We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for five nights in a deluxe sea view room with balcony. Fantastic view across Torbay - the room was spacious, very comfortable and well tended by housekeeping. Excellent breakfasts available 0700-1000, with good range of hot and cold food. Dinner menu was changed weekly but with six or seven starters and main courses there was plenty of choice and variety; and food was well cooked and well presented. Restaurant staff friendly and helpful, though some would benefit from further training in the finer points of waiting at table. In all a very good stay in a delightful hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phandcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,004 - 3,010 of 3,188 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Revisited after 5 years. Nothing much has changed, and there is an urgent need for an upgrade in furniture and fittings. We stayed all inclusive for 5 days and had a delux sea view room, which was very pleasant with excellent housekeeping each day. Breakfast and lunch were very good and whilst the food at the evening meal was more than satisfactory with only one change of menu per week, after a couple of days our choice was very limitied. Some of the senior waiting staff were close to ignorant. However some other staff, were more than helpful.The hotel, being in such an idyllic position and charging four star prices should seriously consider making an investment to return to 5 star status and once again be the premier Torquay hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spider2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent 2 nights over the Bank holiday at the Hotel . The room was one of the more expensive but could have done with updating, everything looked a bit "tired".
Breakfast was good and the times were great if you wanted to have a lie-on.Leisure club was not so great the pool looked far from tempting as the water looked slightly grey!However the out door pool is lovely but if you go when the weather is cooler this is no consolation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairy55Cwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just got back from a week long stay at The Imperial Hotel, we had two lovely rooms, 44 and 48 which were spacious with balconies overlooking the sea. Everything was excellent during our stay, the service, the food, and the Leisure Club facilities. The staff were helpful and friendly, they have improved the WiFi access greatly since our last stay, it is now available free for 2 hours at a time, (you just log in again if you need it for longer) and you can now access it from your rooms. We had a special deal, over the internet which we booked last March, so it was half price and the evening meal which was delcious with three courses and lots of choice cost only £22 a night each, it was a real bargain! We would definately stay here again.
My husband had had an accident before we went on holiday, the staff were very helpful and put a ramp down into the dining area so that he could access it.

Room Tip: Ask if there is one available with a view of the sea. There are some lovely places that you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larniegirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed for four nights while sailing in Torbay. Hotel was very accommodating when we cancelled one room after moving into it.
Yes, it has seen better days and is probably no longer worth four stars compared to some of the local boutique hotels, but the breakfast was excellent (big choice, good sausages, and porridge!)
Steffens very attentive and although we were there on the day of the weeding, and our roommwason the same floor as the restaurant we were not bothered by it. Great sea view.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank phantom1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have just spent two nights in the Imperial Hotel and on the whole I found it good value for money. I had a good room rate via LateBooking.com and even taking two breakfasts into account it was still a fair price. The room was large as was the bed, although I did find it very hard - ended up with back ache after the second night. Although very clean it was obvious that the rooms and the hotel are overdue a refurb. The breakfast was more than ample and the staff courteous and very friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would have preferred a room with a sea view but chose not to pay the extra £60. Rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Having stayed at the Imperial on many occasions we booked with confidence for a 2 night break in a premium room. On arrival we were allocated room 47 which does have a sea view either side of the large pine trees which are directly in front of the balcony. The room was pleasantly decorated although the furnitue was looking a little tired. On both mornings the service in the dining room was poor, food and crockery were not replenished and on one morning after informing staff there were no glasses I still waited approximately 10 minutes for them to arrive. Dinner was included and the food was delicious on both evenings.
Are biggest complaint was the lack of information regarding a wedding on the Thursday in the Toraby suite approximately 4 doors down from room 47, we were given no warning of the possible noise, on previous occassions when staying in a room near this suite we have been warned of potential noise and even been offered a change of room. The duty manager was very appologetic and we were given a reduction on our bill but its not about the money it was just so disappointing to see such a change in the level of service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimicup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing