We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, Ideal location..... BUT, food disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, Ideal location..... BUT, food disappointing.”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

A good Hotel (was originally owned by the THF group) with fantastic views and the location was brilliant too with a short walk to the Harbour. We stayed there with our Local Coach Company (Harry Shaw) 26 – 30 Nov as a coach party. We had stayed a few weeks before at the Ashley Court Hotel, so we knew the area and seen the Hotel before we went.
Our room on the third floor, had a Sea View with balcony and was large with loads of space, and was spotless, good beds and clean linen the bathroom was clean with bath and shower the downside was the WC which was too close to the door – door banged the pan.
Hostess tray was filled up each day with wrapped Biscuits.
Corridors were wide with pictures on them. There are 3 lifts – the main one from reception then 2 others which were smaller. The painters were doing up one of the “conference” rooms.
On the food side: the breakfast was very good with many choices, and was self service so you can fill up for the day, the down side was the Eggs and scrambled Eggs which were rubbery…. TIP:: Make sure you keep on eye the trays as they bring in fresh cooked eggs etc… which are miles better – yokes still runny.
Evening meal was disappointing, there is a Menu outside by the Lift which looks very good with many choices – tho’ I think they only change it once a week… As we were on a Coach party the menu was slightly different to “Paying Guests”, less choices for us and not changed daily other than the fish course which is different each day like the Soup of the Day. NO Salads or Cheese and Biscuits were offered……
Staff and Waiters were very friendly and helpful.
We had better food at the 2 Star Ashley Court Hotel than this one, we had to send three meals back during our stay as the chicken was too dry- I think it was the same Chicken we had on Monday, The Gammon was the same – tough as old boots and dry, and the Pork slices were chewy… some of our party had issues on the food. Could have been a lot better, ‘tho the Fish courses were very good, maybe the Head Chef was on Holiday – LOL!!
It was better than the Trecarn Hotel which we stayed in two years ago – that was terrible and the Clifton at Scarborough that was Yuk!!. That is the trouble with Group owned Hotels food is not quite up to a good standard, family run Hotels are generally better and use locally sourced food.
This Hotel has very good grounds with a children’s play area and facilities like Gym, Sauna, the outdoor swimming was closed for the winter, and inside is of a good standard. This time of the year it is a bit quiet, there were some corporate conferences going on whilst we there.
Would be a great place to stay in the Summer months.
All in all we enjoyed our stay, might go back again if the price is right..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radioham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    946
    440
    209
    144
See reviews for
477
1,582
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We chose this hotel as we stayed in one of Puma's other hotels in Bath and it was lovely. However, we cannot believe the hotels are in the same chain!
The hotel in Torquay's decor was a bit dated but clean and had fantastic views. Location was brilliant too, a short walk to the Harbour. The biggest thing that let the hotel down for us was the staff!
The checkin desk waited for me to speak to them. We had a meal in the bar and had to ask someone to serve us, I even had to go and ask a waiter to serve us more drinks! When we waited at the bar the staff didn't seem to serve who was waiting next (and it was only a small bar!). At breakfast we waited for ages to be seated, topping up the hot buffet food seemed to be done by just one person so everyone was complaining that there wasn't enough food! It's a shame as all the food we had was nice, but it seemed like none of the staff enjoyed or cared about working there! It really did let down the hotel, especially as it's a four star!
This experience has put me off booking other Puma hotels which is a shame as Bath was very good!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidayfun_2008_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

20 plus years ago my wife and I stayed here for a romantic wedding aniversary ,At that time the Hotel was owned by THF and was one of the only Five star hotels in Devon . Since that time to my knowlege it has had two ,possibly three different owners and is now in the hands of Puma hotels. We seen a deal in a national newspaper for dinner B+B plus a bottle of Sparkling wine and the price was very attractive. On arriving at the hotel we were impressed with the public areas and were very pleased when we were told we had a top floor room . First impressions were good, the view is magnificent across the bay , a massive bed , free Wi Fi but unfortuantly time has not been kind... worn furniture ,peeling paper behind radiators, chipped paint and dirty/mouldy grouting in the bathroom not what you would expect from a four star hotel.
Dinner Service was poor although everyone was friendly no one seened to know what they were doing despite there being plenty of staff ,most were involved in laying up for next day breakfast . Lots of confusion about the free bottle of FIzz which involved me having to go back to my room to get the confirm,ation e mail. Food when we got it was good. Unfortuate that the menu only changes weekly
Breakfast Service.
We arived at 8.10 to find the Hot Buffet crammmed with breakfast items despite there only bering 12 people in the restaruant . All the food looked very dry and as per previous reviews very cheap sausages etc .
All in all an average stay in what is now an average hotel . My advise get the very best deal you can

Room Tip: Go for a sea view at the best price possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

In Torquay for a concert and had very fond memories of the imperial so popped in for a drink. Looks the same ax i remember so we strolled down through the bar to the conservatiry. We passed four staff admiring someones new specs as we sat down. Their conversation continued and they ignored us untl i got up and walked over. We ordered drinks arrived with a bill and their four way conversation continued as if we did not exist. Quiet time of the evening maybe but its not the service i remember

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 99PMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Enjoyed a very nice 6 day break here and it was lovely to see the public areas had all been given a good lick of paint and generally things seemed to be on the up after hitting rock bottom whilst under the Barcelo umbrella. The hotel was desperately quiet and although we had booked under a special autumn deal an upgrade to a sea view could have been offered for a small supplement - That said our rooms 301 & 305 were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast is a bit of a run around and chaotic even when quiet. The do it yourself toast seems to be the one thing that causes the problem and a look at the Palace hotel breakfast service would not be a bad thing. Other matters which need management attention is the quality of the cooked items - cheap sausages - bacon which needs to be finished off under the grill to crisp the fat and fewer eggs which get a hard crust when not used quick enough. Tea and coffee was not readily offered on any of the 6 mornings and we had to ask. We had friends in for one dinner which was very enjoyable. Bar service is terrible. The staff hide in the back kitchen and are not terribly friendly when they do serve you. One night whilst entertaining guests the barmaid was cleaning the brass. Something that should be left for night staff or an early shift, but all in all things are improving and maybe the Imperial is set to wear its rightful crown again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Lovely weekend to celebrate pearl wedding anniversary lovely room. Service in restaurant perfect. Memorable stay! Emily on reception arranged for a glass of champagne at dinner and we were treated as VIPs !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryhall64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

After having read the previous reviews about the Imperial, we were a little concerned but having just returned from a fantastic stay for the weekend, all we can say is how very much we enjoyed our break. We were told on arrival that we were on the mezzanine (Room 91) and were worried about what had previously been commented when events (weddings) were taking place (which they were during our stay) but the level of noise was not anywhere near loud enough to stop you from enjoying your stay...it actually finished altogether around 11.30pm. Our room was huge and with even a separate single room adjacent to the main bedroom complete with its own tv so there were no arguments about what you wanted to watch if necessary. Yes, the rooms are a wee bit dated but our room was immaculately clean, tidy and well presented plus the view out over the bay is to die for. The bed was large and extremely comfortable with a good quality mattress and pillows to boot and great quality cotton covers. Breakfast - again, having read the previous reviews caused a bit of trepidation but, was brilliant with attentive staff and a wonderful hot and cold buffet. Yes, you could make your own tea and coffee from the machines but the staff would also bring it for you from the kitchen as well. The reception staff (Anna) and the lady concierge when we arrived and left were excellent, attentive, polite and very helpful. Also, we met a lovely lady called Mary who worked in housekeeping who showed us a fanastic room that we will probably look to book in the future, thanks Mary for your time and assistance.
So, would we recommend The Imperial, definatley. Yes, the hotel is being refurbished room by room and floor by floor but if you get a good rate for a weekend break (£130 for two people for two nights) then it is worth every single penny. The parking is £7 per night but so what, try parking in town for a day and see how much that costs you, give you a clue, in Paignton it is £2.80 for two hours!!
Thank you to the staff at The Imperial, we will definatley be back again.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade to a larger room and don't be put off by some of the previous comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing