We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you only stay at one hotel in Torquay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you only stay at one hotel in Torquay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

....make sure it is The Imperial Hotel because you will find it difficult to be disappointed, believe me! On arrival, staff on reception were very welcoming and I was upgraded to a sea-facing room with a balcony that had breath-taking views across the harbor and entire bay. The room was furnished to a lovely standard that was befitting of a hotel the exudes that quintessentially English charm, whilst maintaining just enough modern touches to keep up with the times. Breakfast was lovely, with so many choices of food, and was served in the main restaurant that overlooked the bay; staff were helpful and attentive, yet discrete enough to allow one to enjoy the whole dining experience at a leisurely pace. All in all, I had a wonderful few days that I could not find fault with; I will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jersica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    898
    409
    198
    135
See reviews for
443
1,473
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Came back for an overnight break to relax, swim and generally break before Christmas. The Imperial didnt disappoint. Lovely room again on the lower ground floor near the pool. Perfect. And breakfast, come for breakfast alone! We met thirty guys dressed hilariously as Kiss who were variously a Tribute band, a convention and guys from the army on a night out. Only in Torquay!
We're back again in February

Room Tip: Premier family rooms with the extra bedroom. Great if have kids over say 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exeterexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed in the Royal Suite, which was absolutely huge! The views over the bay are fantastic. Definitely go for a sea view room - it will really make your stay special. Check in was excellent with a very warm welcome and the staff throughout our stay were extremely friendly and professional. We didn't have dinner in the hotel, but Breakfast was very good and the service again was great. It's a great location being within a 5 minute walk of the harbour. Leisure club isn't very large so pool does get busy and does need a bit of a 'spruce up'. All in all, we had an excellent stay and will definitely return when we're next in the area.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - the views are superb and you get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSJ812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

A great hotel, got upgraded on arrival which is always good. Fantastic views across the bay. Staff at reception very helpful and booked us in quickly. All staff from the person who delivered my room service to the cleaner are all very friendly. i will be definetley be returning for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire,England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Having reviewed this hotel previously, I feel I need to make further comment following a 3 day visit this month. Having paid for a better class of room I was delighted with the one allocated, but it was however a little "tired" the quality furniture was well past its best and I trust the hotel will receive some attention in the near future.
The biggest disappointment was in the restaurant. The quality of the Table d'hote food was well below previous visits, and even the same meal on different nights was presented with different additions. Such was our disappointment we eat out one evening, and would have done so again had it not been for a belt of heavy rain. The kitchen is really letting the hotel down.

Room Tip: A better class of room gives great views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed for 1 night at the Imperial Hotel and couldn't fault it. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the Public areas were clean, tidy and open. Our room was one of the best I've stayed in and I stay in a lot of Hotels. Our room had a balcony which offered spectacular views over the bay, a dressing area besides a 7 foot wide bed in the bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and fairly modern.We used the leisure facilities which included an indoor swimming pool and gym.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottiepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

All that let this hotel down was at breakfast the person who showed people to there tables would leave people standing for over 10 min waiting to be seated
Also ran out of tea bags and milk at 10.30 pm asked at front desk the young lady spoke to someone who said it would be at my room in 10 min almost 12 hours later still not arrived (maid gave us some next day)

Room Tip: room 217 and 220 fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing