We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Torquay
Nearby Hotels
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$423
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,386)
Filter reviews
3,386 results
Traveller rating
1,297
1,136
533
245
175
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,297
1,136
533
245
175
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewper nightcar parksun loungerslovely hotellarge balconydeluxe roomsteam roomoutdoor poolan upgradeleisure facilitiesdining roomsome tlcpublic roomslick of paintevening mealshort break
Filter
Updating list...
3,234 - 3,239 of 3,386 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

i went there with my gf.We stayed 3 days in this hotel.The hotel is really tired and our room was smelling baby sick. We asked to change room, which was a bit better but the toilet seat was broken!! The carpets were dirty and I'm really can't understand how they manage to keep this 4 star rating !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MATINAKIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My latest trip with my wife was to the imperial hotel torquay 3 nights bed and breakfast..First impressions very dated and old looking.When we got into the room 106 very dated curtains torn wallpaper hanging off wall i had paid £153 per night BB.Complained and was told they would move us the next day to a sea view room on floor 4 (penthouise floor) reception staff most helpful.. The room was excellent sea view, big bed, large seating area and balcony Bathroom must be 20 years old though and in much need of an update.Weddings on two days didnt worry us , bar area is the worse bar area and service i have ever seen the bar must be 12 foot long and for the size of hotel is rediculous.it took over 1/2 an hour to get served on many occassions whether it was full of customers or not. I found the bar staff rude as if they were in the middle of serving somebody they would answer the phone before finishing serving people who had been waiting for ages to get a drink or vanish into a room behind the bar, with no appology when they returned for keeping you waiting. Would i come here again? NO service poor, except reception , very expensive not good value for money if a hotel inspector witnesssed the Bar debarcle and the lack of attentive staff i think it would have ended up loosing 1-2 stars very disappointed with my trip to Torquay and the Imperial hotel

Room Tip: pick any room with sea view 4th floor room 422 great.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julian mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay but delighted that our team did try to resolve your issues. I have taken your comments on board about the service in the bar and we will do our utmost to address them.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

A real shame to see the hotel degraded so much.  The familly rooms are really big the spa/gym is clean and has everything.  The views are fantastic- if you want to see the bay!
But as has Torquay the hotel has lost its charm.  The restaurant and bar are filled with foreign waiters who don't really care about the quality of their work.  The lovely relaxing sofas in the lounge have gone and the afternoon tea is awful!
The rooms haven't  been updated for at least 20 years and the whole place is wearing a little or perhaps a lot!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGIE8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Imperial is in a lovely location, it is a must to book a sea view room, preferably with balcony. There were weddings going on for the 3 days we were there so we did not use the restaurant or bar but it is ideally situated, so a short walk and you are at the Marina. The breakfast was varied and plentiful but the cooked food should have been kept hotter, likewise the tea and cofffee. The female Manager (presumably) was very friendly and always wished you a good morning.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a balcony and sea view. Wouldn't have enjoyed it nearly so much without having the view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmimperialTorquay, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review. We are very lucky to have Event who has been with us for some time; we do appreciate her ability to cheer up anyone’s day. I have noted your comments and will address the issues raised.

Again thank you.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Another one of Puma Hotels that is living off its reputation and not living up to standards. Started badly with breakfast arriving in my room an hour and a half early (I had ordered it for 8.30am so was fast asleep when delivered at 7.00am) without so much as an apology for waking me. It was then delivered incorrectly to my daughter's room at 8.30am - who was not best pleased as she was there for a much needed lie in. Staff were not great in general and spoke minimal English. We found the restaurant very second rate. There was a wedding on while we were there which took up most of the verandah and bar and was very noisy for guests. Though the hotel has a wonderful position it's general decor is tired. Second Puma Hotel visited which seems to be living off a good reputation but sadly doesn't live up to the luxurious standards advertised.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews