We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down from that expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arrived last Saturday for an overnight stay.Allocated room 402 when we got to the room door the security card for entry did not give us access so walk back down four floors to reception and have card re coded

Having driven from North Yorks to Torquay we were a little tired so decided to retire for the night at 10.45 pm by 2.15 in the morning both of us are still awake through noisy guests talking loudly and slamming their rooms doors also interspersed by the noise of a lift going up and down Silence came and we dozed off to be awoken again by noisy guests up to 3.15 a m then it did go quiet last time I looked at the clock as by then we couldn't get to sleep was 4.30 am
Unfortunately for us we had to rise at 0730 to travel to our next destination

So only achieved some three hours sleep each in room 402

When getting up I went to plug the kettle in they was not possible as there was no space between the lower edge of the twin socket and the table to allow for the electric cable,so had to plug the kettle in on a skirting board socket

There was a warning sign in the bathroom that the towel rail was hot ! Hit !! It was stone cold. The radiator in the room also cold and i suspect needed bleeding.

Turning to the shower over the bath, yes indeed we were both most careful to put the shower curtain inside the bath as the wall sign requested but the shower was so weak in could only be described as a merest trickle not a shower at all

Have I gone on ???? Probably yes !! But come on Puma that was a disgrace for the money paid

In closing if you take your car intending to park onsite I hope your more lucky than we were the car parks were full to over flowing

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,895 - 2,901 of 3,082 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is in a truly excellent position, but you must have a sea view room. to appreciate it. Our room was very spacious with a nice bathroom. The decor must be original fitiing. The furniture and carpets are well past it. The chandeliers defy description (60s yuck maybe?), but the King sized bed was very comfortable. . We had two maintenance calls to put items right before we had complained. That is very good.

Food was really good with an excellent choice even on the table d'hote. We were early for breakfast but the choice and quality were very good. A nice touch was a croissant warmer! The staff were extremely nice abd service was excellent, with the exception of one Duty Manager who caused me acute embarrassment in front of other guests when lI was eaving. That was a really disappointing end to what had been a very pleasant stay. The hotel is now part of the Puma chain. It has been a Paramount, Barcelo and even a Trust House Forte. It is sadly symptomatic of the British Hotel industry that owners buy and sell rather than invest. This one needs new bedroom furniture and decor to complete the jigsaw.

Room Tip: Must ask and pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We took a 3 day break. Delighted with room and dining room both overlooking Torbay. Staff friendly and efficient, superb breakfast. Dinner good for first night but table d'hote menu unchanged during our stay. Moving away from this incurs some quite pricey supplements.

Room Tip: We had a delux room with seaview and balcony, any seaview room would be good but standard rooms less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffordshiregramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for the weekend! Huge and spacious public areas, all staff friendly throughout and a great environment to relax!

Hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from the town centre, which is great to wander, but we had dinner included which was great quality and very good value!

Would return to the Imperial tomorrow!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for five nights in a deluxe sea view room with balcony. Fantastic view across Torbay - the room was spacious, very comfortable and well tended by housekeeping. Excellent breakfasts available 0700-1000, with good range of hot and cold food. Dinner menu was changed weekly but with six or seven starters and main courses there was plenty of choice and variety; and food was well cooked and well presented. Restaurant staff friendly and helpful, though some would benefit from further training in the finer points of waiting at table. In all a very good stay in a delightful hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phandcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Revisited after 5 years. Nothing much has changed, and there is an urgent need for an upgrade in furniture and fittings. We stayed all inclusive for 5 days and had a delux sea view room, which was very pleasant with excellent housekeeping each day. Breakfast and lunch were very good and whilst the food at the evening meal was more than satisfactory with only one change of menu per week, after a couple of days our choice was very limitied. Some of the senior waiting staff were close to ignorant. However some other staff, were more than helpful.The hotel, being in such an idyllic position and charging four star prices should seriously consider making an investment to return to 5 star status and once again be the premier Torquay hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spider2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent 2 nights over the Bank holiday at the Hotel . The room was one of the more expensive but could have done with updating, everything looked a bit "tired".
Breakfast was good and the times were great if you wanted to have a lie-on.Leisure club was not so great the pool looked far from tempting as the water looked slightly grey!However the out door pool is lovely but if you go when the weather is cooler this is no consolation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairy55Cwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing