We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed at the Imperial 3 times now and have always found it first class on quality and service. Rooms are good and comfortable. The views across torbay from the sea view rooms cannot be matched. We had breakfast only as we dined out but the breakfast is one of the best I have had and the Breakfast room is again centered around the spectacular view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ajackson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Ajackson2014

Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us at The Imperial, delighted that once again you had a wonderful time. Really looking forward to welcoming you back once again.

Warmest regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,557 - 2,563 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel has wow factor when coming into the foyer, view from our balcony was outstanding, however the room was a little tired as were the leisure facilities. Location was better than hotel but still v nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 123Jacquie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear 123Jacquie123

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at The Imperial Hotel. I was pleased to learn that you had a wonderful time, and that you enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Welcomed by a very helpful and fantastic receptionist (Sam), Our room was massive very impressed with it as it was the cheaper option. Never dined in the hotel as we walked 10 mins down the road into the town where we were surrounded by great bars and restaurants.
we took advantage of the spa where i enjoyed a very relaxing 30 min back massage, and pedicure by a lovely therapist called Katie.
Afternoon tea and lunch sat in the bar over looking the sea was gorgeous (even on a stormy/windy day)

Would love to visit again - just to see our new bestie Sam Hayes

Room Tip: request top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowers19792014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear flowers19792014
Thank you for the fantastic review following your stay at The Imperial. It was nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and will I will pass on your lovely comments about Sam Hayes and I am sure she will be pleased.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed for one night - Great
Receptionist could not have been more helpful. Paid for ' Best available rate- (cheapest!)' but we were lucky to be upgraded to a posh room with cracking sea view.
Breakfast was the usual buffet, but very good.
Only a short walk to harbor.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Roger T

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us here at The Imperial. I was so pleased to learn that you found our hotel to your liking and enjoyed our breakfast, and hope that you will get the chance to visit us again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Not what you would expect for a four star hotel. With a travel zoo voucher we should have had 2 x 25min treatments [ facial and massage] each for two of us and afternoon tea. We each had about 35 mins total treatment. One ended up having body massage instead of facial and massage. Poor massage. Therapist totally disinterested in her job and the clients. It was like going to a factory farm [ I imagine, as I have never been to a factory farm!!, but it seemed that quantity was the goal not the quality]. Nowhere pleasant to sit and relax. Nowhere to hang gowns near the jacuzzi and steam rooom. No mats in changing room, just a wet muddy floor. However the young man on reception was excellent, lunch was good and the service in the bar very good. Afternoon tea was 'hearty', so good if you were hungry but no finesse in presentation. Jam was smeared all around the pot as was the cream, but it tasted fine! Would not recommend it as there are so many other good places to go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Christine j

I was very sorry to learn that you had a disappointing experience with us and that not everything went according to plan, I can at this late stage only apologise for the frustrations and disappointment caused.

I will certainly address your concerns with our Leisure club manager and assure you that this is not our usual standard of quality or service.

I do hope that you will give us an opportunity to restore your faith in our leisure club and please contact me by email at torquayimperial.operationsmgr@pumahotels.co.uk to discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

we stayed here 18 months ago and obviously thought a lot of the place, hence going back for more. The first visit we had an inland view, well inland with a horrible view of the most pathetic 10 square metres of Torquay. This time the view was a sea view, and what a great one it was. From the 4th floor with a glass balcony the views are outstanding. The gyms facilities and the breakfasts are worth mentioning as suberb too, and a brummy girl on reception was a delight, nothing was too much trouble for them. I could not ask for anything more and will recommend to anyone going to torquay. Quick tip use the direct website and look for their deals page, thats where we got a great package.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sausageefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Sausageefingers

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at The Imperial. I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay this time and that you find our reception team to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Amazing view over the bay, clean room, and service has improved with staff being friendly and helpful and efficient! Food was presented beautifully and very tasty. Facilities good. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Wendy
Delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community.
Warmest regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing