We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 7 February 2014

we stayed here 18 months ago and obviously thought a lot of the place, hence going back for more. The first visit we had an inland view, well inland with a horrible view of the most pathetic 10 square metres of Torquay. This time the view was a sea view, and what a great one it was. From the 4th floor with a glass balcony the views are outstanding. The gyms facilities and the breakfasts are worth mentioning as suberb too, and a brummy girl on reception was a delight, nothing was too much trouble for them. I could not ask for anything more and will recommend to anyone going to torquay. Quick tip use the direct website and look for their deals page, thats where we got a great package.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sausageefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Sausageefingers

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at The Imperial. I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay this time and that you find our reception team to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,438 - 2,444 of 3,119 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Amazing view over the bay, clean room, and service has improved with staff being friendly and helpful and efficient! Food was presented beautifully and very tasty. Facilities good. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Wendy
Delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community.
Warmest regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had a night away at the Imperial with their special offer which included dinner and breakfast. Cant fault it at all. Great room with balcony, sea view and shortbread biscuits! Dinner was 5 star....in fact 5.5 star. Staff and service was great. Hotel is in a great position and we found a superb place for lunch in Torquay called Park Lane (just by the clock tower by the harbour).

The Imperial is well worth staying at, stunning views, lovely rooms and the flowers within the hotel are fantastic too!

We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishiwuzthere123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Bondieoo7
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at The Imperial. I was pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay, and found our staff team and service to be friendly. We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stay here often and each time we go it gets better, they kindly upgraded us again which was much appreciated accept for the noisy penguins!!

three years ago the breakfast was very poor but much improved and will stay again.

We stay as were went to see Blood Brothers the musical which was ace.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonbeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Jonbeare
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent short break with us here at The Imperial. It is lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and pleased to know that you can see the changes we are trying to make. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My friend and I have stayed at the Imperial before but not since it has been part of the Puma group. On arrival we were greeted by two very helpful receptionists and given details of where our room was. It was a beautiful room looking right out across the bay as far as Brixham the room was spotlessly clean and bright with three large chairs and a lovely bathroom the hotel is superb and has a view to die for in the restaurant where you can sit and eat enjoying the surroundings This is well worth a visit if you are in the area and there are some lovely walks around the hotel. We shall definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Sonya B
Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us at The Imperial, delighted that we have exceeded expectations since the change over. I will pass on your comments to the reception team who will be very pleased about your feedback. Looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed two nights brilliant .Staff at reception helpful we were early so lady said room ready and we.ve been upgraded which was lovely .The views wonderful we had sliding door out to small seating area overlooking the sea and hotel gardens [room 40] .very clean rooms warm,cosy,relaxing,some areas need a few DIY jobs but which is understandable.Breakfast area again overlooking sea .Only short walk to shops ,pubs,clubs,and harbour .We will be back thank you

Room Tip: ask for sea view room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Teresa239
What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the wider travelling community, I will certainly pass on your kind thoughts to reception who I am sure will see them as a great source of motivation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed two nights from 27/01/2014 in room 89 and wished I'd booked the whole week.View to die for.Room spacious,clean and well carpeted.Sleep quality excellent.Bathroom chic definitely not shabby.Breakfast up to Puma hotel standards.Staff friendly and professional;they want your stay to be enjoyable.The whole hotel from the crisp table linen and fresh flowers on the dining tables to the upgraded room facilities makes this a hotel to be booked.The air of slight dereliction and faded glory has gone.We are leisurebreak members of the Puma hotels and enjoy a variety of membership options which include room upgrades and free newspapers.Excellent customer service experienced from the general manager to the most welcoming reception staff.Walking distance to Torquay.£7 parking per day.Three course meal could be booked each evening for only £22!

Room Tip: Book a garden view,premium room(free upgrade if rooms are available for leisurebreak members).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Marlene S
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review, I was very happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that the team were able to exceed your expectations. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing