We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torquay or South of France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just spent a wonderful week end at the Imperial Hotel in Torquay , we could have been in the South of France, out side pool and pool bar for a nice cold refreshing drink in the heat, wonderfully friendly staff. Sea Views from our bedroom that were as good as anywhere in the world, yachts, speed boats and jetskies across the bay all in the wonderful splender of the Imperial. Service at breakfast in the restuarant was excellent and efficient even though there was a large number of people attending a conference in whilst we were having breakfast, everything was fresh and delicous.

Room Tip: Alway book a deluxe room, the views are well worth the extra cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,548 - 2,554 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

To stay in a seaview room here is an amazing experience. You look out over Torbay across to Paignton and can sit on your balcony watching boats of all kinds making their way up and down right in front of you. The outdoor pool is lovely with sun beds and brollies and in the spa area there is also an indoor pool with some outside sun beds. The restaurant also has a fantastic view and the food is good and nicely prepared. It is an easy walk into Torquay town and the shops but in the hotel you are away from the traffic and it has a feeling of peace and quiet. The hotel is a good place for a couple of days break or a longer stay to explore the beautiful area. There is good parking at the hotel but it has to be paid for.

Room Tip: If possible try for a seaview room particularly the premium rooms. We had 25 which is a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

It's the best hotel in the world because at lost of things do in the hotel and puma are trying to make the hotel better .and there is a lovely fresh flowers on the round table and all of the staff are really friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1236tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the Imperial on a weekend break and were very disappointed. From the time we checked in the staff were not interested. We were wrongly directed about parking and given incorrect directions to our room. The room itself was very good with a magnificent sea view but it was in need of some maintenance. There were no instructions or information leaflets in the room. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night. The service was very poor as was the food. On our next night a picnic in the room was decidedly better than the hotel dinner.
A very dated and run down hotel with staff to match.
There were few attractive restaurants in the town which has little to offer.

Room Tip: Have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank halsueskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice H, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to hear you have left the hotel feeling disappointed. We appreciate this is your experience of the hotel however I can assure you this is not in line with the high standards we set ourselves on a daily basis. We are very sorry you left feeling this way. Your comments have been addressed with the team and where we are able to make improvements we will.

I am happy to discuss your comments with you and can be contacted on customerrelations@pumahotels.co.uk

with kind regards,
Bernice Heard
Group Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Was taken by my daughter to a lite lunch today. The food was awful, smoked salmon sandwich on stale bread, small amount of lettuce, one cherry tomato, half a piece of cucumber.
The Staff most unhelpful to the point of rudeness. The cost of the sandwich was somewhere in the region of £11 ( cannot give exact price , as was being treated.). As a local resident of Torquay will never visit or recommend again. The place was empty - I wonder why?!!

Room Tip: Non resident
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice H, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Pat,
We are very sorry to learn of your experience at the hotel. Could you kindly contact me at your earlier convenience to discuss your comments.

I can be contacted via email at customerrelations@pumahotels.co.uk or on 01455 898576

I look forward to speaking to you soon,

With kind regards,

Bernice Heard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We Will never come again to this hotel. Old fashioned.. Personel was not friendly. Room 106, without a vieux, THE window could not be opened, it was very hot. We have à vieux to an otter wall....no minibars on THE room, THE safe was not working...
We hooked are rooms in febr.2013 tongetjes with our friends. Our friends had roomnr132 and we are in room 106, on THE otter Side of THE level of THE hotel....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Himpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice H, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Himpe,

We are sorry to learn that you have left the hotel feeling this way. I would appreciate an opportunity to discuss your dissatisfaction and can be contacted via email at customerrelations@pumahotels.co.uk or on the telephone on +44145589576

With kind regards,

Bernice Heard
Group Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned from a week here. Lovely hotel with the most fabulous views across the bay of the English Riviera. A grand tiled entrance with chandeliers and fresh flowers told us we had arrived at a good hotel. The impressive sweeping staircase rose to showcase the period décor. Huge picture windows along the length of the dining room ensure that the picture postcard view can be seen by everyone eating. A five minute walk into the town centre - although on a good slope - all the streets in and around Torquay are on a hill and so this is not unusual. The outdoor swimming pool, terraces and grounds were a lovely way to enjoy the facilities whether swimming to cool off, walking of an evening or taking a drink whilst soaking in the views. Didn't try the indoor pool or gym although they looked good - much preferred the outdoor one. The food was fine although the menu didn't vary much during the week each evening there was a choice of three courses (usually some fresh fish each day) with a good selection of wines. Breakfast offered everything we would expect at a four star hotel with plenty of choice. We parked our car up on the day we arrived and didn't need it again until today as we left as the public transport and amenities close to the hotel gave us far more than we needed - in fact, we couldn't fit everything into one week. A lot of friendly staff on hand at all times.

Room Tip: A sea view and/or balcony sound wonderful but in a heat wave please note that the sun is on this sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice H, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Sue,
Thank you for your delightful review of The Imperial Hotel in Torquay. Your discription of our faclities and the team are very much appreciated and we are very happy you were able to enjoy all we have to offer. I hope you were able to enjoy our new Make me a Blush summer food and bevearge sharing offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a Puma Hotel very soon.

With kind regards,

Bernice Heard
Group Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 86 in Torquay
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing