea, a lovely weekend at the Imperial. The suite was beautiful and the sea view was a real sea view, not one where you need to look out of the window and squint!

The hotel is just lovely, near everything but quiet, I was a little shocked when I arrived, it didn't look like the pictures, don't panic! As soon as you walk through the front doors you know it's going to be good.

Pool facilities were good, staff were attentive but not all over you, unfortunately we were both back to work on the Monday or we would have easily been tempted to staying another night or 10!

The breakfasts however leave a lot to be desired, we had room service the first day, no butter with the bread and it looked like it had been standing for some time, I didn't bother on day two as I didn't want to be disappointed but my partner said that the breakfast in the dining room also left much to be desired. if I went again I'd leave the breakfast and go to eat elsewhere but that really wouldn't be a problem.

Would I stay again? Oh yes, tomorrow please!

Room Tip: Sea View Suite - Got to be done!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpinletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Great views from our seaview balcony and from the dining and bar areas; friendly and helpful staff; good range of hot and cold food at breakfast; decent bar food in the evening; some really nice public areas; handy location for Torquay town centre. But the outdoor pool closed at 6.00 even with a dozen people in it and more wanting to swim; the floorboards were loose and creaky; the bed was very soft and saggy; the lift gave a loud "ping ping" every time it reached our floor and the soundproofing seemed poor; loud bird noises from the adjacent wildlife centre too; much of the furniture needed replacing or refurbishing. No air con in our room so uncomfortably hot or too noisy if we opened the balcony doors.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room away from the lift. Top floors best for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing