We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with lovely views of Torbay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is lovely with a nice feel to it, we had a room with a balcony over looking the bay, the food was excellent but service on first night was slow and unsure. The breakfast was very nice despite it being a buffet.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dad187051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,444 - 2,450 of 3,082 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in a seaview premier room at garden level. The room was very comfortable and looked fresh and modern. The views were beautiful. The public areas are well maintained with a lovely dining room looking over the sea. The service throughout was excellent. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. The location is also great, short walk to Torquay and next to the sea. Health club also very nice. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docajenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We checked in late to find the hotel did not have our reservation. For a while the concierge just looked at as and said well you not on my system, despite our online booking. This is completely unacceptable, a poor standard of organisation, and most unwelcoming. After showing our online booking to the concierge he mumbled to himself for above 5 minutes, the result of which was that a room suddenly materialised for us. We were offered as he put it 'the only room left in the hotel'. Had it not been late in the evening walking out would have been a real option at this time. No apology of any kind was offered.

The room that was left over for us was the suite room. I believe this room was a significant upgrade on what we had paid for, not that we were told this. The room(s) was extremely spacious and a real treat, including our own balcony and sitting room. Magnificent! The only enjoyable part of our stay.

The breakfast the was included was ok. The service at breakfast time was poor to non - existent.

We stayed 2 nights and really for what we paid felt the standard of service at this hotel was poor to very poor. If the only room left in the Hotel hadn't been by pure luck been the suite the review would have been 1/5 - Terrible.

Recently my partner & I have stayed at a number of hotels that have consistently delivered much higher levels of service and facilities for a better rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Myself and my wife had our football team Christmas party at the imperial and we decided to stay for the night as we heard the hotel was very nice.
We were checked in by a gent called Russell, who was very friendly and proffesonal.Our room was great with the best views of the bay of any Torquay hotel.The room was a great size and very clean and spacious. We went for a swim and relaxed for the afternoon.Had a nice lunch in the main bar, tea and sandwiches ( no decaf tea a little disappointing) but great quality food and surroundings.
The night started at 7pm we all met in the bar some of our party went to reception to pay for the pre ordered drinks and were told we had to pay at the bar. The lady's behind the bar were not friendly at all not even a smile or a happy christmas! the bar itself was like a bar in a social club with a lift up hatch not as I would have expected of such a great looking hotel.The food was great the table staff very friendly and the food came out well and for the money was great value. Some of our guests had been to grand hotel the night before all agreed it was a better night in the imperial.
Also the general manager was walking the hotel the asking was everyone alright a nice touch. We met her again at breakfast she was checking all went well with the guests I'm sure it would have been easier to sit in a office.
Breakfast was great loads to choose from a great end of a nice night stay.
I would recommend this hotel very well run. Thanks for a great night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovejoy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Recommended hotel to stay which includes facilities for swimming pool/sauna but beauty treatments are extra. Also the car parking charges which are £7.00 normal or £15.00 for under-cover. Spectacular views from the bedroom balcony & in the main restaurant areas are a memorable experience. Staff are very welcoming & friendly particularly the waiters & waitresses when having our "Evening A La Carte Dinner" which was to die for & the chef is something special, has it spot on for high quality & well presented food. We stayed here on 21 Dec for my husband's 50th Birthday & hopefully would like to visit again in the future. Thanks for the pleasure of being made to feel special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Imperial for 2 nights in July. We have a Puma hotels Leisure breaks membership which entitles you to lots of benefits during your stay.
We booked a standard double room but got a free upgrade to a Deluxe sea view upon arrival.
The room was very large and spacious with a lovely view looking over to the sea. We could hear the penguins and other animals coming from the nature centre which we also had a view of.

On our second evening there was a wedding on but the hotel was still nice and peaceful.

Breakfast had plenty of choice and was delicious.

Dinner on the other hand wasn't so great, which I did make the restaurant and reception aware of. They had a bad habit of leaving the previous days set dinner menu out until late in the afternoon, and then after booking a table and arriving in the restaurant we would discover the menu had changed and there wasn't actually anything much on it we liked, I had risotto which was bland, desert was obviously bought in which didn't look anything more special than what you would expect to receive in a cheap chain pub/restaurant.

However the dinner experience is my only negative on the hotel, and maybe they have picked up on these errors.

I would definitely recommend the hotel and I plan on returning next summer on a B&B basis.

Room Tip: Definitely go with a sea view room, the inwards facing ones look over the car park, which isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I met David Black at the Imperial for a business lunch today
Greeted by a member of staff at the door,and met David we went to a lounge overlooking fabulous Torbay, looking at the menu I had difficulty choosing I was recommended the mixed cheese and fruit Triple sandwich ( something very different).It was superb, much to my suprise, well presented,with a side salad. The service was excellent ,and I will certainly go back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orbslos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing