We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIGHTS ARE ON IN TORQUAY BUT NOT IN THIS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LIGHTS ARE ON IN TORQUAY BUT NOT IN THIS HOTEL”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed for 2 night honeymoon break in what we thought would be a beautiful place. The sea view from our room was just what we wanted but apart from this we were very disappointed. The room furniture was very dated and nasty looking stains on carpet. Bathroom was fine, very modern and clean. We went to look at the pool only to find it was very small, not what the photo lends you to believe. It didn't entice us to use the facilities. Went down for evening drink around 10pm only to find that the large lounge and conservatory were all in darkness. We had a drink in the bar area where a few people were sat only then to be told by the barmaid that she was going off duty at 11pm. She locked everything up and the Manager arrived to take cash. A party of 7 people had arrived just before 11pm and obviously wanted a few nightcaps. They approached the closed bar and the Manager barked at the barmaid to serve them. She opened everything up and gave them another round of drinks then promptly closed back up again. Both barmaid and Manager left. After 10mins the group wanted another drink, one of them went to Reception and promptly fetched the Manager who, as he walked along the long corrido,r put the lights out leaving only table lamps as lighting. It was pretty obvious that he didn't want anyone to stay. He told party that they could only have bottled beer as pumps were turned off and made it pretty obvious that he didn't want them to have glasses. I have never come across a hotel that closes its bar to residents.
The hotel itself is huge - possibly too big. The ground floor is very grand and well kept but there is no atmosphere and the staff are all miserable, apart from the receptionist and two of the breakfast girls. They are severly lacking in customer service, but I have to say the Manager that night was no better.

Room Tip: Would need to have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear LauraWorcestershire

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at The Imperial. Please accept my apologies if your experience did not meet with your expectations. I can assure you that this is most definitely not our usual standard of service and quality, and that your comments will be fully investigated. We will be working with our teams to ensure that there is no recurrence of the issues you describe.

I look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to return.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    920
    421
    200
    135
See reviews for
451
1,532
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed here last Sunday for a business trip. I arrived in the dark and the hotel was not that busy. I had a lovely room on the 3rd floor, the bathroom was nice and the bed very comfortable with two modern flat screen TVs (I had a suite).

The whole ambience of the hotel is from another era, the decorations and hallways have an old colonial feel to it all, breakfast was also a nice place, white table cloths and a wonderful view across the bay. The hot breakfast food though could do with covers, I am sure when the hotel is busy it is fine and replaced quickly, but it did look like it had been laid out sometime and I was there just after just after 7am.

The view out of my room in the morning was fantastic, all round a lovely hotel and for anyone visiting from overseas, stay here as it will really give you a feel of all that is England.

The town centre and quay is an easy walk from the hotel and there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view room, you could almost be on a cruise ship as you are that close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralGant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear AdmiralGant

Thank you for your fantastic review, I was thrilled to read you had a wonderful stay with us and were able to use our excellent location close to town. I hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Came on a business trip previously, returned this time with hubby n parents for a wonderful overnight break. Stunning balcony, upgraded to large superior rooms well worth it (rooms 125/126)
Great staff, lovely breakfast, first class...looking forward to next trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear michelle m

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was very pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your plush surroundings and hope that we have the pleasure of your company some time in the future.

Warmest regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a two night break with my wife and two friends through Secret Escapes and I have to say it was excellent. There wasn't anything I could fault without being nitpicking, the staff were all very polite and helpful, we had a room upgrade which was great and the view could not have been better. The food was very good and we were not kept waiting very long, it is a lovely hotel in a great spot, nice and close to the town centre and we would all go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a balcony overlooking the bay go for it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Christopher A

Thank you for your fantastic review and I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff teams very helpfull and the enjoyed the food. I will share your comments with our team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Imperial is an impressive hotel, if you get the chance, book a premium room with sea view and balcony, it makes all the difference. Im not keen on all the add ons e.g. pay for parking, breakfast and internet (the free internet is incredibly slow and they offer an upgrade to regular speed at a cost) I dont think 4 star hotels should be acting like budget hotels. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear John S

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Five friends and I had a spa day here via Travelzoo recently. While overall the day itself was good and great value, there were a number of things that could so easily be put right to make the day SO much better:

We tried to phone the hotel four times during the week prior, and left messages but never received a return call. We'd wanted to find out the costs of the robe etc hire and possibly add more therapy treatments. We even used the hotel website email to request a call, all to no avail!

On arriving, we went to get changed, to find only two lockers had usable keys (there were six of us). The others (80 odd at a guess in total) were either in use, broken or the entire lock missing. There were only about twenty people at the maximum, using the pool and gym facilities at the time.

We placed all our valuables in the two lockers and just had to leave our clothing and holdalls etc in an unsecured locker.

It was then we noticed it was just a loose key, not on a keyring, nor with the usual rubber bracelet for use when swimming. When we asked at reception about this, they just said to leave the key with them.

We went for a coffee in the relaxation room, to discover the flask of hot water was empty. We took it to reception and after around ten minutes, they returned with a full one. No thought was given to removing the tray of dirty cups.

Before swimming for the first time, we used the shower... .but it only leaked water down the side of the shower head, so this proved difficult. The temperature was difficult to regulate and either was too hot or cold. The extractor fan in the ceiling was covered in rust, and there was an unpleasant smell in the shower cubicle.

The spa facilities of pool, steam room and jacuzzi were, thankfully wonderful! However, the shower to use inbetween using the steam room and the pool had a missing temperature control knob, so again it was either too hot or cold.

We returned to the coffee room to find again an empty flask, no milk and only dirty cups. We requested a refill, milk and clean cups. This took around 15 minutes to complete. I ended up actually handing the tray of dirty cups to the member of staff to remove, as it didn't seem likely they were going to do this. This scenario was repeated yet again in the afternoon.

I couldn't understand why there weren't two flasks in operation, with the staff taking a full one in every hour and removing the other one, along with the dirty cups and refilling the supplies as necessary. As there wasn't a sink or kettle in the room, you couldn't even wash a cup up for use or boil the kettle even if you wanted to!

The high tea was amazingly good with too many cakes for us to eat, so a box was kindly provided to enable us to have them later in the day. The 'hotel' side of things was very good in comparison to the spa area.

When I had showered and was looking to dry my hair, i noticed a broken hair dryer that had obviously come off the wall, just discarded on the side. This may of course, have recently happened, but in view of all the other maintenance problems, we doubted it!

For a former highly acclaimed 4* hotel, these basic maintenance and service requirements were very disappointing.

Even at the Travelzoo discounted rate, I don't think we'd be tempted to return until all the above issues had been resolved.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimM750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Kim M

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent Spa Day with us here at The Imperial. I was sorry to learn that that there were some aspects of your visit that did not meet with your expectations. This is not our usual standards and as per our email communication to you, the relevant manager has been asked to look into all the issues you have raised.

On a positive note I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and the hotel surroundings.

Kind Regards
Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very nice hotel handy for Torquay centre, outside could do with some attention ,maybe a touch up of paint etc. but we had an overall lovely two nights. Room upgrade was very much appreciated staff were very helpful and attentive. Evening meal was very nice with complimentary wine. Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank patricia66666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear patricia66666

Thank you fro sharing your experience with the wider travelling community. I am please the learn that you enjoyed your stay and that the food was to your liking.

Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing