We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel and staff we fantastic our view over the bay was beautiful.
The food was nice but on the two nights stay all meals were only warm and the scrambled eggs were both mornings freezing, when we mentioned this to the staff nothing was done about it. So not a five rating for me....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajd5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear ajd5823

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies if your dining experience did not meet with you expectations, your comments have been shared with our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager for action as necessary.

It is, however good to hear that there were aspects of your stay that you enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to visit us again in the future.

Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,946)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Torquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,250 - 2,256 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

My hubby and I spent one night at this hotel last week on a B.B and evening meal with sparkling wine break ..We upgraded to a seafront premium room and were very comfortable and pleased with everything at the hotel..We had a very nice meal in the evening..excellent breakfast and found the bar and lounges very comfortable and relaxing..I used the pool and jacuzzi in the afternoon and found it warm and inviting..we would like to stay for longer on our next visit

Room Tip: it does cost £7 per day to park your car there
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear pandy110

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you had such a wonderful time, and that you plan to return. Hopefully it won't be too long before we're welcoming you back for your next stay!

Kind Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Having seen a large poster on Torquay Seafront advertising a Valentine’s Day meal and entertainment special. I decided to treat my wife to something special and defiantly different than our normal choice of Restaurant. I telephoned to book and was given an arrival time of 9pm.
On the night we arrived on time and were offered a welcome drink and shown to our table, it was at this point we noticed that the other guest still had their coats on. It was not long before we realised the reason for this was the room was really cold. My wife is very sensitive to cold, so I gave her my coat. When we mentioned the problem to the staff they said “it was something to do with the air-con” and offered us a hot air blower!
Also I was shocked that the waiter never came to the table to take a drinks order, until I called them to the table. Also the free entertainment finished not long after we arrived which did seem a little strange.
I would say that the food was good but the temperature of the room the lack of drinks service and the entertainment finishing early, ruined what was supposed to be a very special night.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the Hotel, but unable to review just the restaurant.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CITYDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear CITYDAD

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that your valentine night experience at The Imperial was not up to your expectation and would like to apologise for the same.

Being on the sea front and with 70 mph winds hitting us on the evening it was very hard to maintain the temperature as mother nature had the upper hand.

However I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and I hope that this one off incident does not stop you from using us and sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to redeem our self in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Welcoming hotel with fantastic views. If you are looking for a relaxing break with spa facilities and beautiful views then this is hotel is first class. The bed mattress is fantastic, the best we have ever slept in. Staff are welcoming and the hotel is in an ideal location for the theatre and restaurants. The food is delicious and of a wide variety at breakfast and the view overlooking the sea whilst having your meal adds to the beautiful setting. Will definitely visit again, we were really 'chilled out' after our break. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mary O M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Mary O M

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the wider traveling community about your stay at The Imperial.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your spa break with us and that you found food and service of a very high standard and that the team were very friendly.

I will pass your comments on to the team and they will be very pleased to learn that their efforts and service have been recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were only here for one night as on the way to Plymouth. The staff were friendly and helpful. Bed very comfy rooms large and airy. Food in restaurant was lovely and good value. We want to go again for a longer stay to take advantage of pool and other facilities

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eggy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Eggy02

Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at The Imperial. I am pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay and that the team were friendly and helpful. We are proud of our team and will pass on your comments to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We came to The Imperial for a weekend break. The staff were all very friendly and well dressed. Would like to see more 'local' staff though. Food in the main restaurant was excellent. Brilliant selection at breakfast. Didn't have time to use the pool, but it looked great and well run. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Tim B

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Imperial and that our teams were very friendly and helpful. Our teams continually strive to provide the best possible care and attention to every guest who walk through our doors and would be very proud and happy to know that their services have not gone unnoticed.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards
Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Haven't stayed at the Imperial for a number of years but its still as good as I remember if not better. Rooms are wonderful particularly if you get a sea view and food is 1st class. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RC6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn g, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear RC6670

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the wider travelling community and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#13 of 87 in Torquay
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
644 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £73 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing