We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It didn't get any better than first impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It didn't get any better than first impressions”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Well we did last 2 nights but more for the amusement factor than anything else. After our initial poor impressions, we finally made it to dinner. I thought it couldn't get any worse, but I was clearly wrong. All started well, we were shown to our table. It went downhill after this. No less than 3 staff asked if if we wanted any water, which took an age to come and the wine list was returned to me with a scrap piece of paper of what wines they had run out of. We them ordered our food and waited with anticipation. 10 minutes later another waitress came back to ask us how we wanted the food cooked and what side dishes. Surely this should have been it but no, anther waitress then came back to say they had run out of one of the dishes and what else would we like. By this time it had become farcical. The finale was a rather menacing member of staff from the kitchen arrived with another waiter, presented me a blank order form and pen saying could he take our order again as the kitchen printer had broken. When I refused and suggested he speak to one of the 3 staff that had taken our order, he got aggressive scaring my wife and walked off with a rather dark stare. I was waiting for a camera crew to jump out by now and tell us it was all a joke!
Breakfast was no better as we watched the couple next to us get up from their table with freshly poured coffee, get up to go to the buffet whereupon 3 members of staff cleared their table! The excuse from the head waiter was "well some people leave things on the table, madam..." I could go on. When I read some of the other reviews, I have to wonder; are there two Imperial Hotels in Torquay...?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    920
    422
    200
    135
See reviews for
451
1,532
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is what everyone imagines from days gone by, as English folk flocked to the seaside, and that as depicted in movies.
Indeed the hotel was clearly once very grand, although in relatively good condition it is somewhat quirky at the seams. It is very large inside, particularly the day rooms and probably even a ballroom.
My single bed room (32) was somewhat compact, but it overlooked the sea and had floor to ceiling sliding doors to a balcony. I suspect there would be few occasions when the weather might suit to enjoy the outdoors there, although the hotel could not be faulted on this. There was no aircon but I guess an open balcony door would be adequate for any unusual summer day. The bathrooom was clean and well fitted out. There was no iron/board but a request very promptly brought one to the room. A large modern LCD tv dominated the corner of the room on a shiny black stand.
I was however concerned that my generally creaky floor boards might disturb occupants of any room that was below me, so I moved around as quietly as possible.
I was told that there were long queues for the main dining room, so I found one could order a light meal from the bar. Even this took a long time to be prepared, but it was a satisfactory repast when it eventually arrived.
The breakfast room was quite busy also, but once seated the buffet was generally satisfying with orders taken for beverages that were brought to the table.
It should be noted that the hotel is situated up a hill so expect a comfortable walk down to the waterfront, but a probable "puff" to get back up - unless one arrives with a car.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I booked two deluxe double rooms for last Saturday 6th July. Our friends checked in 15 mins before us and were assured we would be given an equally sized room on the 3rd floor. However, when we arrived shortly after, the room was not yet ready and as we had an appointment with an estate agent, the receptionist said we could return later to check in. She repeated the assurance it would be an equally good room 'to avoid any arguments'. Unfortunately she was not there on our return and the man on reception duty, first of all assigned us a room on the 1st floor, which was changed to the 3rd floor when I told him what the previous receptionist had said and he included breakfast for both rooms, which we thought was very kind. Off we went to discover a room which was half the size of our friends' room.

The male receptionist said the hotel was full and he could nothing, denying there had been a room available on the 1st floor. He brought the floor manager out who said initially, she could not move us until that evening (there was a wedding party at the hotel), then said it would not be possible to move us at all and that no one would have promised us any other room because they had been assigned the night before and furthermore, no one would have offered us a room on the 1st floor. At this point I realised I was in some sort of parallel universe and gave up. She did offer us breakfast to compensate and said I should have put the words 'large room required' in the comments section of the online booking. I paid 199 GBP for a small room in Torquay. Unbelievable. Room number was 322 and my friends' was 327.

Later that evening we joined the queue at the bar and eventually managed to order a vodka & tonic and a glass of Pinot Grigio. We were offered a gin & tonic and a red wine by a bewildered waiter! Other people were complaining about the delay and lack of attention, which continued at breakfast the next morning. After queuing with others to be shown to a table everyone just seated themselves and when my husband asked a waitress for a plate as there were none anywhere, he was told he could use a bowl and it was not her job to get the plates for that part of the buffet!

Whoever is responsible for staff training should be fired. It would not be difficult to make this a very good hotel, the position and views are incredible, but having to deal with incompetence and dishonestly is quite frankly appalling.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 322 if you have reserved a deluxe double room, it is half the size of room 327 al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 322Teresa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hotel dated. Staff not helpful when arrive no information where things were.had treatments spa day book staff not a clue we booked?dinner was a long wait no clue with service people complained,bar staff confused with service working till ,long time to wait.staff very young no clue generally poor.would not staff again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and had a great time. The superior room had sea view, bath robe and slippers. We ate breakfast and an evening meal and the food was good.
We used the outdoor simming pool was heated and really enjoyed relaxing by the pool. Just ashame we did not a drink service when relaxing! We have been there three times and will return again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorrayneChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at the Imperial for the weekend of 29th June. We had a huge room with a beautiful sea view. The balcony had sun loungers, which we made great use of. Admittedly the hotel does have an air of faded grandeur and could do with a lick of paint, but this was not a big issue for us and the facilities provided were very good. We had a half board deal and enjoyed eating in the restaurant, although I am not sure I would have paid the going rate for the meal had it not been included. It was our wedding anniversary and when we asked for a window table the young man in charge, Mark, was very helpful. He arranged for a table to be made ready while we had a drink in the bar and came to fetch us himself.
I agree with the last reviewer, the trip on the Brixham ferry is very good value.
We visited Agatha Christie's home, Greenway, on the Sunday and found that very interesting.
Finally when we arrived back home we discovered that my husband had left his I-phone charger plugged in the socket in the hotel room. The staff efficiently posted it back to us immediately.
I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a sea view room with balcony. It really makes the holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Found a good rate online and booked a 3 night stay. Great value for money and the staff were superb, friendly, welcoming and nothing too much trouble.
Good amenities, terrific location and stunning views across Torbay.
Yes, perhaps a little dated, but for us, part of the charm. Do use the gardens, quiet & peaceful
Definitely would use next time in Torquay.
Also, don`t miss the ferry across to Brixham, £2 return for adults, £1 for children, just 5 minute stroll from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolalderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing