We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Torquay
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$405
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marquis Hotel(Torquay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,335)
Filter reviews
3,335 results
Traveller rating
1,269
1,126
526
242
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,269
1,126
526
242
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewper nightcar parksun loungerslovely hotellarge balconydeluxe roomsteam roomoutdoor poolan upgradeleisure facilitiesdining roomsome tlcpublic roomslick of paintevening mealshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,070 - 3,075 of 3,335 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Enjoyed a very nice 6 day break here and it was lovely to see the public areas had all been given a good lick of paint and generally things seemed to be on the up after hitting rock bottom whilst under the Barcelo umbrella. The hotel was desperately quiet and although we had booked under a special autumn deal an upgrade to a sea view could have been offered for a small supplement - That said our rooms 301 & 305 were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast is a bit of a run around and chaotic even when quiet. The do it yourself toast seems to be the one thing that causes the problem and a look at the Palace hotel breakfast service would not be a bad thing. Other matters which need management attention is the quality of the cooked items - cheap sausages - bacon which needs to be finished off under the grill to crisp the fat and fewer eggs which get a hard crust when not used quick enough. Tea and coffee was not readily offered on any of the 6 mornings and we had to ask. We had friends in for one dinner which was very enjoyable. Bar service is terrible. The staff hide in the back kitchen and are not terribly friendly when they do serve you. One night whilst entertaining guests the barmaid was cleaning the brass. Something that should be left for night staff or an early shift, but all in all things are improving and maybe the Imperial is set to wear its rightful crown again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Lovely weekend to celebrate pearl wedding anniversary lovely room. Service in restaurant perfect. Memorable stay! Emily on reception arranged for a glass of champagne at dinner and we were treated as VIPs !

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryhall64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

After having read the previous reviews about the Imperial, we were a little concerned but having just returned from a fantastic stay for the weekend, all we can say is how very much we enjoyed our break. We were told on arrival that we were on the mezzanine (Room 91) and were worried about what had previously been commented when events (weddings) were taking place (which they were during our stay) but the level of noise was not anywhere near loud enough to stop you from enjoying your stay...it actually finished altogether around 11.30pm. Our room was huge and with even a separate single room adjacent to the main bedroom complete with its own tv so there were no arguments about what you wanted to watch if necessary. Yes, the rooms are a wee bit dated but our room was immaculately clean, tidy and well presented plus the view out over the bay is to die for. The bed was large and extremely comfortable with a good quality mattress and pillows to boot and great quality cotton covers. Breakfast - again, having read the previous reviews caused a bit of trepidation but, was brilliant with attentive staff and a wonderful hot and cold buffet. Yes, you could make your own tea and coffee from the machines but the staff would also bring it for you from the kitchen as well. The reception staff (Anna) and the lady concierge when we arrived and left were excellent, attentive, polite and very helpful. Also, we met a lovely lady called Mary who worked in housekeeping who showed us a fanastic room that we will probably look to book in the future, thanks Mary for your time and assistance.
So, would we recommend The Imperial, definatley. Yes, the hotel is being refurbished room by room and floor by floor but if you get a good rate for a weekend break (£130 for two people for two nights) then it is worth every single penny. The parking is £7 per night but so what, try parking in town for a day and see how much that costs you, give you a clue, in Paignton it is £2.80 for two hours!!
Thank you to the staff at The Imperial, we will definatley be back again.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade to a larger room and don't be put off by some of the previous comments.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights attending a conference. My room was on the garden level with a sea view and balcony and had an enormous bed with a bunk bed area for families. The superb room was complemented with a great breakfast, eaten in a amazing setting with fantastic views across the bay. The staff were always polite and helpful and my business stay will now encourage me to visit with my family in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123FranC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Just come back from Dubai so I was not looking forward to my stay after the 5 star luxury in Dubai.
I have stayed in this hotel before and yes it gets better every time the staff the food the service as got to be No 1 in Torquay
Stay here with confidence you will not be disspionted
We are just waking up looking out our window looking at the sun rise can life get better
Well done to all the staff wished we could have stayed longer then one night

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews