We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed for four nights while sailing in Torbay. Hotel was very accommodating when we cancelled one room after moving into it.
Yes, it has seen better days and is probably no longer worth four stars compared to some of the local boutique hotels, but the breakfast was excellent (big choice, good sausages, and porridge!)
Steffens very attentive and although we were there on the day of the weeding, and our roommwason the same floor as the restaurant we were not bothered by it. Great sea view.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank phantom1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    921
    423
    200
    135
See reviews for
452
1,536
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have just spent two nights in the Imperial Hotel and on the whole I found it good value for money. I had a good room rate via LateBooking.com and even taking two breakfasts into account it was still a fair price. The room was large as was the bed, although I did find it very hard - ended up with back ache after the second night. Although very clean it was obvious that the rooms and the hotel are overdue a refurb. The breakfast was more than ample and the staff courteous and very friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would have preferred a room with a sea view but chose not to pay the extra £60. Rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Having stayed at the Imperial on many occasions we booked with confidence for a 2 night break in a premium room. On arrival we were allocated room 47 which does have a sea view either side of the large pine trees which are directly in front of the balcony. The room was pleasantly decorated although the furnitue was looking a little tired. On both mornings the service in the dining room was poor, food and crockery were not replenished and on one morning after informing staff there were no glasses I still waited approximately 10 minutes for them to arrive. Dinner was included and the food was delicious on both evenings.
Are biggest complaint was the lack of information regarding a wedding on the Thursday in the Toraby suite approximately 4 doors down from room 47, we were given no warning of the possible noise, on previous occassions when staying in a room near this suite we have been warned of potential noise and even been offered a change of room. The duty manager was very appologetic and we were given a reduction on our bill but its not about the money it was just so disappointing to see such a change in the level of service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimicup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked 5 nights at The Imperial through Superbreak. We had seen the previous reviews and hoped to get a sea view. We were fortunate to be placed in a top floor suite with two balconies with panoramic sea views. We booked Sunday to Thursday and were probably fortunate to have a room used by wedding guests.

The hotel entrance is impressive. The views from the restaurant are fantastic. We only ate breakfast there. The breakfasts are excellent with a wide choice of food. We ate in the bar some evenings and that was good value and tasty.

All the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful.

We used the leisure facilities and it was good that the outdoor pool was in use on one of the days. Despite being mid-September the water was warm.

Room Tip: Book mid week
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I've just returned from a 2-night stay at the Imperial...not as bad as some of the reviews but not that good to justify a four star rating. It was our first UK break away with our young baby (3 months), we used Tesco Clubcard vouchers to pay for the trip so if I actually paid for our stay with real money then I would be hacked off.
Let me start with the positives - fantastic location, superb views, friendly & attentive staff, hearty breakfast and a wide range of ammenities available. And the negatives, well the hotel could definitely do with an refurbishment and whilst our room was clean(ish), yes it is a bit dusty in areas and the tea/coffee facilities would not look out of place in small B&B. In my opinion, this hotel is trading on reputuation from years gone by...if they want to hold onto a four star rating then attention to detail is key.
If you're just looking for a bed then may be a B&B would suit, however if you want superb views, the comfort of a hotel chain and the services they provide...then the Imperial would be a contender. My tip would be to search for a deal at this hotel, as I wouldn't pay the full tariff and there are deals to be had.
We stayed in Room 120, which was a tad cramped with a carrycot/pushchair and located up six steps. A bit of a ball ache with a pram however as we were only staying two nights, I didn't flag it with reception. It is a room with a view overlooking the sea...great to watch the sunset/rise every day. The location is central, but at the top of a steep hill which may be a bit challenging for elderly guests. Even though I'm quite fit I did get slightly out of breath pushing the pram uphill.
We only sampled breakfast at the hotel, so can't comment on the hotel restaurant but can recommend The Elephant Restaurant at the bottom of the hill...we ate in the Brasserie off the lunch menu (£16.95 pp) with wine it came to £55.
Other hints, take a walk up to Babbacombe the views are truly amazing...forget the Museum it's a waste of money.
Overall an average hotel...would I stay again? Yes but wouldn't pay full price for it.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Ok where to start.. the room, we stayed on the ground floor of the hotel (room 22), the room was not particularly clean when we got there: dust and cobwebs behind the curtains that indicate that no one had cleaned that area in a looooong time. Also the tray for the coffee was filthy and the kettle looked from the 70s... We called the housekeeper and they were very apologetic and came within 20 minutes which was nice.

Also, despite having paid an extra amount of money to be upgraded to a deluxe room the furniture was really old and tired, the curtains had holes, the bath had a plastic curtain which gives you the impression of being in a hostel instead of in a 4 star hotel, the matress was bigger than the bed, draws were broken, mini bar was not working but instead of taking it out they just broke the handle...

and the noise... there is a 24 hour rumbling all along the corridor and in the rooms (probably from the spa), which made the sleep qualitiy really poor. When mentioned no one seem to care and we were completely ignored.
Unfortunately there was a wedding on that day (please avoid weekends in particular!!!) and was terribly noisy, we even saw a man "going to the loo" in the middle of the corridor!!! of course this was not the hotel's fault but gives you an impression of the "general atmosphere" on a Saturday night.

The rooms were not isolated at all and we could hear literally everything of what was going on in the rooms nearby, including all their visits to the loo... not particularly pleasant for a romantic weekend... It is the first time in my life I have to sleep with earplugs in a hotel... what a dissapointing experience...

When cehcking out we mentioned the staff at reception for a third time that the hotel did not meet our expectations and we were given a card with the name of the manager so we can email him. I sent a review from the hotel's website a week ago and haven't heard anything from them yet.. so not a particularly good customer service experience either!

Overall.. a hotel to avoid...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Faboulous view from our balcony (de-lux double room). Large bright and airy room. Tastefully furnished. Really comfortable and spacious.Dining room views out over the bay and marina superb. Breakfasts varied and unhurried. Service in the restaurant warm and efficient. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUMFRIESSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing