We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Once again we have had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel, we love everything about this place, food is of superb quality, rooms are exceptional, large, airy and very clean, nothing is too much trouble. Would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 685Pet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    944
    438
    208
    144
See reviews for
474
1,578
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

When we pulled up outside this hotel I was so disappointed. The Imperial looked very dated on the outside, but inside it was like walking into other era, beautiful. it did remind me of the Agatha Christie movies, which was quaint, because it is her countryside. Once we arrived and saw the views, we upgrade to a room with a view, something we had declined when making our original booking. We were upgraded to an apartment. A large bedroom, separate toilet, separate bathroom and a sitting room. What views! The breakfast room was beautiful also.
A Grand Hotel from yesteryear, with modern amenities. Staff were all very friendly, something we didn't always find in England
We will be going back to The Imperial in Torquay.
I also noticed people coming in for afternoon teas with a view.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

my wife and i had a weekend here a couple of weeks ago, very impressed. we stayed on a co,op
gt. breaks offer, expecting a room at the back, got a room on 3rd floor with a fantastic view.
everywhere was nice and clean, staff were friendly and helpful .superb location.What more could you ask for?.oh and i must mention the excellent breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anybody, and would like to stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaycee845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oundle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My Hubby stayed here in 2009 and we popped in during a visit to Torquay in 2011 for him to show me round. the Hotel Group has changed to Puma so we hoped it would be as good but it seemed even better for this stay . With thanks to Puma HQ we got our Barcelo Loyalty up-graded room. on the 1st floor. nice and quiet with thick curtains to keep the dazzle of sunlight out. our mini-fridge would not fit under the dressing table and I agree, all plug sockets are awkward to use for hairdryer etc.
One poor guest got stuck in the lift at 07.30 and rang the alarm so that was our 1st morning wake-up call, then that night the Fire-alarm was set off at 1.30a.m by some idiot smoking in their room.( Thanx very much), the Security Staff were instantly on hand to re-assure us all we would not need to evacuate. we were lucky enough to enjoy the Outdoor Heated swimming Pool (last weekend of the Season) as well as the clean, airy Leisure centre/spa. Nice touch having Saunas in each of the changing rooms
on both Saturday and Sunday there were large parties /Wedding receptions,not that we saw or heard much of the guests - the function rooms are discretely sectioned off from Public areas but the bar and Restaurant that overlooks the bay remained well staffed. This is a stunning location, ideal for Couples and I am recommending it to friends planning a UK honeymoon next Summer..

Room Tip: 1st floor is good (you dont need to go higher for the view) no noises or cooking smells from Kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife & I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, on a D,B&B basis. We found the hotel to be excellent. The reception staff processed us in a very polite and efficient manner. The hotel was very clean where ever was went. Our bedroom on the ground floor, Garden suite, was superb. A large room with patio door over looking the sea towards Paignton. There was access to a small cove from the patio. TV was modern and worked well. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed with all facilities. The only small downside was the small amount of black mould on the grouting near to the taps. The restaurant has an excellent view over the bay. The menu was good, as was the quality of the food; I would have liked to see the menu changed each day, as we experienced the same menu on two consecutive nights. Breakfast was excellent. Car parking is available, but the cost is £7 per night.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Booked this hotel as a surprise weekend break for my husband's birthday, and our wedding anniversary. Booked a deluxe sea view room, to ensure good views of the bay, and upon arrival, was delighted to be told we'd been complimentarily upgraded to a suite. The suite was fabulous! Bedroom enormous, and separate living room area. Massive balcony, big enough to hold a cocktail party if you wished! Televisions in both rooms. View of the bay was superb! Waking up each morning to see those views is so nice, can't wait to go there again. Staff were extremely polite and friendly, and nothing was too much to ask. Would recommend booking to go over to Darmouth on the ferry. We booked 2 tickets to ferry across, and after a couple of hours in Dartmouth, you get the Steam Train back over to Paington, then short bus journey back to resort of Torquay. This cost just £15.00 each. Great value for money and an excellent day out. If you're dining out, the No.7 Fish Bistro down the road is an absolute must, as well as the Old Vienna Restaurant.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Dawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Had our wedding here Sunday 23rd September. It was fantastic, apart from the weather!! The venue, setting, everything was absolutely first class. It all ran like clockwork. I, (the bride!!) was put at ease straight away. The staff were wonderful and attentive and yet discreet. Food was excellent. The suite was luxurious with a bathroom you could hold a party in. Could not find one thing wrong. Well done all!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing