We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“poor”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely hotel by appearance, good quality breakfast but dinner was shambolic, no organisation at all, staff could not understand English, waited two hours for soup, three different waiters asked what we would like for starters. Food cold, decided to eat out on last evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OggieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    946
    440
    209
    144
See reviews for
477
1,582
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

we went with another couple for a birthday weekend, long journey down due to traffic, got there at 2.15 room not ready, got to the rooms they were very disappointing they were filthy our room had a very bad smell very poor quality there was dust and mould in the rooms and was expected to pay £278.00 for room and b&b for two nights! our room even had a bogie on the wall! wall paper peeling off the walls and ripped curtains, I think we were put in the staff quarters!, I went to reception to complain they offered me a different room but would have to pay to upgrade, I went to the new room with the general manager, it was a bit better, went back down to reception to pay only to be told the room I was shown had been booked out!!,
went back up to our room to wait with our friends who also had complained, manager came back and after a while we were found another room but had to upgrade an extra £50.
the manager was very good as were all the staff there we were given a complimentary meal with wine on the Saturday night which was nice but I would not have liked to pay the cost of the meal felt it was very pretentious with a lot of supplements!.
good amenities did use both pools and had drinks in the bar.
would stay again but make sure we book the rooms shown in the pictures and not the slums!

Room Tip: suits are nice, basic lower value rooms don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed as a family of 4 in a premium family room for 2 nights in their hotel sale deal.

Location
Within 10 minutes walk from the harbour area and most attractions, this hotel and the lobby and dining areas are very impressive. Very grand and palatial. Parked in onsite car park (£7 per night).

The room
This was sold as a premium family room with sea view suitable for 2 adults and 2 children. However on arrival, the room only had a large double and a single bed only. Went to reception who agreed to supply a folding bed. This was delivered and made up within a few minutes.
The room itself looked nothing like the one on the hotel website and the decor looked tired and dated. However the bathroom was quite modern and everything was very clean. Patio outside had 2 sunloungers and a very nice seaview. The door entry card was troublesome. Neither of our 2 room cards worked reliably and we got locked out of our room on our day of departure. Website states that the room includes mineral water - but we never saw any. Creaking floorboards from room directly above were quite distracting especially when sleeping.

Staff
Reception and dining staff were very business like. Very polite but not particularly friendly. However the cleaning staff were very nice and friendly.

Dining
Buffet style breakfast in the dining area was on the whole quite a pleasant experience. Lovely views over the bay. Great selection of hot food well cooked and maintained. Best cooked breakfast I have had in a long time. Usual annoying toaster which produces toast that is hardly browned. It badly needs adjusting. Fed the bread through a second time - perfect! Both coffee machines produced only a small amount of cappucino for some reason, so settled for white coffee instead. No fruit yoghurt - only plain yoghurt available. No teapots to put tea in.

Summary
Not bad all things considered but too many niggles. I could overlook the slightly dated room decor if the niggles I mentioned could be resolved. I'm not a perfectionist and in fact would stay again if the deal was right. But would not use the premium family room as it wasn't really anything like we expected from the website photo. The Puma website could really do with more photos to ensure that you get a clearer idea of what to expect. Puma website sale made the deal competitive otherwise I would have come away feeling that I had been overcharged. This hotel has a lot going for it location wise but it is letting itself down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mugsy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

when checking in after our 4 hour car journey it took the staff 20mins to sort our room out , absolute joke. When we got into the room there was no extra bed for my son which took 3 phone calls before they brought one, which should already of been there as we booked and payed for 2 adults and 1 child. the bar snacks were way over priced and bar staff were miserable and very slow.
There was a party of 11 of us all together so we all sat together for dinner, only problem was yet again, very slow service between courses which resulted in us being stuck sitting at the table for 2 and half hours! so was too late to do much else after! The same thing happened the second night!

At breakfast the staff stood around while our table was overflowing with dishes and plates that needed to be taken away. So yet again a stressful experience with yet again poor service!

The final straw was when it came to checking out, which again took half an hour even when being served by the " Reception Manager ", due to me and my sister being handed a bill for £613 !!!! when all we actually owed was £7!!! .They had added other peoples room charges , drinks and food onto our bill ! You can imagine how pleased i was by this!!

The hotel itself lovely, especially as we had the penthouse suite, but all the staff need to go as they seriously let it down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenkyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for two nights B&B through Puma Hotels. Unfortunately, we did not have a great room. Quite small and a view of the car park. No air conditioning was a problem due to the extremely hot weather, though to be fair they did provide a floor standing fan which helped a little.The water pressure was exceedingly low making showering a real trial. There is no in room mini bar.You would expect better in a four star hotel. Paying for parking on top of the room rate was a disappointment.
However, the staff were very helpful, and we enjoyed our stay, as the breakfast was excellent. The views from the restaurant were magnificent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOLFFLUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Let me start by saying my wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable three night stay at the Imperial the highlights being the size and location of our room with balcony and fantastic sea views. The quality of the food was superb to the point where we cancelled a pre-arranged meal at a Michelin starred restaurant preferring to dine in the hotel.The decor and furnishing in the hotel may seem dated to some, but you have to be realistic, the cost of refurbishment for a hotel of this size would probably be uneconomic.
Now lets look at things that need to be improved at affordable cost. First impressions. If you are going to fly flags outside the hotel, change them regularly. Dirty ragged flags do not impress and cast doubts in your mind before you step through the door. More importantly staff training. In common with other reviews we experienced some real howlers. When salmon was served as a duck starter, the waiter insisted it was duck, we had to summon the head waiter to put him right. When we asked a waiter to replace a chipped glass of orange juice at breakfast, he returned with an empty glass. On both occasions that we ordered a brandy in the bar after dinner, it was presented in a tumbler by a totally inexperienced barman. Not something you expect at a four star hotel with the Imperials heritage.
Do not let this review put you off staying at the hotel, it is a lovely location with well kept grounds with superb food, but the management do need to address the quality of staff training

Room Tip: Deluxe sea view rooms are a fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I am currently staying at the Imperial and although I was in two minds about whether to give it a 4 or 5 star, I settled on a 5 star for a few reasons, not least because the Dinner B and B package we signed up to has been excellent value for money.
I have stayed in a few 5 star hotels and this is a 5 star hotel for different reasons.
Firstly, we are staying in a family suite with two bedrooms- one with bunks and one with a king size. We also have a substantial sitting room and two bathrooms which makes this an ideal suite for a family- the amount of space we have is amazing.
Everyone on here has talked about the sea views and I have to say they are truly magnificent. Unfortunately, the balcony is closed and awaiting repair but we have not had a huge desire to use it as we have been so busy. Attention to detail has been through dressing gowns, spring water and itineries for the day and such forth.
The hotel is situated a short walk from Torquay harbour which in itself is a beautiful town. its is also a few minutes walk from other places of interests including 'The Living Coast' which is a unique coastal zoo.
The facade of the hotel is nothing to look at as it has been change extensively over the years but inside the Imperial is beautiful. If you are looking for a modern hotel then this isn't for you but personally I love the wonderful chandeliers and the old world charm of the place. It also has a lot of amazing history that I asked about. Agatha Christie used to visit here and the hotel is featured in 3 of her books and there are other 'royal visitors' that are said to have visited in the past. The history of the hotel is fascinating and it would be nice to read more about it during our stay- one of the duty managers helpfully printed me out some information about it but other guests might find it interesting to read around the hotel.
As I said, we have been staying on a dinner B and B package and the dinner has been amazing, especially the mains which I would argue have been up to a 5 star quality. The children's dinner buffet is excellent and can be accessed at any point during your dinner which makes it easier to manage little ones.
The staff have been really helpful and polite whenever we have needed help and our waitress called Melissa has been fabulous. The children have especially enjoyed the indoor pool which is warm and spacious enough.
I think I have managed to include everything that makes it a 5 star for us. Some of the things that perhaps need looking at is the consistency of service because we did experience different levels of service in the leisure club, dining room and housekeeping on different days but to us that what a minor point. We also realise the hotel needs some updating but it seems that Puma only bought the hotel about 12 months ago and the hotel would need a substantial 'up-dating' programme to get it up to the level some people expect.
Hotels of this age eat money and it would take some careful planning to keep the wonderful charm and mystery it has now. They are trying to use the hotel grounds a little bit more and recent updating is obvious. It would be nice if the gardens were used even more with the option to sit out and take tea on the lawn (in my very romantic world!)
Torquay has had so much to offer us and we love the hotel. We would definitely come back if we were to visit here again.

Room Tip: Check out the Puma website for discounts. There is often one that offers a big discount for booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worcestercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing