We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but very out of date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 29 August 2012

A real shame to see the hotel degraded so much.  The familly rooms are really big the spa/gym is clean and has everything.  The views are fantastic- if you want to see the bay!
But as has Torquay the hotel has lost its charm.  The restaurant and bar are filled with foreign waiters who don't really care about the quality of their work.  The lovely relaxing sofas in the lounge have gone and the afternoon tea is awful!
The rooms haven't  been updated for at least 20 years and the whole place is wearing a little or perhaps a lot!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGIE8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,934 - 2,940 of 3,082 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Imperial is in a lovely location, it is a must to book a sea view room, preferably with balcony. There were weddings going on for the 3 days we were there so we did not use the restaurant or bar but it is ideally situated, so a short walk and you are at the Marina. The breakfast was varied and plentiful but the cooked food should have been kept hotter, likewise the tea and cofffee. The female Manager (presumably) was very friendly and always wished you a good morning.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a balcony and sea view. Wouldn't have enjoyed it nearly so much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review. We are very lucky to have Event who has been with us for some time; we do appreciate her ability to cheer up anyone’s day. I have noted your comments and will address the issues raised.

Again thank you.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Another one of Puma Hotels that is living off its reputation and not living up to standards. Started badly with breakfast arriving in my room an hour and a half early (I had ordered it for 8.30am so was fast asleep when delivered at 7.00am) without so much as an apology for waking me. It was then delivered incorrectly to my daughter's room at 8.30am - who was not best pleased as she was there for a much needed lie in. Staff were not great in general and spoke minimal English. We found the restaurant very second rate. There was a wedding on while we were there which took up most of the verandah and bar and was very noisy for guests. Though the hotel has a wonderful position it's general decor is tired. Second Puma Hotel visited which seems to be living off a good reputation but sadly doesn't live up to the luxurious standards advertised.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A one-night spa break. Arrived before the 2 p.m. check-in time so my wife could have her massage and beauty treatment. Very helpful receptionist who offered to look after our luggage. After walking down to the spa/fitness suite with my wife I retired to the bar area. Good service; £3.90 for a pint.

I sat and read some of the one-star reviews on this web site and wondered if I'd made a mistake in booking the one-night break.

At 2, we went to check in, but the room wasn't quite ready; complimentary drinks in the bar were immediately offered (and accepted). A short time later the receptionist came and found us in the bar area with our room key and booked us in for the evening meal in the restaurant.

The room was lovely (228) with beautiful views from the balcony over Torbay. No peeling wallpaper or grubby furniture and fittings; my wife thought the room was great.

We had late lunch in the bar area (£30 with drinks) and sat and looked at the views. The three-course evening meal was super and the staff were friendly and efficient. I'd read comments about the chairs and wondered what I was going to see? ... normal, comfortable chairs is the answer!

The buffet breakfast was excellent and the check-out smooth.

Overall we really had a great time. I don't doubt the validity of the negative comments made about the hotel; we rarely stay in hotels and maybe the regular four and five star reviewer would have rated our break differently, but based on our experience I'd recommend the hotel without reservation (ha!).

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the harbour may be quieter ... the function rooms are at the other end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I loved this hotel but probably because we had an upgraded room with it's own balcony and it was so spacious. Staff were great but be careful about the extras. The bed was great. Very clean. The restaurant was good too.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade as rooms vary enormously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed at the Imperial in August for 3 nights. Location superb, rooms good very clean a little dated but that goes with the age of the hotel. Facilities excellent, breakfast brilliant everything you could ask for with good service. We visited the bar every evening and although busy with a wedding reception on the Friday the young girl behind the bar couldn't help us enough. So a big thank you to Kia the young girl behind the bar that made our weekend memorable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel is in a great position directly on the sea and within minutes walking distance of Torquay. Booked a last minute B&B deal at a very competitive price. The room was of very good standard and extremely comfortable. Gardens are very nice with lovely views across the bay. Didn't use the leisure facilities. The hotel is extremely spacious with large public rooms and high ceilings. There was a charge for parking but this wasn't asked for on departure. Breakfast served in a nice room with and a view and was good although the service was very poor. On both days asked for poached eggs and they didn't arrive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackburnRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing