We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A suite with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A suite with a view”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel seems to generate more than it's fair share of widely differing views. We booked to stay on the last weekend of May which turned out to be a lovely couple of sunny days. We pulled up to the hotel hoping that the car park was not as difficult to find as some reviewers had mentioned and there it was directly opposite the entrance!! Make sure you go UP the slope as that is the outside car park and a relatively reasonable £7.50 per night as opposed to the underground car park at £15.00 per night.

The entrance looked good and the check in was quick. We had booked two nights through Superbreaks with breakfast and dinner on the first night. We phoned the hotel prior to our arrival to ask for a sea view room in the hope we might be given one! We were given one better than that and despite the hotel being full we somehow managed to get upgraded to a suite. The suite was massive with a huge terrace overlooking the sea. We were obviously delighted with the room and the free upgrade but can still give an objective review.

We found all the staff to be extremely helpful and the dinner and breakfast very good. The restaurant has fantastic views over the bay but you do pay a premium rate for dinner. For the second evening we walked into town. This is just a short stroll and there is a large choice of places to eat although it would have been better had we booked beforehand.

We really enjoyed our weekend at this hotel and whilst it is a little worn we found it to be very comfortable and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view it's worth it. A higher floor might be better as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    948
    441
    209
    144
See reviews for
478
1,585
50
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

room 120,gorgeous view,hotel staff so polite,and the spa staff were great,food was plentiful and tasty,and reception and lobbies were on a grand scale,with chandeliers completing the look,all in all lovely i would definetly be back!!

Room Tip: room 120 balcony sea view and sun loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickynackynoo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I recently visited this hotel with friends for a 3 night stay during Whitsun week.I had a very good deal on travel republic and also managed to get an upgrade.This hotel is perfectly positioned for direct access for the centre of torquay and its various and varied attractions,(although in our case this consisted of eating and drinking in the local hostelries and restaurants).
The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpfull and the hotel was spotlessly clean.Breakfast food was very good although there was a bit of a hic-cup regarding the plenishment of various items on one day it was soon sorted.Views from the Breakfast room / Restaurant are to die for.
plenty of room in the bar and public lounge areas both inside and outside on the terrace.
Good safe and secure parking available at a very reasonable rate, which was a great plus because as anyone who is familiar with Torquay..or indeed most seaside resorts...will testify that parking can be a bit of a nightmare.
I would strongly recommend this hotel for either a short break or even a one or two week holiday.Our upgraded room on the same level as the restaurant was absolutely fantastic both in size and in content

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in may, after seeng the pictures on the website and making a booking, we were quite disappointed when entering our room, we had paid for a delux double, the room was a bit dated and too be honest that did not bother me but the fact that the room including the balcony was quire dirty, the shower poor and definately not a four star, the views were amazing and the hotel staff were all very friendly and helful, i think if you get the hotel on a deal it would be ok but we paid alot expecting 4 star, and it just is'nt. Location good a short walk to town we did not eat in hotel so can not comment on that. If you are looking for luxury i would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarannetrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. We had a sea facing room but couldn't use balcony as it was awaiting refubishment, not sure how long it has been "waiting" as there was no evidence of any work being carried out. Rooms are spotless as are the public areas. The big problem with this hotel is the breakfast, it's hopeless. The guy running things is doing his best but he doesn't have enough staff. For a four star hotel I would expect some table service, I think everyone trying to "cook" their own toast and get their own tea and coffee causes more problems than it saves. On both mornings there was a shortage of crockery. People were resorting to having their cooked breakfast in dishes as plates were not available although they had been requested by several guests. Maybe bringing drinks and toast to the table would make better use of staff. That would solve the problem of two members of staff spending 10 minutes trying to get the coffee machines working!!!! Having said that if you can get a good price at this hotel you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

First impressions were good as we had a large room with a lovely sea view over the bay. Reception advised us to take an 8.30 dinner because there were a lot of children taking earlier sittings. However at 8.30 we had to stand and wait for 20 minutes before being seated and then wait a further 20 minutes before being shown a menu. The service continued to be very slow due to being understaffed and dinner was not finished until 10.20. The Menu shown at the door was not available at our sitting and replaced with lower quality substitutes. The Maitre d' was offhand and refused to seat us at a window table even when it was available and went unused. Breakfast was even worse with long queues again 20 minutes and many basic food items not available. There were no tea and coffee pots by the time we were seated - we were told to help ourselves from the coffee machine but there were no mugs available until requested. Even plates and cutlery had to be requested as none were available. The foreign waiters/waitresses tried hard but the English management were evidently not supporting them and were very offhand about service issues. The furniture is showing signs of wear and tear. On the plus side the indoor pool and out door pool and lounging areas were excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are large and have a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popsExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Staff a bit off-hand when we arrived. We were allocated a room which had a most unpleasant smell. Asked reception to help but were told 'There are no other rooms!'. Called the duty manager who came up to check the room and immediately helped us to move to another room - apparently, one WAS available! Curtains were torn and shabby, cupboard dirty inside with layers of dust. Excellent breakfast although the window sill can do with a thorough cleaning. Diningroom had lovely views over the bay but we did not have bedroom with sea view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view but don't expect to get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing