We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Yeovil Somerset
1 review
“Great Location with beautiful views”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Over all this is a lovely hotel with great sized rooms and fantastic views from large balcony. Has good facilities, pool inside and out spa, gym etc. Breakfast could be warmer, Note no hairdryer in room

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Jacqueline T

I was so pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us recently and that you found our location helpful . I do hope you have the opportunity of staying with us again soon.

Kind regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    981
    465
    220
    151
See reviews for
509
1,655
52
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Myself and my wife booked this on a deal to get away for my birthday and had the most fabulous time. can't fault the food or accommodation or service. Visited a few of the sights of Torquay and ate in the restaurant on one evening, the food was most enjoyable and the view from the restaurant is breathtaking!

Room Tip: Book a sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Geoff R

Thank you for your recent review, we were very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have visited this hotel on several occasions, the latest being the weekend of March 14th to 16th, 2014. This Hotel was obvioulsly once very Grand accomodation; some of the rooms are now showing their age, and there appears to be some continual renovation going on, as we were very disappointed that this year we were unable to use our hotel balcony, due to overhead work being undertaken during the week.

Breakfast as in most four star hotels is self service, and if you avoid the busiest time there is plenty of choice, and you will avoid any congestion during the most popular hour.

The weekend that we were there there, it was quite busy, as there appeared to be at least two wedding receptions taking place in the Hotel. This hotel is very popular as a wedding venue due to its internal look of historical grandiose opulence, and the spectacular sea views from its bedrooms.

Room Tip: I believe that most rooms are overlooking the sea, and allocated as a priority, but just incase the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Brian W

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at The Imperial. I was so pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable time, and that you found facilities to you liking. We look forward to your return visit next year!

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Fantastic hotel, staff were outstanding, room wonderful with a sea view overlooking the Bay!!

Breakfast was a feast and lots of choice and I would highly recommend the al a carte menu in the restaurant

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Kim H

Thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a shadow of its former five star self, but the location and view across the bay are spectacular. That's the positive, the negative? That can be summed up in one word...staff.
Most guests arriving by car would on average have spent 2-3 hours plus, driving down to Torquay. After a tiring trip a pleasant greeting from the receptionist should be a 'given' instead we were processed by a young girl possessing all the personality of an Ikea table leg.
Things didn't get much better, staff at breakfast and serving in the bar were surly
and treated us as if we were an interruption to their day. It was all so unnecessary, and with some motivation and training by management the attitude could, and should be changed.
Not the best of experiences, next time I'll stay at The Grand.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear PierreHead

Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay. I can only apologise at this late stage for any inconvenience we may have caused. I will certainly address the issues raised with my team and thank you for taking the time to bring it to our attention.

Please contact me personally when next staying in Torquay and I will certainly do what I can to further enhance your stay.

KInd Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have been a visitor to this hotel for 5yrs. This is the 1st time I have had to complain!. The room we where allocated was not really clean, particularly the bathroom, there was a lot of dust, and overall it looked tired.The evening meals where disappointing, but Breakfast was 1st Class, the pool area was also very clean, the staff where very polite and helpful.Hotel is situated in a prime position with beautiful views to the sea, and close to the local amenities. I will go back again I'm sure, but will be checking my room first before I unpack!..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear hatsi

First and foremost thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review. I was sorry to read that not everything went according to plan, please be assured that this is certainly not our usual standard of quality or service and will be investigating your comments thoroughly with the relevant heads of department.

However I was pleased to note that you found our team friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Having booked our spa day with A very popular discount site we arrived were greeted in a friendly way and made our way along quite a trek to the Spa area. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful young man who was very busy but remained professional booked us in showed us round and explained facilities.all the staff were really friendly, polite and couldn't have been more helpful. The pool jacuzzi and sauna all very good however the seating area, almost non existent, only 3 sun loungers for the whole of the spa plus 2 sets tables and chairs around the pool, very difficult to relax when no where to sit. The changing rooms a little tired, only about 4 of the lockers had keys and of them only 3 actually worked, not very good if no where safe to leave your personal items.
Lunch facilities, we had afternoon tea, was excellent served in a sun lite area again staff very polite and helpful no real facilities in the spa area so made the best of lunch.
Over all cannot fault the staff both in the spa or the hotel they were polite helpful and professional, with a couple of added extras this would be an excellent place to come relax and be pampered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Marie P

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent visit to the hotel. I was pleased to learn that you were well looked after by our staff team, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
564 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing